We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #25 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I ran into a few issues due to which the hotel upgraded me to a superior room. The senior management is empowered to take decisions and correct any discomfort caused to guests.

A special note of thanks to all staff members of the Royal club

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Akhilesh_b33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntalmal, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and also for sharing your experience. It is a pleasure to learn that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and you had a great time throughout. Our Royal Club associates are also delighted by your appreciation and feels motivated to strive harder to meet the hospitality standards Le Meridien is known for.Once again, we are grateful for your review and are looking forward to be your hosts in Chennai.

Best Regards, Kuntal Malviya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
There are newer reviews for Le Royal Meridien Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have visited Chennai several as my in-laws are based here. On one occasion decided to put base in a hotel close to the airport and chose Le Royal. Well, was a close call.

For starters its close to the airport bang on GST road. Take only 15 minutes to reach the airport so convenient.

Rooms are decent. Nothing to rave about. If you are lucky you will get a no hassle room. Otherwise my friends got smelly ones which they had to switch to other better ones.

Food? Again, good but not that good. Chennai has some super eating joints and we expected something more out of this one. The south indian fare is pretty good but other stuff is unsatisfactory.

Service? Staff is well mannered but kind of shy and reticent. Strange they work in a service oriented industry. Guess, they were trainees on their way to gaining some experience.

From the hotel one can access many parts of Chennai which has expanded rapidly. For starters the Kathipara junction is right opposite the hotel. A labyrinth of flyovers. The St. Thomas Mount is only 3 kms away. Worth taking a walk to the top. The view from there is pretty cool. The Officers Training Academy (OTA) is also 3 kms away. The Guindy race course is also within a 3 kms radius. So one can catch up on some local sight seeing too.

All in all, can definitely do much better if it has to beat other very good hotels in Chennai.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambratalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntalmal, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai, and sharing your feedback regarding your stay which will surely help us to improve our services.We regret that our services fell short of your expectations on this occasion and you had to experience some inconveniences. We are, however, disappointed to learn that your experience was less than perfect but I ensure you that your feedback helps us to recognize our grey areas and we will initiate appropriate measures on priority. Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve on your next visit to hotel. We would be delighted to have you with us again.
Warm regards, Kuntal Malviya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a regular hotel that I stay for business. It is a very well maintained traditional 5 star hotel with good rooms, good breakfast and very good Indian restaurant. If one wants to enjoy good quality special south indian items, this has a good restaurant. I got upgraded to a better room thanks to the hotel. However overall it is over-priced both for room cost and restaurant cost.
Has good Gym set up, swimming pool with support facility.
Location has become challenging in view of poor approach of this hotel due to flyover construction. Staff is quite courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjiv-Tripathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Sanjiv,

It is a pleasure to have been your host in Chennai and also to read your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed staying at Le Royal Méridien Chennai, and had a great time using our amenities such as gym and swimming pool. Our authentic Indian restaurant Navaratna is one of the favorite among our guests and we are glad that you found its gastronomy at par with your expectations. Our associates are also encouraged by your admiration and feel motivated to perform even better.

Once again, it is pleasing to read your review and it would be wonderful to be your host in Chennai sometime soon.

Best Regards

Priya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stay at the hotel for 10 days in march 2013.had a good time.only thing not so good was that the number of dishes available for in room dining were limited.we chose a royale club room and it was as expected.housekeeping was good.currently the dome has buy one get one free on all liquor. Hence I had my share of coronas.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Ravi ,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and also for sharing your experience.

It is a pleasure to learn that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and you had a great time throughout. Our housekeeping team is also delighted by your appreciation and feels motivated to strive harder to meet the hospitality standards Le Meridien is known for. We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy the our all day happy hours at The Dome bar. Pertaining to your comments about the in room dining menu, our Executive Chef will personally look into it.

Once again, we are grateful for your review and are looking forward to be your hosts in Chennai.

Best Regards
Priya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The room smell very bad ... and furniture is quite old ... taxes are very high compared with other hotels in India ... breakfast was good, reception is very nice, and smell nice too , the pool looks very nice but haven’t tried

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MahaCairo_Egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and for sharing your experience with us.

While we are pleased that you found the breakfast, lobby as well swimming pool at par to your expectations, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy staying in the accommodation. Your feedback is important for us as it helps us pay attention to certain areas where amendments may be required.

Once again, we are grateful for your review and hope that this experience will not put your off our brand.

Best Regards
Priya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time staying in this hotel (and Chennai) for an extended business trip of 2 weeks so got to know the place pretty well. My wife who was accompanying me therefore stayed there during the day and found the swimming pool area nice and relaxing if somewhat quiet as the place does have a lot of business clientele and airline pilots/cabin crew.

For the price I paid, it was really quite expensive for India (I think!), given the 9500INR PLUS numerous services charges for a "luxury" room that was allocated by my company. If I was booking this personally wouldnt have paid such a high amount. Nothing to compare to locally though so unable to judge if comparable or not.

Restaurants are pretty good with a wide selection of food on offer. The Indian restaurant was a bit of drama getting the right food ordered but nice. We did fancy some red wine one evening but at £50 a bottle we gave it a miss as the same bottle back home would have been about £6!!

Staff are very attentive and willing to help, sometimes too much! We did have an issue with noise in our room which they didnt seem to understand and did offer us a move to another room rather than trying to find out the cause.

Be warned about getting to the hotel from the airport, the taxi drivers rather than going on a big detour will go the wrong way down a 1 way main road, but this is the Chennai way of driving and it will be fine once you get over the initial shock.

Our "luxury" room was nice if a wee bit dated and needing a makeover, but all in all okay.

Lobby staff could do with a better understanding of English as quiet often they did not know what we were talking about. Beers and drinks are quite expensive but during our first week the ntroduced an "all day" happy hour so good times!

The hotel really isnt ideal for going out for a walk beyond the gates given the traffic and very poor areas roundabout, but Im afraid this is Chennai.

Also, very handy for the airport!

Room Tip: Pool view is nice, avoid a view into the middle of the lobby if you can,
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BazLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai during your extended business trip recently. It is also great to read your elaborate review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you found certain attributes of our property impressive such as our pool area, which is in all certainly enjoyed by a number of our guests. It is also great to learn that you were able to savor the gastronomy at our restaurants, especially Navaratna, our Indian restaurant, which is very popular among our guests and visitors. Furthermore, our associates are also encouraged by your appreciation and are motivated to perform even better in future to enrich our guests’ experiences.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind review and we hope that you and your wife would visit us soon.

Best Regards

Priya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pleasant and helpful staff, all the expected amenities of a five star hotel, convenient location to the airport, yet nothing to get excited about.

The hotel which is just off the Guindy junction is a bit if a challenge to access, my driver went around in circles, in front of the hotel yet unable to find the main gate from the spaghetti junction.

The lobby was quiet and like the rest of the hotel adequate but dated. The rooms too were comfortable and spacious but very 80s. Given that the new Chola just up the road is offering 80 square meter rooms for just Rs1000 more ( $ 20) the hotel could lift its game.

However the proximity to the airport is a big plus, I checked out at 7 am was at the terminal by 7:15 and proceeded directly to security for my 8 am flight that was just boarding.

Room Tip: One overlooking the central rock garden
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and also for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad that you found certain attributes of our property at par with your expectations, and that our proximity to the airport proved to be convenient for you. However, we regret that you found some parts of Le Royal Méridien’s upkeep and presentation less than perfect. We are starting a phased renovation addressing the guest rooms, as the renovated rooms including the beds will be modern and chic in design as per “Le Méridien” Brand standards followed worldwide.

Once again, we are grateful for your review and hope that there would be another chance to be your host again.

Best Regards
Priya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#19 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,677 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,455 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,229 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#30 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
763 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $106 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing