We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth your money, definitely not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #26 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth your money, definitely not a 5 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had two back to back stays from Feb 2nd to 4th and then again from Feb 6th to 8th. Could not change the 2nd stay as all the Hotels in that area during that dates were completely sold out. Stay at Le Royal Meridien Chennai was mediocre at best. Staffs were too lazy and have no training regarding SPG rules. Staffs don't even know SPG Elite benefits apply for all types of stays(whether paid or award stay). Coffee maker was not working and had to wait 2 hours and 3 calls to the front desk and house keeping to make it fixed. Staff won't honor the advertised benefits until I show them their fine prints. Room needs renovation, Beds were too hard and don't belong to the Le Meridien standard. Towels looked so dirty I used my own towel. Tried restaurant foods and both Cilantro and Kebab house were terrible.Prices were way too expensive. It has become a fashion in India to over charge for everything at 5 star hotels but not give any service that were expected from a 5 star hotels. Overall never felt like staying at a SPG group hotel, felt like a motel 8 with a big lobby. Try the new Sheraton in Chennai or even Park Sheraton, they are much better than this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. We thank you for sparing time to provide us with your feedback and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are, however, disappointed to learn that your experience was less than perfect and we could not stand at par with your expectation. Your feedback helps us to recognize our grey areas and make proper amendments. We would like to assure you that your concerns would be looked into and treated on priority.

Once again, we appreciate your constructive feedback and hope that we would have an opportunity to host you in the future.

Best Regards,
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    335
    154
    72
    51
See reviews for
144
58
101
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Too expensive and poor service. Nice infrastructure but staff dont know how to use it to make a guest happy. Airport pick up never happened.....checkin was laborious and overall a disappointing experience for the INR 10,000 they charged....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Le Royal Méridien during your trip to Chennai and also for sharing your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

It is disappointing to learn that the standard of our service fell below your expectations and you were unable to make most of our facilities. We have noted your feedback with an utmost priority and will investigate into the issues with the check-in as well as airport pick up. Our associates endeavor to offer the SPG benchmark hospitality and we would ensure that all our guests enjoy a fulfilling and enriching stay at our property.

We hope that this one off event will not deter the favorable opinion about our hotels and it would be a pleasure to have another opportunity to be your host in Chennai.

Best Regards
Priya Jagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Service and staff OK. But rooms and hotel as a whole not as well groomed as usual for a hotel of this standing. Very expensive prices at the bar (One GLAS Brunello at 50 USD). Claim at the reception brought me a 20% discount but no excuse so far... Personal at the reception working professional but not very friendly. Impossible to speak to them without having them talking over the phone with other guests since they apparently do all by their own (2-3 people only for the whole hotel). I tried the Seafood restaurant at the top floor. Nice location but much too expensive for a too regular quality. The fitness room could need a bit newer and better serviced equipment (a few of them damaged and not repaired. Generally speaking: Nice building with good facilities. Could be much better than this.

Room Tip: Book room with view to inner garden. Others with street views much too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for staying at Le Royal Méridien during your recent business trip to Chennai and also for sharing this review on TripAdvisor.

We regret that your experience at our property was less than perfect and we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. We are grateful for your feedback as it will help us pay attention to grey areas in our service and allow us to make amendments wherever possible. Although this time we could not live upto the reputation and standard that we endeavor to achieve, we still are hopeful that there would be another chance to welcome you in Chennai.

Once again, thank you for this review on TripAdvisor and we wish you well in your future travels.

Best Regards
Priya Jagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Arrived in the middle of the night, hotel's driver picked me up and scared me by driving through a construction site. There was some work going on, and we were given instructions to go back. I have no idea how we ended up into the hotels front door in the end!
Check-in was smooth, and I was taken to room 2006 and told about breakfast and internet connection. I have to say that paying for the internet is strange during these days, but as I was on business, I had to. I was pleased with the connection; it worked well for the most of the time, so I got my work done and even could skype my family in the evening.
Lobby is spacious and nice. there was a live pianist during the evening. However, there were also lot of small insects, mosqitos biting my ankles while I was sipping my drink. Lobby bar had slow but eventually also frienldy service.
Breakfast buffee is wide, but I mainly ate fruits because fresh fruits are luxury thing for me. I missed plain youghurt, there was only sweet sugar brand. Two cooks were preparing omelets if you had the time to wait - I tried the first morning but decided not to do it again, as it took ages to prepare. Coffee was strong and hot, and after the first mornings slow service, rest of the week I had no problem getting my cup filled in.
I only managed to go to the swimming pool area once, there was plenty of loungers, and only few people were actually swimming. I did not try the gym, just looked in.
There were a couple of my colleagues at the hotel as well, so we ate together at one of the restaurants during the week. Indian kebabs and curries were good, but the atmosphere was too formal with golden plates and cups! Food in the main buffet was ok, nothing special.
Checkout was as smooth as check in. Only remark that I had to point out was that somebody (from housekeeping?) had eaten my bisquits which I had brought with me from home as an evening snack. I found empty papers put behind the large flat tv. I would not have taken an open package anyways with me back home, but still it was not okay. I mentioned to the front desk and they apologized.
About the room; I liked the king size bed I had for myself, but I think some people might find it to be too hard. For my back it was just perfect. Bathroom had both shower and a tub, enough pressure and hot water. As amenities there were a toothbrush, comb, cotton puds, showercap, shampoo, showergel, 2 soaps and bodylotion. Whatever I had used, got promptly replaced the next day. Morning paper was delivered to my door almost every morning. View from my window was to the back street, so nothing pretty, but then again - I mostly either worked or slept while being in my room (2006).

Having been in India only in Chenai and only in 2 other hotels, I can compare Meridien only to them. I would say that Raintree is better, more modern, but still I had pleasant stay at Meridien and could easily return when I am again in Chennai. Trafic-wise I was told that this is better in location to airport and to our company, so I most probably will return.
One more thing; front doorman had great mustache! He easily remembered my room and my company name after first morning and was always courteous and eager to serve. Other than the airport pickup and drop off, I only used company cars, which he called to the front door. So I cannot comment about somebody's complaint about not being able to use normal taxis.ö

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mari,

Thank you for your stay at Le Royal Méridien Chennai, and also for taking time out for your amazing review.

We are glad to know that your overall stay at our property was a positive and comfortable experience. It couldn’t make us happier to know that your enjoyed the complimentary amenities such as wi-fi and breakfast spread, swimming pool, and also that our service proved to be efficient during the check-in and check-out. As a renowned Starwood brand, attention to detail characterizes our service standard and it is heartening to see the acknowledgement of our efforts.

All the points in your review have been noted with seriousness and we will pay more attention to areas of improvement and offer our valued guests an even more enriching stay experience.

Thanks and Regards
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

With the boasting look and location, i have expected a class leading service and rooms but what i found was a mediocre service compared to Taj and similar star hotels. The rooms are good but the service and maintenance can be better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Le Royal Méridien Chennai during your trip to Chennai and also for sharing your stay experience.

It is disappointing for us to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. At the same time we are relieved that you felt comfortable in your accommodation and hopefully enjoyed the amenities as well. We endeavor to offer the best hospitality to our guests and will keep making efforts to enrich their experience.

Once again, thank you sharing your feedback and we look forward to be welcome you to Chennai in future.

With Kind Regards,
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
256 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel I am sure has had it's grand days.

It is a descent hotel. Very spacious. Rooms are large and well stocked for tea coffee and the toilet.
The staff is gracious and courteous.

The breakfast spread is lavish. It has a reasonable gym and massage facilities.

Then what's the problem? This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. Here it does not measure up. Looks a little dated.

But I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohitoswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and also for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your experience at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and we were able to exceed your expectations. We would like to share with you that we are in a process of undergoing renovation and will soon don a new refreshed look that will complement our grand past.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed the product, accommodation, amenities as well as food and beverage service at our property and would love to have you with us once again.

With Kind Regards,
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had attended a business conference for two days here very recently. Very nice hotel with exquisite buffet & very nice cocktails. Excellent value for money. Very good choice for international travelers since its proximity to the Chennai Airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SridharanRaghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Raghavan,

We at "Le Royal Meridien Chennai" truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor .
We are glad to read about the positive aspects regarding your stay, including the buffet spread at Cilantro restaurant , choice of cocktails at our food and beverage venues and the location.

We look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel on your future visits to Chennai.

Thanks and Regards
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#25 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#20 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Chennai
#9 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Chennai Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing