We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated 5 star, descent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Ranked #25 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Dated 5 star, descent service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel I am sure has had it's grand days.

It is a descent hotel. Very spacious. Rooms are large and well stocked for tea coffee and the toilet.
The staff is gracious and courteous.

The breakfast spread is lavish. It has a reasonable gym and massage facilities.

Then what's the problem? This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. Here it does not measure up. Looks a little dated.

But I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohitoswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and also for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your experience at Le Royal Méridien Chennai and we were able to exceed your expectations. We would like to share with you that we are in a process of undergoing renovation and will soon don a new refreshed look that will complement our grand past.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed the product, accommodation, amenities as well as food and beverage service at our property and would love to have you with us once again.

With Kind Regards,
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    353
    158
    74
    53
See reviews for
157
61
103
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had attended a business conference for two days here very recently. Very nice hotel with exquisite buffet & very nice cocktails. Excellent value for money. Very good choice for international travelers since its proximity to the Chennai Airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SridharanRaghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Raghavan,

We at "Le Royal Meridien Chennai" truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor .
We are glad to read about the positive aspects regarding your stay, including the buffet spread at Cilantro restaurant , choice of cocktails at our food and beverage venues and the location.

We look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel on your future visits to Chennai.

Thanks and Regards
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

After reading quite a few negative reviews on trip advisor,(after i had made the bookings) i was pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms and toilets were clean and the overall experience was good. Even the buffet laid out for the breakfast had a lot of variety. Although the room service was a bit slow, i would recommend this hotel if you are in chennai for a day or two on business.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms on the third floor with windows facing inside the hotel cause the only view yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmeetkalsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Le Meridien Chennai and for sharing your experiences.

We are glad to read that your overall experience was good and you have enjoyed the breakfast provided at Cilantro . Pertaining to your in room dining experience, please accept our sincere apologies and we have shared your feedback with the team .

We look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel.

With Kind Regards,

Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you arrive in Chennai/Madras in the late night or the wee hours, as most international travelers do, you'll be glad this hotel is located where it is. A taxi can get you here in less than 15 minutes, even if the driver is conscientious enough to make the legal U-turn a kilometer to the north of the hotel and come back. Their late check-in facility is accordingly efficient.

You can wake up the next morning and get to the city fast too.

The location is at a point where Mount Road (now, Anna Salai), the city's most famous road, turns into the Great Southern Trunk Road (an important highway).

The hotel has one of the best spreads at breakfast that I've seen anywhere. That's a big plus! Try the dosas (made to order) and other Southern Indian specialities.

Other major plusses:
the quietness, despite the location; this is because the hotel is a good distance from the entrance;
the spacious rooms, with good bathrooms with a number of amenities

Room Tip: Remember that the rooms are very spacious, unlike in most hotels in, say, Europe. So, you can get aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to have been the hotel of your choice during your trip to Chennai and also grateful for this review on TripAdvisor.

We could not have been happier to learn that our location turned out to be convenient for you. As a five star hotel near Chennai airport, Le Royal Méridien Chennai has a number of advantages for business and leisure travellers alike. It is also heartening to read your thoughts about our breakfast spread and our chef is also pleased.

On the closing note, we are satisfied that our product, presentation and service were able to meet your expectations and it would be an honor to be your host in Chennai in future.

Best Regards
Priya Jagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am a gold member of SPG and welcomed the opportunity to stay at one of their properties in India. This is a business trip so am staying in a variety of international hotels and so far Le Meridien is the worst. Had to change rooms upon check in because of mosquitoes in the room. Second room still had mosquitoes but not as many and honestly I was too exhausted to request another room. (FYI: The lobby is semi open air and there are mosquitoes everywhere so was told it was 'normal' to have a few in the rooms). The hotel rooms look extremely tired and dated. The room had a annoying buzz or hum all night. The gym was basic and the jacuzzi was out of order. The wet sauna was okay but the dry sauna never heated up and was home to several small roaches. This hotel still charges $11 for internet access which in this time is a bit ridiculous. The final blow came when we tried to arrange a metered taxi upon check out. Was told that an immediate driver was available for more than 4x the price but that a metered taxi would be 20-40 minutes. Clearly they prefer for you to travel via their own drivers and say they have no 'taxi stand' and require advance booking if guests prefer a taxi. Again for an international hotel of this standard, taxis should be plentiful. We've had no problem at other hotels in the area.
If you'll willing to spend this amount of money on a hotel you can do A LOT better than Le Meridien.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC_urbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to have been your hosts on your recent visit to Chennai and would like to thank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor.
It is regretful that your guest experience here was less than perfect. We strive hard to reach the SPG benchmark of service and hospitality and would be more than happy to make amendments in the standard of service to ensure an enriching guest experience.
We are glad you provided us with a constructive feedback so that we could identify and modify certain grey areas.
We further hope the incidents would not put you off our brand and we would welcome you soon again.

Thank you once again.

Best Regards,
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Le Meridian Chennai is conveniently located at Guindy area which is around 30 minutes drive from airport and 30 minutes drive from IITM. This is huge property and very well maintained. The services are good. Food at navratna restaurant is nice. There is a big swimming pool and SPA for relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_am_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to have been the hotel of your choice and it pleases us to know that you had a positive experience and a memorable stay with us.

We are pleased to learn that you found the property maintenance and the quality of food at Navaratna restaurant at par with your expectations. We are happy that your stay at our property was comfortable and enriching.

Once again, thank you for sparing your valuable time for this review and we look forward to be your hosts soon again.

Best Regards,
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights i had a warm welcome to this hotel they offered a room in 1st floor the room was fully furnished by wooden like traditional feeling at night i went to flames disco located in ground floor really i enjoyed large pool worth for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vimalgiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriyaJagan123, Front Office Manager at Le Royal Meridien Chennai, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to have been the hotel of your choice and it pleases us to know that you had a positive experience and a memorable stay with us.

We are pleased to learn that you found our rooms, interiors, design and the ambience of our property at par with your expectations. We are happy that your stay at our property was comfortable and enriching.

Once again, thank you for sparing your valuable time for this review and we look forward to be your hosts soon again.

Best Regards,
Priya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,626 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
989 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#28 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
747 reviews
Trident, Chennai
#10 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,210 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Chennai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Chennai
Address: 1 G S T Road | St Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#13 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Royal Meridien Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the airport and to several commercial landmarks and strategically located in Chennai’s prime business district, Le Royal Meridien Chennai exudes grace and charisma offering a promise of unrivalled hospitality.Le Royal Méridien Chennai features meeting and banquet space for up 1,500 guests, five restaurants and bars, a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a splendid outdoor swimming pool with whirlpool. A travel desk is in the hotel’s lobby assists guests as they experience the sights of Chennai, including the Marina Beach, temple architecture, a vibrant theatre scene, and a five week-long Music Season, one of the world’s largest cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Meridien
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing