We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Trident, Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Trident, Chennai
Ranked #10 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

One of the best places to stay in Chennai. with good food. and very easy access to Airport and calm atmosphere and all the hospitality services are very good........................................................................................

Room Tip: easy access to airport and quieter atmosphere for business person.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamgender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I have made note of your feedback on food. I shall certainly convey it to the team. They would be more exited to hear your feedback.

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident, Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
There are newer reviews for Trident, Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

On our way to native, we landed at Trident. Old but calm hotel with all the best facilities, good to stay away from city. people are kind and become friendly easily. We dined at their coffee shop in the lobby, food was fantastic. chefs come and ask what you prefer and serve. My son liked the ambience. Hotel has good lawns and large swimming pool. we could not have access in the night. Next time will stay in this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sri_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

Thank you for reviewing about our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed food at our restaurant. I have shared your feedback with my team and I am sure it would be of a tremendous source of inspiration to them.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident, Chennai. Please come and stay with us.

Warm personal regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A few minutes from the airport excellent stopover on the way to Pondicherry close enough to certain areas of Chennai. Low rise with lots of greenery and gardens very un cluttered and peaceful !
Great food , good spread at Breakfast nice specialty restaurant , amazing pepper prawns
Very nice staff , moderate bar but fortunately a good selection of cigars. lovely pool .
wonderful Spa ,like all spa s in the chain .
Surprisingly economical . Very satisfying experience .
Recommended for any body with a hectic schedule !

Room Tip: pool or lawn facing rooms are quieter !
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and that our facilities and services were on par with your expectations.

I shall definitely share your feedback on 'pepper prawns' to the chef who had prepared it for you. I am sure that this would motivate him to delight other guests as well.

I really appreciate you for taking your valuable time to share your experience on this social platform. Feedback from patrons like you is very important to us.

Should you require any assistance from Trident Hotels, you may contact me on amit.khare@tridenthotels.com.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of meeting you on your next visit.

Please visit us again.


With warmest personal regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

the hotel has great ambience and beautiful. the rooms are spacious , well lit , neat & clean. the restaurant has wonderful service by the service employees and the food served was excellent .the breakfast buffet has very good spread & tasty also. the spa was very realaxing & amazing.overall very good experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anugoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to receive your review on Tripadvisor. I thank you for being our guest.

Trident Chennai offers relaxing ambience coupled with world-class amenities and bespoke services that make every guest's visit a delightful one such as yours.

We are pleased to know that our hotel exceeded your expectations and that you had an unforgettable experience.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Trident, Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Happened to drop into the Trident for dinner.. I should definitely say Happened to drop into the Trident for dinner yest late night by 11pm and had an awesome experience throughout...I should definitely say about the wonderful service by the service employees and the food served..one of the best services I have come across in the city, especially the service staff(Ms.Vysh**) with fresh smile and energy even at that late hours with great concern for the guest..was totally happy when the chef, Mr.Lava, came down to us to get our assorted menu since we were late and one of the tandoori dishes we wanted was not
available...great hospitality and care on
the guests..way to go..

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srinath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai. Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

I am very much delighted to know that you had a wonderful dining experience. I am very proud of my team, who had rendered an outstanding service to you.

Your constructive feedback regarding the staff is invaluable and much appreciated and put to good use as we strive to provide impeccable service ensuring a memorable experience.

It is so special to know that you found Vyshnavi and Lava “polite, prompt and courteous”. I will personally pass on your appreciation to both of them.

Please do come and stay with us and enjoy the other facilities available at Trident, Chennai as well.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident, Chennai

Warm personal regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Though not the first time in Trident, Chennai during business, this was the first time unusual things happened. I was travelling with my colleagues from Tokyo and Singapore. Everything was usual (Check In, Stay, breakfast) except for the Check Out and Airport Drop experiences on 9th Feb 2014.

I had finished Check out around 7:30 am and while having breakfast, I observed that there were many foreign tourists (around 20 members) checking in the hotel. (I was skeptical whether this would hinder with the check out procedures of my colleagues.) When my colleagues tried to check out around 8:10 am, they were given a feedback form and asked to fill it. And, when they had rated 8 out of 10 for certain aspects, they were asked why they gave 8 instead of 10. (It may still be okay if one asks why the rating is 0 or 1). I feel Trident members should understand that 8 is not close to Zero and forcefully asking somebody to give a higher rating will only result in some bad Trip Advisor reviews.

Next, one of my colleagues Ms. Sugita was shown an invoice in which breakfast on one of the days during her stay was charged (Breakfast was supposed to be complimentary in our deal). When we asked the Trident member to remove the entry and reissue the invoice and the Trident member said that it is not possible. She proposed that she will charge the incorrect amount to my colleague's Credit Card and refund the difference by Cash. Of course, if the card being used to settle the payment is an Indian Credit Card, this doesn't make much difference other than some additional paper work. However, my colleague was from Singapore and was using an International Credit Card denominated in Singapore dollars and my colleague had to incur additional forex charges on this additional amount that was charged to her Credit Card. In essence, just empowering Trident members with a Cancel option would have saved some forex charges and prevented her bank getting marginally richer.

Next, we had requested an Airport Drop (which was complimentary for Trident Club room). We requested two cars to report at 8:15 am on 9th Feb.
It was about 8:20 am by the time we all finished the "long" Check out procedure. We were waiting near the exit and were informed that our cars were "on the way" and would take another 10 minutes. Though we did not have much time left as we had a flight to catch at 9:45 am, we waited patiently without any choice(Chennai Airport is a 10 minute drive from Trident but I was worried whether we will be able to make it on time as BJP's PM Candidate for 2014 elections, Mr. Narendra Modi was scheduled to leave Chennai on 9th morning). Around 8:35am, one Innova comes near the porch and one of the Trident member tells me "Sir, you are just 4 members and can adjust in one Innova". My colleagues were from Tokyo and Singapore and were carrying big heavy luggage with them. As we did not have much time left, we had to compromise and one of my colleague Mr. Senda had to somehow squeeze himself in the rear seat.
Though I understand that the vehicles were delayed due to "Unusually high number of tourists" checking in at the same time, isn't it the responsibility of Trident Chennai to plan and provide good service to all the guests?
Though Trident members don't want to "adjust" with a feedback of 8 out of 10, they make their guests to "adjust" according to their convenience. How can we make Trident members understand that people choose 5 star properties for luxury and convenience and not for "Adjustments"?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakthi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

It was indeed a pleasure talking to you over phone. At the outset, please accept my heartfelt apologies for all the inconveniences you and your colleagues have faced at Trident, Chennai. Your feedback on ‘check out and airport drop’ was of a great concern to me.

I have taken it up with the Manager in charge of Front Office Operations with due seriousness it deserves. I know that we have failed to meet your expectations, for which a simple apology would not suffice. I would only request you to treat it as a final unpleasant experience that you have ever had with Trident, Chennai and give us another opportunity to prove ourselves. I promise you that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay with us again.

Please be assured, I would never let such incidents repeat at our hotel. I would like to meet you on your next visit to our hotel. For any assistance from Trident, Chennai please do not hesitate to contact me on my cellular phone number +91 98843 04747.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Thank you & Regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very ambient!very nice loacton- excellent receptuon staff- unique dress code witheye soothing and relaxing colour of dress-nice flowers which are real and not artificial-excellent rooms with absoloute relaxing ved and chairs- however you may include a double bedded room instead of two single beds in a single room.nice curtains and lots of sunshine coming through the windows.like a dream personal resort - excellent swimming pool with very cordial gym instructor-nice spa and excellent cuisine - ample variety of breakfast menu -excellent housekeeping and looking forward to stay in all trident hotels across the country in future and find the best of the best trident!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samrat2014dutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

I thank you for staying with us and sparing your valuable time to share your experience through TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and hospitiality. It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests an outstanding experience. I have also made note of your bed preference. Please be assured of the same on your next visit.

I have shared your feedback with my team. I am sure your positive feedback will encourage them to do their best further.

I am looking forward to another opportunity to serve you.

With warmest personal regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#19 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,676 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,484 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,448 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident, Chennai

Address: 1/24 G.S.T Road, Chennai (Madras) 600027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#7 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#7 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#8 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $110 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident, Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of warmth and luxury environs, our hotel, Trident, Chennai welcomes you with its elegant, low-rise design spread over five lush acres of verdant gardens. The 167 luxury rooms and suites , tastefully appointed in muted and earthy tones, combined with handcrafted furniture and convenient amenities, are designed to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Trident, Chennai is situated just 3 kilometres from the airport and 12 kilometres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing