We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent "little world" in Chennai!!!”
Review of Trident, Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trident, Chennai
Ranked #9 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
“An excellent "little world" in Chennai!!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in Trident Chennai for one month, the hotel was like my "home", the all staff make me feel like that, always,always friendly, helpful.The pool is beautiful and clean, the gym is great, that had highest tech equipment. The menu for the restaurant and the room service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstrellaManriqu... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

I thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your feedback with my team. Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident and Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    436
    80
    17
    3
See reviews for
120
109
126
789
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been to this hotel strictly on business travelling through chennai, usually staying only a night or two and every time I have stayed there it's been great. The female manager (I can't believe I forgot her name) is an excellent manager. She is so polite, and extremely effective. One time I stayed at the hotel, I accidentally took my bosses passport and he left the Chennai area without it. I had to catch a flight in a few hours and she took care of getting the courier to get the passport to him in Bangalore. The other occasion I met her was when the hotel forgot to pick me up from the airport, she was extremely apologetic and made the inconvience right for me. In fact, all the staff is helpful and not over the top. Bali the gym manager is also excellent. Pool, gym and spa are top notch. Food is excellent as well. Rooms are clean, a little on the humid side, but not a con that would effect your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerouxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

I thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your feedback with my team. Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident and Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in the Trident after three weeks of travelling all around India just to wind down and "do nothing" before we flew back. The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly, well turned out and they provide an excellent service. The menu for the resturant and the room service was good and the food well prepared and tasty. The Pool was just the place to relax.
Be careful of the taxes on the alchohol.
All in all a great place to stay-thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

I thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. I am glad to know that you and your group have enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your feedback with my team. Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident and Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

pros :
- close to the airport
- staff is nice and really helpfull
- breakfast
Cons :
- location : you can visit the oil station which are next to the hotel but it really the only thing that you can reach by walk
- smell in the rooms : really smells humidity despite AC
- bars and restaurant
So exept if it close to your destination, go elsewhere.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pat_and_Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

I thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. I thank you for highlighting us on the shortfalls at the hotel. I have made note of the shortfalls and corrective measures will be initiated wherever feasible.

I assure you of a comfortable stay. Please do give us an opportunity to be of your service

Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident and Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are encouraged on TripAdvisor to share our experienes, good or otherwise, and I welcome this opportunity to compliment this hotel. It was the final stop on a Titan Tour- Bombay to the backwaters of Kerala; the hotel stops were of generally high standard and this was no exception. Situated conveniently close to the airport, our tour party were greeted by the hotel with the customary cold drinks and flowers.
The staff were friendly, helpful and very well turned out, well up to the Trident standards. The food offerings were cleverly designed to appeal to a wide audience, and constantly delighted me and my fellow travellers with their inventiveness. One had to be careful when ordering drinks as any imported alchohol carried a punitive extra 106% tax as I once again found to my costs when confronted by the bill! Still the hotel, set in its own attractive grounds, offered a safe and quiet retreat from the incredible fast paced city.

Room Tip: Our room was at the heart of the hotel, with views over the indoor garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you and your group have enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your feedback with my team. Your feedback will give our team a tremendous source of inspiration.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident and Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I always stay at the Trident when I need a quick getaway to the airport.

For my business needs it is perfect - well appointed, clean and friendly. The staff here are first class: clearly trained to be as helpful as they possibly can be to guests, while retaining a friendly and genuine manner.

While I imagine this hotel would also be a very pleasant place to stay for a holiday, the various facilities it has for the business traveller means I cannot recommend it highly enough for these purposes.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Chennai.

I thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my team.
Your feedback will give our team a tremendous source of inspiration. Please do let me know, if I can be of any assitance from Trident Hotels.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident and Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel staff have made a lasting impression of hospitality friendliness and professionalism. Made up my mind to stay at Trident every time I visit Chennai. A heartful thanks to every one who made my stay very pleasurable at Trident.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bachupraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai_Trident, General Manager at Trident, Chennai, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my team.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Trident and Chennai.

Warm regards,

Amit Khare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,624 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
984 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
2,710 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,406 reviews
Quality Inn Airport
#67 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident, Chennai

Property: Trident, Chennai
Address: 1/24 G.S.T Road, Chennai (Madras) 600027, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#6 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#7 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#8 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident, Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of warmth and luxury environs, our hotel, Trident, Chennai welcomes you with its elegant, low-rise design spread over five lush acres of verdant gardens. The 167 luxury rooms and suites , tastefully appointed in muted and earthy tones, combined with handcrafted furniture and convenient amenities, are designed to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Trident, Chennai is situated just 3 kilometres from the airport and 12 kilometres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trident, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing