We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buck up or be booted out”
Review of Ambica Empire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambica Empire
Ranked #118 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The management of this hotel do not know what they are doing. I hope the owner realises this and keep a good team. The place is little garish. The food is not up to the mark and the service is almost non existent. The bar is bad too. I hope something can be done so that this hotel can untangle itself from the knots tied by itself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oppraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 170 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel decor is Niche and it perfectly goes by its name ...being an empire. The rooms too are nice in terms of RAJ era decor and furniture. Each bathroom has a Tub which is good to relax after a hectic day out . The breakfast is complimentary with buffet offering, Tea, coffee, Dosas are served on the table . The problem is the service which goes for a toss when the dining hall is full with guests. Some how the 2 days i was staying here, I never found juice in the dispenser and after waiting for 15 minutes had to settle for tea/coffee . My suggestion is to eat what you get and donot bother to wait for refills as it will frustrate your patience out . The minimum wait time for anything that you ask from the house keeping is 15-20 minutes, whatever part of the day it maybe and at night it gets worse as all the women staff leave the hotel and only a couple of personnel manage the guests.

Whatever happens , donot bother to eat at their 24 x 7 coffee shop named green chillies. It is supposed to serve ala carte as well as Buffet according to their menu, but dont expect for options there. They treat you as if - You eat what we offer you types. One night as i was late at work, decided to savour their midnight buffet, but the experience was horrific. Me and my colleagues were waiting for the buffet trays to be refilled before we could start eating , especilaly Chole which was almost empty. We were told to wait till the trays were filled up . After waiting for 20 minutes and multiple reminders to refill the same the manager on Duty Mr Rajshekar told us to start eating. When we picked up our plates , we saw that the Chole was now looking like a DAL. ON pointing out he tried to convince me that the gravy in the earlier tray had dried up due to heat . I thought maybe he was right and started filling in my plate thats when the guys on the other table told us that the manager actually put a tumbler of water in the vegetable tray of the buffet . This is not what i expected from a 3 star hotel which boasts of multiple accolades on its website . At 2:30 in the night we had to go the adjoining GINGER hotel CCD outlet to have our dinner .

The Hotel has a small GYM on the 7th floor, but for reasons best known to the management, it is kept open till 9 Pm in the night only , strange since it is a walk-in gym with NO trainers.
They have a Spa on the 4th floor which is frightfully expensive , but yes if you are a early morning person , then they offer you flat 30% discount between 7 - 8 am with appointment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibernatingcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have stayed several times in this hotel for business purpose. The property is kinda middle aged type. Rooms are clean but little aged. Food is average. Rooms on higher floors are more silent.

Go for MAP plan which included breakfast and dinner for value for money.

All rooms have bath tub, but looks old and not really useable. Laundry service is good and prompt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srikant_Rajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed four times at this hotel. But this last visit in August was not as good as the earlier three visits.
Confusion at the desk about booking, online booking not proper, confusion about pickup from station were the unwanted parts of our stay.
The good part was the food which is awesome and yet priced very reasonably. A sumptuous buffet at all times. My husband and i got a nice candle lit dinner. Also the front desk gave us a nice booklet on Chennai from which we got the address of a Culture centre on Chennai.
Overall good experience but could do better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ookalkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the second time that I have checked in this hotel Ambika Empire, as my first visit was good, I wanted to use the same hotel, but unfortunately things were not the same which left me disappointed.

The Front Office Team Members are unaware of the reservations made and the number of rooms that was reserved.Secondly the Breakfast was terrible to add up which spoils the entire day. The Idli was not cooked properly and the Coffee was not in a drinkable state, even though there were only three table being used in the restaurant the Dosa took more than 20-25 minutes to be served to the table , which was waste the wait as it was soggy and whitish in colour. The Restaurant Captain Mr.Rakesh was not at all hospitable and inattentive to the guest using the restaurant.The standard of service has drastically come down which has put me in disappointment of using this hotel again.

I would definitely appreciate the Bell Boys and Captain who was the only staff of Ambika Empire who asked " How was the stay" and did we enjoy it and was hospitable to the guest.

In regard to the Rooms, there's no Mirror in the room other than in the Bathroom.And the most inconvenient amenities is that they don't have a luggage rack or a cupboard, which leaves things a little messy and particularly if you are a organized person.In the bathroom the towel rack is too high and placed in an inappropriate place from the shower area.

But never to forget to mention the design ,intricate work ,paintings and fixtures are always marked above the standards of a 3 hotel. Which definitely requires a mention of appreciation.

But it all sums up with good hospitality which makes the guest feel happy and pleasant when they check out. which is missing and requires to be definitely geared up.

Room Tip: Do not take interconnecting rooms as there's a lot of disturbance in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TANUSHKALALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Undoubtedly we get good south indian food and stay will be comfortable. Food is tasty. Access to public transport is added advantage. Service is very good. Front desk staff will not take much time to complete the check in process.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Happened to stay here as part of a business vist. a very good hotel in terms of room quality, ambience. Not so great service.

A few points,
1. Early check in was entertained, but took time for setting up the room.
2. Room was maintained excellent and the amenities provided were standard but upto expectitions.
3. Wi-fi was slow.
4. Breakfast spread was wide, good quality and delicious.
5. location is convenient connected well with public and private transport.
6. food options outiside the hotel are limited but certainly a few nice ones are there.

NOTE:AVOID ROOMS FACING THE ROAD!

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsuresh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Vadapalani
Ginger Hotel
Ginger Hotel
#89 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
140 reviews
Aminjikarai
Radha Regent
Radha Regent
#40 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
483 reviews
Vadapalani
GreenPark Chennai
GreenPark Chennai
#20 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vadapalani
Maple Tree Hotels
Maple Tree Hotels
#42 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
85 reviews
The Park Chennai
#49 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,745 reviews
Aminjikarai
Hotel Atchaya
Hotel Atchaya
#251 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambica Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambica Empire

Address: 100 100 Feet Road | 100 Ft. Road, Vadapalani, Chennai (Madras) 600026, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Vadapalani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $47 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambica Empire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambica Empire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambica Empire Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing