We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shiva & Vishnu -All in the same premises”

Ananthaa Padmanabha Swaamy Temple
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shiva & Vishnu -All in the same premises”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The only temple that i know of which houses lord shiva though it is meant to be a vaishanavite temple . True to the saying hariyum shivanum onnu - isit nt ? I love this temple as it is spacious and has most of the idols together . And all occasions are ideally followed here . There is a nice waiting space and also a sabha attached so that you get to also listen to some important discourse or performance. This place is special to me as i visit when i am happy and when am sad and i dont miss to see the durga ma's various avtars esp during Navratri :-)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vijayameenakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    41
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The God of prosperity !!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

For those who feel that they can't visit the Padmanabha of Trivandrum, here is the place!!! The Lord is in highest order of glory and poise and you need the three entrances to see his full view. The temple is located in a very calm and serene environment. The temple has shrines for Lord Vinayaka, Lakshmi Narasimhar, Sudharsanar, Durga, Hanuman, Navagrahas and Lord Shiva. The poojas are conducted as per the 'Agama' rituals. The temple authorities are keeping the place in a cleaner way to the extent they can and this has to be appreciated considering the number of people visiting the holy shrine everyday. I suggest that people living in Chennai should visit this place and seek the blessings of Lord Padmanabha.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BalkiBalakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
222 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“replica of trivandrum”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

best place to visit on fridays. vishnu in a very divine form that you will need to stand in 3 different places to see the full form. archanas are done. hanuman has a seperate temple & so is for navagrahas. Also there is an old tree on which lingam is there and it is auspicious to go around this place

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simhavij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikkim, India
Level Contributor
415 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Serene n Tranquil environment in an alley”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Overall temple complex: just about fine
Main Deities Entrance and Deity per se: excellent
Service: excellent, across all the touch points: puja booking counters, information counter
Pujas: variety of options are available
What can be done:
better cleanliness and upkeep of the environment
less noise and claptrap of the rituals
It would only enhance the ethereal undertones of the beautiful environment

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PavalikaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Another replicate of Trivendrum?”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice layout,since it was in the time of kumbabishekam,some basic amenities were in the unfinished stage. Good systematic wasy of handling deities.But its a good divine place to visit,reminds me trivendrum's. I just visited TVM ananda padmanabha temple and feel happy to write this review.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank arul_nambi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananthaa Padmanabha Swaamy Temple also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Ananthaa Padmanabha Swaamy Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing