We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect week”
Review of Park Hyatt Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chennai
Ranked #7 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Rumson, New Jersey
1 review
“A perfect week”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at the Park Hyatt Chennai for a week in April '14 for business, so I was there just about 6 days straight, day and night. It was far beyond my expectations, from their gracious hospitality to my home-away-from-home room, to the food and personal attention. I can't say enough good things about Dinesh and his team - they all worked so hard to help in any way they could, from the session-break folks on the espresso machines, who kept espresso cups on hand for my double-espresso, to the chef who whipped up a cream cheese replacement for my morning smoked salmon and had it ready each day, to the housekeeping staff who kept me in fresh fruit each day. I can't say one bad thing about my stay there - I'm not accustomed to staying at such nice hotels - now I'm spoiled. Thank-you to all

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Kevin C

Thank-you for the uplifting feedback. We will make sure the same reaches the teams who were responsible for making your stay a pleasant experience. It is important for us to make sure our guests feel recognised in the little touches that we extend, even if it is a cup of double espresso or the perfect accompaniment for a favourite breakfast item. We are pleased to learn that you liked the room, and found it cosy and residential.
We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    215
    45
    16
    12
See reviews for
149
92
62
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Spent a week here in April 2014. Everything about the hotel was first class. All the staff were friendly and very helpful and made our stay memorable. The room was modern, immaculate and spacious. The breakfast was excellent with an extensive menu catering for both Western and local tastes. The hotels Flying Elephant bar/restaurant had a good lively atmosphere and a varied menu again with both Western and Indian dishes. The rooftop infinite pool is a welcome refuge from the heat, hustle and bustle of the city with a number of sun loungers and umbrellas. The gym is a modern well equipped facility.
As far as the location is concerned Chennai does cover a large area so it is difficult to be near everything but we found it reasonably central and there are a number of options for getting round the city including a very reasonable on site agency that can arrange a car plus driver.
I would have no hesitation recommending the Park Hyatt in Chennai.

Rod

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodders119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Rodders119

Thank-you for stopping by to write this review. We are glad you like the culinary choices that our chefs have carefully put together, so that guests may enjoy a wide range of dishes. Food can certainly play an important part in making for a memorable stay, and we can see that you also enjoyed our other facilities. Our infinity edge pool is designed to create a welcoming and cool oasis for our guests, and we’re lucky to have it suspended above the lush greenery of the neighbouring national reserve. It was good to know you had the chance to enjoy the vibrant atmosphere at The Flying Elephant, and also enjoyed your food there.
Please do let us know when you would be visiting next. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on my business trip with foreign delegates. It is one of the best 5 Star hotel in Chennai. It is new Hotel. Rooms were clean & spacious. Staff was good. The food quality was awesome. Having dinner near to pool having lord Ganesha statue was amazing experience. Our foreign delegates were very happy after stay in this hotel and re-commanded this hotel for next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAJESH V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear RAJESH V

We’d like to begin by thanking you for taking time out to write this review.
It was very heartening to know that you and your other guests enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank-you for your words of appreciation for the teams that have extended their hospitality, and we shall pass on your feedback to them. The lord Ganesha statue overlooking the lily pond is the central focal point of the hotel and is also a well appreciated feature of the lobby. We are pleased to learn that it lent to your overall experience of the outdoors while you enjoyed your dinner on the other deck.
Thank-you for recommending our hotel and we do look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Though the hotel is relatively new, the teams there make a genuine attempt to ensure that the needs of the guests are well attended to. The Flying Elephant is a great place to unwind in the evenings, and if you happen to be there in the weekend, like I was, then the place really gets rocking as the evening wears on. Even in the restaurant, despite the crowds, the service was outstanding!!

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms are quieter and give a great view of the remaining green cover in Chennai!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsrini11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear tsrini11

Thank-you for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad you liked your experience at The Flying Elephant, which is a good choice to unwind during the weekend where you have a range of music, beverages and snack options. Just right to set the tone.
We are pleased to know that our warm services were well regarded, and we shall pass on your feedback to the teams.

Warm Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

It was the most pleasant stay. For the price you get the lot. You feel like home from the moment you arrive.the staffs are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and equipped with everything you need. Food is just awesome from morning to night. Amazing view of the city from spa, swimming pool and the gym.

It was just great all around.the best hotel stay experience I ever had. Will come here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear ashibrahim

We appreciate you took the time to write this review for Park Hyatt Chennai.
Thank-you for stopping by.

We are delighted to learn that you found in our hotel a reflection of your home, as that is the essence of our personalised service. Our infinity edge swimming pool provides sweeping views of the lush greenery of the Guindy National Reserve, and we are happy you were able to enjoy your time there during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The room is very comfortable with a modern design. Staffs are helpful! Very enjoyable stay! The service at the massage centre was of high quality! It would be good if they have an Indian restaurant in the hotel, although the existing restaurants also serve Indian food. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Toshtosh304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Toshtosh304

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us. We shall pass on your appreciation to our associates at Antahpura Spa. We are sure you enjoyed our Indian Peninsular Concept at The Dining Room which has cuisine influences spanning India.

Looking forward to your return to Park Hyatt Chennai.


Kind Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great hotel, plush, nice rooms and good location. The Flying Elephant restaurant is amazing (only open for dinner though) and the outdoor area around is nice. Good gym as well, with good views.

Location is pretty decent- close to Phoenix mall and other hotels are in the vicinity as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GargiGuha, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Ansh J

Thank-you for writing a review for Park Hyatt Chennai on Trip Advisor. We shall pass on your appreciation to the team at The Flying Elephant. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your meal there. The response we have received for this multi-level dining destination has been overwhelming, and we remain grateful for it.
The hotel is conveniently located within close proximity to the Phoenix Mall and this make it an easy reach for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Gargi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chennai

Property: Park Hyatt Chennai
Address: 39 Velachery Road | Near Raj Bhavan, Chennai (Madras), India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtfully understated yet contemporary in design, Park Hyatt Chennai offers discerning business and leisure travellers their personal address in the city. Located next to the governor's residence, alongside the Guindy Forest Reserve, this serene sanctuary is at close proximity to the airport and prime business districts of the city. Some of the key features of the hotel include the dynamic, multi-level restaurant, The Flying Elephant,the all-day dining restaurant serving peninsular Indian and classic western cuisine - The Dining Room, the award-winning Antahpura Spa, a serene lily pond as the central focal point of the hotel and an infinity edge pool on the rooftop that captures breathtaking views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Hyatt Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing