We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chennai
Ranked #8 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Service was stellar - especially at the restaurants. The rooms are brilliantly laid out and very well maintained. The hotel is luxurious but not ostentatious - feels like a very classily appointed home and the personalized service across the board matches that. I really found the housekeeping to be excellent - my clothes were always folded regardless of being left in a corner on the floor, my charger wires neatly managed after a service and nice notes from the housekeepers. The breakfast, especially the bakery items were excellent. Must stay here - I think its easily the best hotel I have experienced in India.

Room Tip: The view rooms are great and not much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lova B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Love B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Park Hyatt Chennai. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Park Hyatt Chennai, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, they will be pleased to hear they each played a part in making your stay special.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    221
    48
    17
    12
See reviews for
157
95
65
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A very fine night I had, rooms are very nice and clean, staff is very friendly and good was good. Nothing more I can change, I would stay there another time for sure, and maybe try out the spa and pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAbouS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear GAbouS,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We were pleased to hear about your positive experience at Park Hyatt Chennai.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback. On your next visit to Chennai, our Antahpura Spa team would indeed be delighted to introduce you to ancient Indian wellness practices, and to try out our rooftop pool.
Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chennai soon.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Dear Readers,

We booked "The Dining room" for dinner for a group of 50 people on the 13th of August to celebrate another successful delivery of a project. We chose this over "Hyatt Teynampet" due to its location (being close to office) and also because we had visited it in the last quarter. The ambiance was very good with everything being spacious the lobby, the dining area and that set our expectations even more.

The first surprise (shocker rather) was we were told the buffet would be served on the table. Hmmm....a unique concept we thought...we can sit and enjoy a buffet. So there were 4 servers to serve a group of 50. We started with pumpkin soup which was more solid than being any where closer to soup. For veg starters we got "Kuli paniyaram" and "fried idly" (wondering who decided these were starters) and fried corn which was decent.

We decided it was time for main course, and after a long wait the servers started serving the main course ...Iddiyappam and Dosa !!!!!!!!! with Kaju gravy and paneer gravy.... followed by malabar paratta ..with mixed veg (which they said is actually Kurma) and veg biryani (which had so much garam masala they you wouldnt dare for a second bite). We had lost all our appetite by now but thought we will try our luck with some desserts and ice-cream. No ice-cream or fresh fruits we were told ...(wondering why they were charging 1200 bucks for ) and the only desserts that was egg-less were chocolates and payasam.

Add to this all none of them tasted like they were prepared (and presented) by professional chefs ...may be they got people who were getting trained in hotel management.

It was the worst dinner i had ever had at any of the restaurants (including the local ones). Got to make sure the next time we go for a buffet ..its not served on the table.....cant rate it less than one ... "Hyatt Teynampet" was 100 times better and we cursed ourselves for the costly mistake we had made.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Dhagal,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to The Dining Room.

We were disappointed to hear of your experience at The Dining Room as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations, and value the feedback we receive. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in greater detail, and request your assistance in emailing me direct at your earliest convenience.

Thank you once again and we hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Christian
E-Mail: Christian.wurm@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The massage session I had at the Antahpura Spa a week ago was one of the most excellent massage sessions I have ever had. Right from the reception, welcome drink, the sauna (not to forget the view out from sauna) and hot/cold plunges simply exceeds all 5 star experiences I have ever had in Chennai. The therapists were well aware of the different massage needs and they take care of the guest very well. They are very professional and just pamper you and your body to such an extent that you do not want to go back home! The menu had a nice variety of Chettinad, Tamil/South India and western therapies. Antahpura Spa in Park Hyatt redefines spa experience and takes hospitality to next level and all these offered in a very competitive and affordable pricing. The spa’s manager Anuradha was extremely helpful and very professional. Highly recommend for anyone who likes to de-stress and relax in spas to pay a visit to this tranquil place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aravind17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Aravind,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Antahpura Spa at Park Hyatt Chennai. We are pleased to read your comments.

Dr Anuradha our Spa Manager is indeed very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at Antahpura Spa that is dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable.

Thank you also for highlighting our spacious wet areas with sauna and steam, as well as the hot and cold plunge pools, available to all visitors of Antahpura Spa and residents of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was recently in Chennai and stayed at this hotel. The experience was amazing, the hotel is beautiful, rooms are very well layed out. The lobby, pool and other amenities was very tastefully decorated too. The restaurant was very very nice the food was great, with a wide repertoire to choose from. Most of all I was truly impressed with the service in the restaurant and the hotel. The staff were very courteous and very attentive they made our stay really wonderful
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VijiVijayan294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Viji Vijayan,

Thank you for staying with Park Hyatt Chennai and sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very glad to hear that your guest room experience was amazing and appreciate your compliments about the service provided by our team. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the variety and quality of the food served in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again!

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

his hotel is phenomenal. A contemporary hotel. One is in a different world as soon as you check in. You get all the personal attention you would have never imagined. It is not just about the service levels, it is also about courtesies, room amenities, service at restaurants, variety, depth and taste of food. One morning during breakfast, we asked about if they have “Dal Vada”, they checked and informed politely that it was not a part of the menu. Next day in breakfast, they especially served us the same. Awhile, we were using their banquets, we did not have somebody to man the registration table and we asked banquets as to how should we handle the situation. Pat came the response that they would arrange one of their staff to handle the same. Exceptional service and food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Darewalk,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to read about the attitude and willingness of our team to go the extra mile to exceed your expectations. Be ensured that we will share your delightful feedback about the 'Dal Vada' with the entire Food and Beverage and the Culinary teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chennai in a hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family (wife, 2 kids, a dog) spent about 2 wks at this hotel. The entire staff (starting from the General Manager and going all the way to valet and the temporary personnel) worked in a cohesive manner to make our stay both enjoyable and memorable.

Notable were the following: attention to detail; responsiveness to our needs; courteousness...and of course, the cuisine/dining experience.

Without hesitation I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a memorable hotel/dining experience at a reasonable price in Chennai.

Navaneetha

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navaneetha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianWurm, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chennai, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Navaneetha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

To read your feedback makes all of us here at Park Hyatt Chennai very proud.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your wonderful family (including Lego the dog) staying with us for almost two weeks, and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to your ‘home away from home’.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#6 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,459 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,776 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#28 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,271 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,111 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chennai

Property: Park Hyatt Chennai
Address: 39 Velachery Road | Near Raj Bhavan, Chennai (Madras), India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtfully understated yet contemporary in design, Park Hyatt Chennai offers discerning business and leisure travellers their personal address in the city. Located next to the governor's residence, alongside the Guindy Forest Reserve, this serene sanctuary is at close proximity to the airport and prime business districts of the city. Some of the key features of the hotel include the dynamic, multi-level restaurant, The Flying Elephant,the all-day dining restaurant serving peninsular Indian and classic western cuisine - The Dining Room, the award-winning Antahpura Spa, a serene lily pond as the central focal point of the hotel and an infinity edge pool on the rooftop that captures breathtaking views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing