We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID , AVOID, AVOID, AVOID”
Review of Akash Inn

Akash Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akash Inn
Ranked #217 of 403 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Avoid this property. Dont go on website.Professional photography. Poor sevice. Rude staff.
Only Plus point : Road cross to Chennai Trade centre.Restaurant is better than hotel.I wish owner Mr. Palani can focus on this propoerty & give value to the customers.

Room Tip: They dont have good rooms.vey small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deepak c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

The title pretty much sums it up. When you step out of the convention center past seven in the evening and look at the endless Chennai traffic in sweltering heat, you feel blessed that you have an air-conditioned room waiting for you a short walk away. But apart from that, the hotel offers little to cheer you up. The rooms are drab and smalln (about 100 sq ft), with dirty bed-sheets and pillow-covers. Other features include an ill-positioned air-conditioner that cools only the doorway, a bathroom that's about one-and-half rail-coach lavatories put together, an erratic water-supply, a disinterested room-service, limited-choice breakfast and an otherwise efficient front-desk (bill-settlement was thankfully quick and error-free). The attached restaurant however is a refreshing change.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, check the airconditioners for their efficacy. I stayed in #204 which had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Udayadittya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jai G, Owner at Akash Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not find your stay to your liking. We shall rectify the shortcomings in the future and also hope that you would visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was with Akash Inn last month during trade show at Chennai Trade Fair and my stay was quite comfortable and relaxing.... Lobby Managers Mr.Bala and Vardhan were co-operative and was ready to help the guest to the best they can offer ...Hotel has a lift, A/c rooms, Hot water, wall mounted TV and cable..though there's not much selections available in HINDI Channels for the guest from norther part of India...one suggestion for Hotel Management ...they should install Mirrors in the rooms...it is required for Guest to get dressed up in room rather then going every time to bathroom to see him get dressed ...breakfast was again missing but not a big issue as they have Sangeetha Restaurant just 100 mtrs from Hotel ...very good Vegetarian Restaurant opens up @ 7 AM. Overall experience was good and I would like to stay with them again and again .....

Room Tip: select Double Rooms ...single rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjivsafit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jai G, Owner at Akash Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back soon in the future. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at this property during 25 to 29 Oct, 2012. I chose it online considering the proximity to the Chennai Trade Center which I found out to be less than half a km. This hotel sports a lift, a/c, running hot water and houses a restaurant in the ground floor. Room service was quite prompt and the bell boy was always there with a broad smile. The front-office manager helped with booking cars for sight-seeing trips and even bargained in my favour! Would love to have a chance to visit this hotel again.
P.S. - Breakfast is not available and could be a welcome addition.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager right away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jai G, Owner at Akash Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We are happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back soon in the future. The morning breakfast can be also be arranged and is customised to suit the guest's needs. Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Akash Park
#147 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
7 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
143 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,177 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,509 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#233 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akash Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akash Inn

Address: 46, Mount Poonamalle Road | Nandambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600 0089, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 403 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $22 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akash Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Akash Inn is a brand new address of distinguished hospitality. Akash Inn endeavours to provide a comfortable stay at an affordable price for the busy and the travelling. When you stay with us, you can be assured of professional service in a friendly environment. Chola is our multi-cuisine restaurant that specializes in traditional oriental appetizers and Tandoori. Our business class abode makes a satisfying stay for small business groups and families with children. The next time you travel on matters of business or family on the road that never sleeps, just look for Akash Inn, right opposite the Chennai Trade Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Akash Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing