We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European hotel, at indian price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pearl International

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pearl International
Ranked #88 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“European hotel, at indian price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were there one night. We found a bargain on the Internet, and the truth is that the room was really good. Clean, well conditioned and with many details that make us feel very comfortable.
The attentive staff was fine, although the English was a bit limited according to the Hotel.
The only point to improve is the restaurant that the hotel offers. I don't know if it is runned by the hotel or not, but the reality is that is not a good restaurant.
In short, a nice experience with nice service and well located. I would recommend it when searching by convenience, but not for living india's essence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecatalanboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    41
    11
    13
See reviews for
37
23
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I travel frequently throughout India and do a research for value for money accommodation before my travel. Very recently I stayed at this hotel with family. I could not find anything wrong to highlight as negative during my stay. It was a very multi cultural environment and they cater different types (nationality / class) of the guests here. Courteous management well maintained rooms as well as a fair restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel for a satisfied stay in Chennai as I am extremely pleased with my experience at Pearl International.

Room Tip: Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nair948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Friends be careful of this hotel , its not safe my laptop got stolen from the room , the rooms smell, breakfast is bad, bathroom smells overall experience is bad - please dont go by the photos on the web its misleading - Credit card machine does not work, staff are rude

Room Tip: No swimming pool & fitness centre its false
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloriuscontrols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had Booked 3 nights stay in this hotel with my parents. Had a horrible experience in this hotel due to A/C not working and very unprofessional behaviour shown by the Hotel Manager Mr.Nair.
The hotel made me shift 3 rooms in 2 days and finally I checked out of the hotel without staying for the 3rd night. Also Mr Nair didnt accept my request for cancelling the 3rd night since he defended by saying as per Hotel rules, we cannot modify the reservation once the customer has checked-in.
1) Shifted the rooms three times.1st time since they provided a small room whereas I had booked for 3 adults.and 2 times due to a/c not working

2) Very poor service in responding to rectifyg the a/c problem..they tried rectifyg the a/c till 11.pm and my parents were already tired after a tiring day..finalky a/c was not working

3) Had to shift to other rooms at 11 pm in night with aged parents.this hapnd for 2 nights..

4)..I have planned to checkout a day before than planned due to all these problems..but the manager Mr.nair refuses to give me a refund of 1 night since its against thier policies.. He says if A/C is not working we will give you a new room.
Mr Nair, does not know - how it feels like shifting 3 times and that too with aged parents at 11:30 PM in the night..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lijithmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Budget hotel at a central location. Nothing great but not bad either. Breakfast is complimentary with very limited options. No muesli / cornflakes! Yeah it's true. WiFi is free and connectivity is good. In all , a good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepeshKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed for one night in early Sep 2013 with my family. I booked two suites through an Indian travel portal. Hotel is very near Chennai railway station but difficult to find out since location on Google Maps is incorrect, the location on their site is ambiguous and asking around doesn't help if you can't speak Tamil. (BTW wikimapia shows its location correctly). Hotel is on junction of a main road (piled with cheap hotels and travel agencies) with many small lanes (lined with slums and filth).
Hotel offers 24 hour check-in and check-out, limited buffet breakfast is included, there is a "workable" wi-fi and a travel desk in case you need assistance. Despite being located in a filthy area, hotel itself is moderately clean. Chennai is not a very clean city even by Indian standards, but most hotels there fare even poorer. This hotel is a welcome break for "value for cleanliness" in Chennai.
Caution-
1)Travel desk charges are nearly 30-40% higher than market rates.
2) Breakfast/lunch options are limited and restaurant area ( if you can call it that) can sit only 10-12 people at a time.

Room Tip: Higher the room better it is - avoid mosquitoes and vehicle noise. All windows in rooms open to a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirendraPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.4 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#65 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pandian
Hotel Pandian
#69 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Regency
The Royal Regency
#117 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mount Residency
Mount Residency
#79 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emarald Hotel & ZO Rooms
Emarald Hotel & ZO Rooms
#186 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sakthipriya Hotel
Sakthipriya Hotel
#270 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pearl International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pearl International

Property: Hotel Pearl International
Address: 39,V.V Koil Street, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pearl International 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Pearl International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing