We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
Review of BKR Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BKR Grand Hotel
Ranked #267 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in this hotel.
This hotel was a classic case of a 1st world facility with 3rd world service. The junior staff were very obliging and provided to your needs when asked but the front desk people only give you lip service with no follow-up.
During our stay the hot water system was not working and despite complaints from many guests there was no action from the maintenance guys who were living in denial that all is well without checking. When the complain was raised to the hotel GM (sitting next to the front desk) he answered that I should have told him. Difficult, since the guy was never around until my 3rd day of stay. Obviously his staff never briefed him. The guy can also use lessons on manners and was not very customer friendly. His demeanor was that "we should be grateful to be given a room" instead of "I am happy you chose to stay with us".
Their laundry service is also not too great and you don't want to give them anything expensive. They lost some of our clothes and a few items came back dirtier than what we sent out. Again, staff apologetic and management indifferent.
Location wise, the place was great and within walking distance to some very nice shopping areas. OK

Room Tip: Room 301 was nice and big. I think rooms in the same location every floor should have the same layou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raja-S-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    36
    20
    16
See reviews for
50
8
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days in last week of November 2012.

Good points: (1) Specious and fairly clean rooms (2) Nice south Indian veg only break fast (3) Centrally located in T Nagar (4) WIFI at lobby works quite well (5) Reasonably priced- single room @INR 2682 including taxes (6) complimentary two water bottles every day

Bad points: (1) No hot water thru shower during all 3 days (2) NO WIFI internet in rooms (3) Room service very expensive and too slow (4) Break fast has only south indian food + bread with butter/ jam

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandmasterPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
333 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

During my last visit to Chennai I stayed at BKR Grand.

This is a relatively new hotel located in the centre of Chennai in a crowded market area.

The room was good, neat & clean.

The towels, napkins, bedsheets etc. was all neat & clean.

However, it seems the hotel is designed to cater mainly to south indians only !!

Out of the 100 odd tv channels barely 10 channels are in English - the rest are all in South Indian languages.

The punjabi food I ordered also had a distinct south indian flavour

The break fast had idli, vada, upma & idiyappam - all south indian dishes.

So over all very discomforing for a person like me who is not a south indian.

Over all this hotel is more suitable for families as its location is also in the midst of a crowded market area.

Not reccomended for business travellers as there are better options available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaishavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was highly recommended by our tour agency, supposedly a 4-star, brand new hotel. However, we had a bad experience staying in the hotel.

The checking in process was messy and slow and proved to be a procursor to things to come.First we were given the wrong room and it took us a while to get the one we had booked. There was a foul smell coming out of the kitchen to the upper floors and the hotel was constructed that it was neither disabled or senior citizen friendly.

The aicond was so underpowered that you dont even feel there is aircond on. We had to switch on the fan to keep cool.

We dined at the hotel's famed restaurant. It was chaotic and noisy and the food was average. They refused to accept the bill to be charged to the room so we had to pay cash. And in a few hours my wife came down with diarrhea.

The breakfast was complimentary but we can hardly be complimentary about it. It was a typical South Indian breakfast (no western option is available).The place was not hygienic and the staff were busy filling bottled water containers with tap water. The waiters looked lost, overwhelmed and under-trained.

When we came back to the room after shopping,there was no water supply (cut due to a strike) and the hotel had no back up supply.Worse of all, they decided to recycle waste water for the toilet so it stank to high heavens.

And when we finally wanted to leave, the staff mistakenly sent a birthday cake and insisted that we accept it and take it back with us. They billed us wrongly and it took ages to sort it out.

Pros:
- Strategic location (T-Nagar the shopping district)

Cons
- Poor service
- Poor hygiene
- Underpowered aircond
- Poorly managed and run
- Under trained staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Sudhagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Chieri, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

That’s what I will say during my recent stay at BKR Grand Hotel.

After my check in I found some cleaning standard not upto as per mark, so in the evening I shared my thoughts with the Head Housekeeper, who immediately took it in consideration and within few minutes she herself with her Team was busy to update all as per the requirements. Very impressive!

Unfortunately Breakfast does not give you any continental or English food choice, only South Indian dishes and the sad part is even with the room service you cannot order a toast or an omlette. They don’t even have tea bags so one has to drink a tea of no taste.

Lighting is very poor in the bathroom for a man; I wonder how a lady will manage! Instead, room is well lit with lot of socket points and if required even windows can be opened.

The Hotel doorman with a big moustache and smile gives a warm welcome, but the magic fades as soon you reach the Reception where the staff require bit of motivation to smile.

Bar is quite big in space with a selection of drinks and they offer small portions of munchy hot items during aperitif hours (good to seat near the counter)

Room Tip: Standard rooms are quite good, even though facing the road but well isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSLifeStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband on 26th Oct 2012. The hotel is in the heart of T Nagar / Pondy Bazar shopping district in Chennai.The hotel is very neat and clean, staff are friendly and an added advantage (specially in Chennai) is that they can understand and speak decent English. Rooms are well maintained. Their complementary breakfast is also good. Overall, it leaves good taste in the mouth and I recommend this hotel for short term stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are good, can ask for rooms not facing the road as these are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renuka5213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We a group of 10 people from Malaysia had a wonderful stay in this hotel, which is located in the middle of a busy shopping area.....walking distance away from major restaurants. The service at the hotel is good.....we were there for 3 nights in February 2012...the rooms were very clean and the room service was also good. Well the autoricksaw guys were quite reasonable and we must be smart to do the bargaining. We used these services to the Marina Beach and also to the theaters. All in all we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean.good air-con units,good room service...worth staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arasu58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nachiappa Park Hotel
#260 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
67 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#39 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
255 reviews
The Residency
#37 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
Southern Crest
Southern Crest
#279 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
89 reviews
The Iris Hotel
#58 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
192 reviews
Hotel Raj Palace
#116 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BKR Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BKR Grand Hotel

Property: BKR Grand Hotel
Address: No: 71 Usman Road | Sarojini Street, T Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BKR Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your BKR Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing