We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A royal stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A royal stay”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit n only one sentence can describe it "live life king size" . It just get better b better with every stay
I must say when u enter this hotel u feel that u have come a different world.
The breakfast is awesome n u must can never miss the spa if u want real royal treatment plz visit this place. I wish I can come again and again.
A special thanks to the spa masseuse zoui from my wife. I am sorry if u spelled her name wrong

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arihantnjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from ITC Grand Chola,Chennai

It has been our pleasure to have you as our esteemed guest at the hotel on your recent visit

Thank you for taking the time to share with us an incredible review on Trip Advisor. Your valuable feedback and gracious comments inspires our Ladies & Gentlemen tremendously

The entire team has received your review and are delighted to have been a part of your fantastic experience at the hotel

Your recognition extended towards our breakfast and spa team has been well recieved . Zoui is indeed delighted to know that your wife's spa experience was exceptional

It is our endeavor to constantly and consistently ensure that we provide the finest services and experiences to each of our guests and your words of appreciation continue to motivate us to deliver the highest quality of service

Thank you once again for your recognition, the ITC Grand Chola family looks forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Thank you and regards,

Yours sincerely,

Ranvir Bhandari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    507
    123
    45
    34
See reviews for
393
237
89
1,659
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed; in this sprawling hotel you would still find personalised service. From check in thru' checkout the experience was enjoyable. Morning breakfast spread is unimaginably huge and you will be spoilt for choice!
There are nice restaurants and the Italian restaurant Ottimo is very authentic; however a restaurant of this level could do well with more attentive service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LalgudiRaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learnt that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the breakfast buffet matched your expectations.

While we are glad to learn that you enjoyed the cuisine at Ottimo - Cucina Italiana, we regret to learn that the service was not up to the mark.

We hope you will allow us an opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustihaveone
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Well at least the best of the Starwood / ITC properties. I stayed 2-3 times in Jan / Feb 2014 for short stays of 2-3 days each. The new-ness of the property shows up against the many ageing properties even in the Starwood stable here. As a then-platinum member, I had a special checkin at the Towers lobby and upgraded to a really spacious room. On one occasion, I actually turned up without reservations and the front-desk staff matched the online rates at SPG.com and instantly reserved and checked me in, which was really nice of them.

Many restaurants, good food, breakfast buffet is really quite a spread. Grand, marble and chandelier feel throughout without being fusty. I was not on business so location did not matter all that much, but it is on a main thoroughfare so I assume it is well-located for most people. Gym and pool looked great, did not use.

Cons: very large, easy to get lost; and the upgraded rooms (not sure what they are called) come with glass doors, without blinds or any other way to deliver privacy.

Still, one of my best picks for hotels in all of India.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustihaveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the cuisine matched your expectations.

Thank you for your kind comments on the decor and the architecture.

It is always a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here last month with my family and absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were large and luxurious and were controlled by iPads-- an awesome feature I'd never seen before! I also had an amazing massage at the Kaya Kalp spa, as well as an incredibly delicious and unique utensil-free dinner at Peshawri. The staff was incredibly accommodating to my large family, and Mr. Abhimanyu Arora, the manager, was especially helpful. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that Abhimanyu and the team at the hotel were able to look after you well.

Thank you for your kind comments on Kaya Kalp - The Royal Spa and the robust North West Frontier Cuisine at Peshawri.

We look forward to your return and to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

It is definitely a tribute to Southern India's greatest empires. What a magnificent hotel. Absolutely huge. On entering you are faced with the most amazing staircase with the most beautiful flower arrangements on either side. There on these steps were three of the hotel’s staff to welcome us. The check-in process could not have been easier. The rooms are second to none. Everything is controlled from an IPAD including a camera to see who is outside the door. The pool area is amazing. A number of kids pools, an outdoor spa pool and a massive, sparkling main pool. A small, clean and modern gym is located on the pool floor. I guess the only thing missing is an area to have a drink outdoors. All eating and drinking is done inside which is a pity. The restaurants cater for all tastes. We dined at Peshawri, serving authentic cuisine, Café Mercara Express and Pan Asia. The breakfast was really good. The South Indian coffee experience was fantastic made even more special by the young guy pouring the coffee. He certainly enjoyed what we has doing. The hotel is not far from the airport. It took about 20 minutes to get to the airport during peak time. It’s also not far from the IT hub where we were working. Good Wifi speeds. A truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us and that our team was able to look after you well.

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation on the in-room iPad, The Marina pool complex and the fitness centre. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the cuisine at Cafe Mercara Express and Pan Asian and particularly relished our signature meter coffee.

We look forward to your return and to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Brand new, very clean, 6 restaurants, excellent service. its looks like a big palace. the size is enormous and apparently not all towers are being used. If you are in Chennai on business trip - that's the only choice! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheManFromKemerovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our team was able to look after you well.

We look forward to your return and to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is grand and gives you a great feeling the moment you walk in. The hotel service apartment is perfect for long stay and is perfect.
What separates this hotel from other hotels is the warm and friendliness attitude of people and staff working here and especialky every one at the front desk.
They are all friendly and remembers and greets with name. There are lot of things which the hotel staff does which makes you feel at home and welcome all the time.
The hotel has great restaurants and each restaurant is unique and showcases different cuisines.
Each part of the hotel is grand and showcases luxury and as they call it Responsible Luxury.
Overall my stay here has been excellent and thanks to the entire staff at the hotel.
Last but not the least the hotel has a great man to over see the whole apartment and Nadeem Khan takes care of it very well.
Very rare do yiu find people with so muchh dedication and he does it flawlessly. We all love him. Thanks

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank matty971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for your kind words of appreciation. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that Nadeem and our team at the hotel were able to look after you well.

Thank you for endorsing ITC Hotels' credo of Responsible Luxury.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,436 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
989 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,408 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,068 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Property: ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing