We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly grand hotel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was my first hotel experience in India and I was totally blown away by the opulence of this place the minute I laid eyes on the impressive lobby staircase.

We shot one of our episodes for season one of David Rocco's Dolce India here and everything was top notch. They have an amazing spa, a beautiful rooftop pool and great group of restaurants that are all really good. Be sure to dine at Ottimo for some amazing Italian food. Also visit Royal Vega if you can for signature vegetarian dishes from across Indian.

The service here is impeccable - I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank DavidRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted by your kind words of appreciation on the Grand Staircase at the Sangam Lobby, Kaya Kalp – The Royal Spa, The Marina pool comples, Ottimo – Cucina Italiana and Royal Vega.

We hope you will visit us again soon and look forward to many more opportunities to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,385 - 2,391 of 3,097 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Was on a 6 days business trip and stayed at ITC. It really deserve all the great reviews. I stayed in a Towerroom, and they were big and very beautiful. Everything in the room is controlled by the Ipad - it works like a dream. Large bathroom and everything in perfect conditions. Very good value. The only small negative thing, is the efficiency in the bars and poolarea. Its like in rest of Asia - not all staffemembers are well trained, but i can live with that. Prices in the hotel´s restaurants and bars are reasonable, but of course 5 times higher than if you go to a local restaurant in Chennai, and you should :-). Prices on booze and wine is extremely high, but that goes for most places as well. Ohh - and by the way - the breakfast is fantastic

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterFabricius-Olsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us in The Towers and that you particularly relished the breakfast spread. The in-room iPad is indeed a unique offering of the hotel and we are glad that you found it useful.

We have made note of your comments on the service at The Marina pool complex and the bars and we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We hope you will allow us an opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel, Nikita and other staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Good restaurants and great food! The Indian cuisine in particular was outstanding. Will definitely stay here if in Chennai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that Nikita and the team at the hotel were able to look after you well.

Thank you for your kind comments on the restaurants and the cuisine.

We look forward to your return and to many more opportunities to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is huge and beautiful. Inside and out. This is a very new hotel so they thought of everything to make the guests comfortable. What is coo is the IPAD in every room that controls everything. From lights to TV to internet. The door camera is also a feature and can open the door through it. Traveling alone and nobody to talk to? Just go down in the lobby and there's somebody to swap stories with. Maybe Jessica or Pema or Nikita or Satvlk.
somebody else. That's how friendly the staffs are. It has many restaurants to close from that whatever food you want, they probably have. Will come back again.p

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnoldp12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that Jessica, Pema, Nikita and Satvik were able to look after you well.

We are particularly proud of our in-room iPads and are glad you found it useful. Thank you for your kind comments on our restaurants.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited the hotel in Feb and stayed in one of their Towers Room. Had a lovely stay and should mention the in-room service especially. Would like to mention Dinesh and Nishima who were extremely helpful and very accommodating. The property is a bit large and it is quite easy to lose your way at times. Otherwise excellent service and lovely rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay in The Towers and that Dinesh and Nishima were able to look after you well.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It is a magnificent property. The grandness of the hotel becomes obvious even before you enter the property. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and absolutely calm and quiet.
I have been to the hotel on few occasions and absolutely love it. The last time I visited (March 2014) there was however a major problem with mosquitoes and the staff was doing everything possible to make the stay of guests comfortable by continuously spraying the area.
I enjoyed the food at Peshawar (equivalent to Bukhara in Maurya Delhi) and you cannot complain about the breakfast!
I also dined at the first five star vegetarian restaurant which is part of the hotel (I dont remember the name). I thought the prices were exorbitant but the ambience, look and feel were absolutely royal.
Food at the Asian restaurant was absolutely very ITC in terms of quality and taste.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone who'd want to experience the 'grand' feeling. ITC Chola has definitely set the standards high for others in India (even overseas).

Room Tip: I have stayed in different rooms every time I visited Chola, all are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliOvais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at ITC Grand Chola and that you enjoyed your experience at Peshawri, Royal Vega and at Pan Asian.

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation on the rooms.

It is always a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hello Readers,

If you are planning to travel to the hot and humid but lovely city of Chennai, then you need not worry about the summers. Wheater its your business trip or a family outing, please book the ITC grand CHola for your stay.

ITS hotels are anyways best knows for their hospitality, btu this one is an exception. Its well within the budget but a superior quality of hotel Excellent rooms, excellent swimming pool, excellent quality of food and prompt service.

Its a perfect picture of elegance and luxury hotel and is quite close by to the airport.

If you are going to stay here then please dont forget to try the "Peshawri Restaurant" Its the best ever place for kababs, it can beat any north indian restaurant with its awsoem kababs.

Overall a very satisfied ITC guest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family456escp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for your kind words of appreciation on the rooms, The Marina pool complex, the cuisine and the service. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly enjoyed Peshawri.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,636 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#9 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,125 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#11 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,585 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,307 reviews
Feathers A Radha Hotel
#1 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $194 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing