We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Truly a palace”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Fantastic staff, always available and offering assistance. Very clean property and rooms are fantastic. The iPads in the room made locating light switches simple and also allowed temperature control, room service and tv access, fabulous. We also enjoyed happy hour at the business lounge most nights. Great appetizers and the "refreshers" were awesome drinks. Ask for Anjolie, she makes great drinks and serves them with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was a memorable experience and that our team was able to look after you well. Our in-room iPads are indeed a unique feature and we are glad you found it useful.

Anjolie is thrilled by your words of appreciation.

We look forward to many more opportunities to serve you and hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Chennai.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,943
    498
    123
    45
    33
See reviews for
380
233
89
1,611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here only once, but my, what an experience. This is truly a one of a kind property. First off it is so huge its pretty easy to get lost finding the entrance itself.

Reception and welcome - prompt, crisp ,no waste of time. Critical for business travelers. Checked in early in the morning, no hassles about it whatsoever.

Room - The rooms are very spacious, and the interiors aesthetically done. Silent too. Room service too was prompt, and acquiesced to late night food requests with some creative dishes.
Must say that the breakfast spreads that I had here was one of the best, and kudos to the chef and his team for it.

Overall - Its quite pricey, but definitely do not think a single penny wasted staying here

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms ensure a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varundamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our team was prompt with your requests and looked after you well.

Thank you for your kind comments on the rooms, in-room dining and breakfast spread.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

As a business traveler been to the best of luxury hotels in Europe, Dubai and in India. Living in Chennai I come here more often for food and drink. Royal Vega for veg food and ottimo for wine n dine and experience is always amazing. Last time was in Lounge for drinks and Nilesh and Archisha made my evening truly fantastic. It has raised the bar high even for top end luxury hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_marlecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you enjoy your visits to Ottimo – Cucina Italiana and Royal Vega and that Nilesh and Archisha were able to look after you well at the Residents Lounge.

It is always a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to your next visit to ITC Grand Chola.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I spent 3 weeks at ITC Grand Chola, in February / March on a business trip. The hotel is magnificent with huge and beautiful spaces inside.

The room was very comfortable, equipped with an iPad which controls the temperature, TV and the lights. It's a very smart and convenient idea, I liked it very much.

The service was exceptional with a friendly and polite staff. They recognised me by face after the first or second time and were very helpful, gave some good recommendations for weekend tourist trips.
When I complained about a strange voice in my room, the manager at the reception personally checked it and they solved the problem within an hour (there was something wrong with an AC exhaust on the roof). A truly fast and efficient help, exactly what I would except from a 5 star hotel.

The variety of food is fantastic, there are about 10 restaurants inside. I tried the Madras Pavilon's buffet, Peshawari, Pan Asian and the Royal Vega too, all of them were very nice with a fantastic service and a pleasant interior.

The hotel has a nice outdoor swimming pool and a big, very well equipped gym. The hotel also has a spa with enormous spaces inside,with a steam and dry sauna. All of them were a pleasant to use.

My overall experience was fantastic, I would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone who seeks luxury in Chennai at affordable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank János A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted by your words of appreciation and are glad that our team was able to look after you well.

Thank you for your kind comments on the in-room iPad, the restaurants, The Marina Pool Complex, the fitness centre and Kaya Kalp – The Royal Spa.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you to ITC Grand Chola again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I visited the property with my family last week for a meal. We loved the Hotel and so took a look around and saw one of the rooms. I must say, this is pretty much one of the best hotels in India.
I would like to make a specific mention to Pranav who was at the front desk. Thank you so much for your guidance on how we can explore the city and I think your communication skill is excellent, not something we see in south India a lot. You are one of the most hospitable person I have met till date. All the best!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank VibhaHinduja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here a few times when I used to visit Chennai for work. It is a magnificent hotel. Great interiors, great staff, and fairly good food.

One of the coolest things is the ipad that they have kept in the room. You can almost do anything with it - order food, order laundry, manage channels on tv, manage the room lights.. and also open the door if someone is there..

Would love to stay in this hotel everytime I visit Chennai

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitin_mohta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for your kind comments. The in-room iPad is indeed one of the unique features of the hotel and we are glad you found it useful.

We look forward to your return and to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Have had more than 20+ stays in this hotel over the last year.
This is a new hotel in the city and easily the best luxury property in Chennai!

Pros
- Prompt overall service reservations / airport pick-up / check-in / laundry / housekeeping etc
- Well furnished and well maintained infrastructure & rooms (except the ipads which have now become slow and unresponsive)
- Extremely Good Options in Breakfast & Dinner Buffet
- Excellent Fitness Center and Pool

Cons
The first three points below are similar to many other ITC hotels,
- Room service menu is extremely limited & basic - Ordering from the in-house restaurants (Peshawari, Pan Asian etc) is a painful process (menu not available in the room) / takes long time to be served etc
- During peak season when most base category rooms are full, the hotel does not make special efforts to accommodate regular (platinum !!) guests
- The Wifi scratch card system is irritating and often the codes don't work on first attempt on multiple devices (laptop and ipad is basic for most travelers). (This whole process is avoidable since most top hotel chains have direct logins)
- The BellBoy service at the main entrance is extremely slow and often I carry my own luggage to avoid waiting for 20 mins for the person to show up

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattoraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. While we are delighted by your continued patronage towards ITC Hotels, we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you due to delays in service and internet access.

We hope you will allow us to make it up to you on your next visit. It is always a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola soon.

Warm regards,

Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,359 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,067 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,382 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#4 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,018 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#22 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Property: ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing