We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent facilities and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities and staff”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is the best hotel I had ever stayed. The room is fantastic, super comfortable bed and big bathroom (separate areas for bathtub, shower and toilet). Amazing saloons, excellent restaurants and a big swimming pool give you enough area to relax and enjoy your stay. The staff is always helpful and available to support all your requests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreRodamilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your kind words of appreciation on the room, the restaurants and The Marina pool complex
Our team is delighted to hear that they could make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

We sincerely hope you will visit us on your next visit to the city and eagerly await your return.

Warm regards,
Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    478
    120
    43
    32
See reviews for
361
227
82
1,502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is the most fancy hotel I ever visited. It is unbelieivable how rich is the building besides the city structure. The hotel has 4 different restaurant, my favorites were the Chinese and Italian restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you could experience four of our eight culinary destinations and that Pan Asian and Ottimo – Cucina Italiana were your favourites!

We hope you will try our other restaurants and bars too when you return to the city and look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola again soon.

Warm regards,
Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is an excellent hotel both in terms of facilities and hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I cannot fault anything about my week long stay. The restaurants serve quality food, the staff are attentive, the room (not described as a bedroom as that would be an injustice) was luxurious and i will certainly be coming back if and when i visit Chennai again. Stay in a tower room if you can, i was in an ITC One room. You may think the hotel or meals/drinks are expensive but for me are good value for a 5 star hotel that lives up to that rating (not all do as we all know).

Room Tip: Go for a Tower or ITC One room overlooking the pool if you can - they are excellent. Practice on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that your stay in ITC One was enjoyable and our team could make you comfortable.
Thank you for your kind comments on the value for money on our culinary offerings.

We eagerly await your return and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Warm regards,
Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

By far the best hotel i have ever stayed it. The hotel not only looks like a palace but the service matches the standards of the hotel, this hotel definitely provides a luxury lifestyle.

Staff are very friendly,attentive and always provide a service with a smile. The best restuarents in the hotel are Pan Asia and Ottima!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 529Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to see your kind comments about ITC Grand Chola being the best hotel you have experienced and that our team could make your stay enjoyable and comfortable.

We sincerely hope you will try our other culinary destinations as well and we eagerly await your return.

Warm regards,
Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The ITC Grand Chola, as the name suggests, is born out of a vision to showcase the grandeur of India's rich heritage and architectural splendor. The hotel adopts principles from the Chola dynasty for the facade as well as the interiors. The lobby and the staircase are truly splendid. It is a Green hotel with numerous visible and behind-the-scenes initiatives to ensure sustainability.

Coming to the room and amenities, the iPad operated console inspires wonder. Every aspect of the room and your stay can be controlled by your fingertips... There is ample cross-promotion of ITC group companies which I would consider smart - be it the advertising for Wills on TV or the Fiama range of personal utilities.

The banquet arrangements were impeccable and staff service was five-star... I guess there is a lot that a hotel guest can do in case there is a proper orientation provided. The liberal use of marble all over the property while endowing grandeur also seems to be constricting. A little more greenery and some more open spaces would have done the trick. In terms of the experience in the fitness center, there are no complaints.

The overall impression was that it is evolving... In a couple of years, it definitely will touch the levels of a hallmark.

Room Tip: In case you want a room close to the fitness center, request for a room in the East Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving us your comprehensive feedback and for endorsing the green initiatives of ITC Grand Chola. “Responsible Luxury”, is in fact the core ethos of ITC Hotels.

We are particularly proud of the Welcom e-Butler, which is the in-room iPad and are glad you found it to be useful. Our team in the banquets are delighted by your words of appreciation,We have made note of your comments on enhancing the property surrounding.

We sincerely hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Chennai and allow us another opportunity to serve you soon.

Warm regards,
Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went to ITC Grand as we had heard a lot about the hotel, the food and most important the ambiance. I have to admit that this hotel does offers you a "Grand" experience. weather its at the time you enter, your stay time or at the restaurants.
Indeed, this may be a bit high on the pocket but it offers a priceless experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohsin1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your kind comments on the cuisine and the ambience. We are delighted we could offer you a priceless experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola and look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My self highly recommend this hotel if you are planing to stay in Chennai for any purpose because I found my self been served like prince due to the luxury facilities and the very good service , this hotel reflecting the history hospitality and the luxury life and where you want to see different life , the staff was very helpful committed to their job and smiles every where and my regards to Sophia it was the floor manager where I was stay she is such a good person. Who care and reflect the hotel image and the other staff as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fun-hus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranvir_Bhandari, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad we could make you feel like royalty during your stay with us. Sofia is thrilled by your words of appreciation.
We sincerely hope you will choose to stay with ITC Grand Chola again on your next visit to Chennai and eagerly await your return.

Warm regards,
Ranvir Bhandari
Vice President South & General Manager ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,284 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
922 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,324 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#5 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
960 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Property: ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing