We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge but cold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Huge but cold”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Grand Chola hotel is really big and very we'll decorated. White marble is everywhere, starting from a huge staircase next to the reception desk to the buffet restaurant. Room are spacious, clean and very well equipped, especially with the centralized system on the iPad (controlling everything in the room A/C, lights, tv, door...)
Staff are kind and helpful, sometime a bite slow (espresso coffee should be served in short time...)
I've spent there a short week several month ago and had the chance to try the Italian restaurant, pan-Asia and the buffet for breakfast.

The breakfast is really amazing and from my French picky point of view, the croissant section is really, really, really good... Choice is amazing. Perfect to start a day, but I'd advice to skip the lunch after such an enjoyable choice.
I was disappointed by pan-Asia, living in china for 7 years, loving Japanese food, I didn't enjoy the cod fish that I ordered covered with a sweet sauce, nothing Japanese there.
The Italian restaurant is quite good, and the choice is interesting, but I had the feeling that it was very very salty (I had the same feeling of salty meal with a room service of the Indian menu).
At last, the gym and swimming pool, everything is there, but so cold, so empty... The only human I saw were the employees of the hotel, it's a bit strange to be always alone is such a big place.
That's my feeling of this hotel, everything is there and fine, but it's very cold and dehumanized.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank caroennico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to take note of your wonderful comments about the Grand Staircase, spacious rooms and our food and beverage offerings. We are further thrilled to know that you were impressed with our breakfast spread. However we regret that your dining experience at Pan Asian was not up to your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and the same will be shared with the team.

We hope that you will allow us many more opportunities to serve you in the future.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    507
    123
    45
    34
See reviews for
393
237
89
1,659
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadeloupe
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

It is a palace in heart of Chennai. The view of the hotel from outside is great, it is thrilling to view from the pool deck. Rooms are comfortable and large. Staff are very courteous and gentle.
The culinary experience is great with their 3 signature restaurants. The Royal Vega food experience was wonderful, Peshwari very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are thrilled to hear about your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you were impressed with the grandeur of the hotel façade and were further pleased with the rooms, service and our food and beverage offerings.

We eagerly await your return.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I am enjoying my stay at ITC and the staff are great.. Nilesh (ITC bar) has been very professional and friendly. Highly recommended. Rooms have very nice and clean, and the Pan Asian restaurant is exceptional.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank shallawell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is heartening to hear about your positive comments about our rooms, restaurants and our services. We are delighted to know that you had such a great experience with us. Thank you for recommending us. We shall definitely pass on your compliments to Nilesh.

We eagerly look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

i had wonderful experience during my stay in the hotel . i am a radio listner they are having entertainment network with Radio this was fulfilled . For sure the best business and familly hotel in india. Great Full automated rooms, good food, great spread in buffet , perfect location in chennai, accessible from various places, closer to airport. Need to do somethings for leisure travellers. like a kids play area etc needs to be added.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v p S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to note that you consider us to be one of the best hotels in India. Thank you for you kind words of appreciation about our in-room entertainment, hotel location and our food & beverage offerings. We have made note of your recommendation about a leisure facility.

We eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

For sure the best business hotel in india. Great Full automated rooms, good food, great spread in buffet , perfect location in chennai, accessible from various places, closer to airport. Need to do somethings for leisure travellers. like a kids play area etc needs to be added.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mformalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Though we are living in Chennai, my husband and I would occasionally check into a hotel in town for a quiet 'weekend getaway'. This time we chose ITC Grand Chola and enjoyed every minute of our stay in the luxurious hotel.

We were greeted by the magnificent grand marble staircase in the lobby and were welcomed by the friendly Ms. Karina who was adorned in a beautiful sari. Checking in process at the front office by Mr. Pranav was very quick and efficient.

Our room on the Executive Club Floor was very cosy and tastefully furnished. My husband was fascinated with the iPad interface that controls various in-room features. The room was thoughtfully designed with a sensor light so you won’t trip in the night on your way to the bathroom. The bathroom and toilet was disabled friendly with strong handles at a reachable height with easily accessible.

We then had an amazing experience at the Kaya Kalp Spa. We were received by Ms. Sasa the Spa Manager who was already expecting us since we have made an appointment the day before we checked into the hotel. My husband and I chose the Deep Tissue Massage and were shown to the Couple Suite which was very spacious. After a brief introduction by the therapists, our sore muscles were worked on quietly by the trained therapists. We were very satisfied with the massage techniques and felt really relaxed after the massage session. We will definitely visit the Kaya Kalp Spa again.

Dinner at Peshwari was exceptional. Stepping into Peshwari was like stepping into an era of the Northern-West Frontier. The interior was rustic, service was excellent and the food delectable. We ordered the Sikandari Raan (Marinated Whole Leg of Spring Lamb), Tandoori Aloo and some Naan. The serving size was very generous and the spring lamb was succulent and delectable. All the dishes were wonderfully paired with a Riesling. Mr. Hashish was very attentive and made sure that our wine glasses were never empty .

Breakfast the next day at the Madras Pavilion was again another delightful experience. Since we were still very full from last’s night dinner at Peshwari, we opted for the Eggs Benedict with Salmon. The eggs were poached perfectly with running yolks. We especially enjoyed the South Indian Coffee which was served by a staff who ‘pulled’ the tea right in front of you. The staff (I think his name is Sundar) had such a brilliant smile that it instantly brightened us up and we couldn’t help but smiled along while watching him perform his ‘stunt’.

Overall, we had a superb weekend at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai. We loved the alluring grandeur of the hotel and the professionalism of the hotel staff. The staff were well-spoken, well dressed, very courteous, friendly yet not obtrusive.

A special mention for Mr. Nadeem, Manager of the ITC Residences who graciously gave us a tour of the apartment unit and tower room, despite our last minute request.

p/s My husband enjoyed the food at Peshwari so much that he took his guests there for dinner last night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re thrilled to see such a detailed and meticulously written review! We are delighted to learn that we could make your weekend at one of our Executive Club rooms a memorable and relaxing experience.

Karina, Pranav, Sasa, Nadeem. Aashish and Sundar are thrilled by your kind words of appreciation on their service.

Peshawri is one of the finest culinary offerings from ITC Hotels and we’re glad you appreciated its rustic North West Frontier cuisine. Cutting chai and meter coffee at Madras Pavilion reflect our local flair and have been very well received by all our guests. We are particularly proud of the e-Butler and it’s wonderful to learn that you could make full use of it.

We hope you will visit us soon and look forward to another opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for 1 week and it was great!
Upon entrance, greeted with hospitality at its best.
Room is absolutely comfortable, spacious and it has a warm feeling as you enter. Everyone talks about the Ipad, so i will skip.
On several occasions, i had fresh flowers and decorations (roses and lilies)
Naresh, the floor attendant on the 23rd floor did a good job in ensuring i go back to a clean and comfortable room, also a note, to greet me farewell on my last day.
Small little details like this makes a traveller special!
Rooms are equipped with wifi at a cost though.
No complaints with the bathrooms given the fact that im pretty particular with cleanliness.

Front desk and concierge team, particularly the following: Aalekh, Ashok, Venket assisted on special requests, ie. using the freezer facilities in the IRD and assisted to get shopping requests, as i did not have time for shopping! Service at its best.

Foodwise, no issues - i have yet to try out all the restaurants!
Was skeptical about food and water consumption after hearing all the stories of food poisoning etc!
Breakfast @ Madras Pavilion was OK. I liked the signature breakfast best. Different mix of choices but could do with more international cruisine. Must try the South Indian Coffee and Masala tea. There's a designated attendant that goes round serving it.
Abisheek, the manager on duty at my first night, recommended me and introduced me to Ottimmo given my preferences, I really enjoyed dinner and returned the next night for a first hand experience in the open kitchen observing Chef Zubin (Ottimmo Italian Restaurant) cook my seafood risotto. The team on Monday and Tuesday nights were very attentive and pleasant, which made my dinners special!
Was also recommended that Royal Vega is a must-try! Indeed it is. Sameer the manager explained each serve and shared his experiences.
Pashwari was also very nice and different for non veg selections.
Pan Asian has good Japanese! But service was so-so, despite the high ratings it gets on Trip Advisor.
No time for a swim! but the pool looks absolutely inviting. Had a chance to use the Spa at Kaya Kalp, ooohhh bliss.
Definitely will return and hope that the level of service and hospitality continues to get better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the lifts, some are a walk away Suggest rooms which does not face the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly_flutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It’s wonderful to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable and our team could make you comfortable. Naresh, Aalek, Venkat, Ashok and Chef Zubin Writer are thrilled by your kind comments on their service.

We’re delighted that your experience at Kaya Kalp – The Royal Spa, Madras Pavilion, Pan Asian, Ottimo – Cucina Italiana, Royal Vega was excellent. We have made note of your comments on the service at Pan Asian and the international selection at the breakfast buffet at Madras Pavilion.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you and hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,436 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
989 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,408 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,068 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Property: ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing