We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a Grand property in the heart of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a Business trip. Excellent service. mostly positive. Rooms are very modern and beautifully designed.

Few suggestions though:
a) The rooms have very dark lighting. You cannot read anything in the bathroom because there is just one camouflaged light.
b) ITC Grand charges for Wifi: In this space age... it is unheard of. one of the very few hotels in the world !!!

Room Tip: Try for rooms facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing ITC Grand Chola during your business visit to Chennai. We are delighted to hear about you positive comments regarding the rooms and the design. We have taken note of your suggestions, regarding the lighting and the internet.

We eagerly look forward to your return

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,434 - 2,440 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

The stay was excellent provided you go there just to enjoy the stay or has work closer to airport because travelling from the hotel to the city center is quite a pain and takes enormous time as the metro work is going on. The room are very spacious and the staff are very friendly. The hotel ambiance is splendid. It has a great buffet breakfast. Food is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radhareddyh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to take note of your wonderful comments about our spacious rooms, staff and food and beverage offerings.

We hope that you will allow us many more opportunities to serve you in the future.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was my second trip back at the ITC Chola. Once you meander through all the construction around the hotel and get inside, its in absolute oasis. A hotel that I would consider as truly outstanding and great experiences across the board! I stayed in the Towers wing and the rooms are spaciously large, functional and spotlessly maintained. Aditi, their head of housekeeping was warm, courteous and showed me around the property. The dinner at Mercara Express was brilliant, esp their "meal in a bowl" concepts. The next morning gym session was great, enjoyed a great workout under some very helpful supervision from Praveen, the instructor on duty who also taught me some new stretching exercises. The breakfast that followed was a massive spread and I particularly enjoyed their south Indian spread and their chatty F&B Manager Upendra made it a memorable experience even though I was time constrained.

Overall, this is my top choice in Chennai and a great truly great hotel. My top reason for this vote is some of the incredible people they have across the board who do everything to make the stay and experience truly exceptional!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chakrapani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a wonderful feedback about ITC Grand Chola. It is very encouraging to hear that you were impressed by the hotel and our services. The entire staff, especially Upender, Aditi and Praveen will be very pleased to hear about your compliments. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation about Café Mercara Express, our fitness facilities and the buffet spread.

We shall eagerly await your return.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Mr. Mathur helped with a quick check out, print outs of my travel tickets and arranged for baggage to be stored at the Bell desk, while I had to rush to the full day workshop at the hotel.

Suggestion [1] : Conference Rooms need to have sufficient charging bays for Mobile/ Lap tops. Typically, during a full day workshop/ seminar the batteries run out pretty fast. This should be a simple thing to do.

Suggestion [2] : Also, very uncomfortable to know that the door boys/ girls need to stand out the full day in front of the conference door, just to let people in. Can this painful experience be avoided??

Suggestion [3] : Vegetarian Food at the Peshawaris was an average experience. Tandoori's were burnt black and the side dish was a so-so. Nothing lip smacking!!

Room Tip: Rooms are good on all sides, just enjoy the pool and hit the gym to perk up your day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’ve made note of your suggestions on the understandable requirement of charging bays at our banquet space and the service standards in place as well.

We regret that your experience at Peshawri was not up to the mark and that our food did not match your expectations.

We sincerely hope you will allow us to make it up to you on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola.

Warm regards,

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

So this is a very good hotel.

* Bedroom -The rooms are very good, ipad to control TV, A/C, Lighting. The bathrooms are great, shower, big bath, nice and clean.
* Food - Great restaurants / good food, nice selection of drinks.
* Great swimming pool and gym. Perfect place to relax!

BUT - All bottled drinking water / beer I had in the hotel was out of date. May be only by a couple of months ( actually there were 3 bottles out of date by 7 months ). But it's a 5* hotel and not a single bottle of water / beer was in date. Which then gets you thinking, if the water is out of date what about the food?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snapperjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have made note of your dissonance and sincerely apologize for the same. We wish to assure you that this is certainly not what the hotel stands for and we regret the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to make it up to you.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a "marbellous" hotel and like one of the other reviewers said they have invested a lot in the building itself. One has to unnecessarily walk a lot through the marble corridors to reach one's room. To park the vehicle one has to take a "parikrama" around the hotel after seeing their four entrances!

We stayed in the Towers Room. A day prior to check-in we had requested an extra bed and they had assured us that they would keep it ready. After checking in it took a couple of phone calls and in-person visits to the Towers Reception to get the bed.

Everything in the room is controlled via the iPad including the lighting and there are a few glitches there as the lights behind the TV keeping turning themselves on and off.

The room rates are a bit expensive as the taxes add up to quite a bit. Please be informed that for bookings made via the ITC website one gets a free room upgrade but that also means one pays more in terms of luxury taxes.

The Towers Reception guys can be a little more warm and friendly.

The breakfast buffet (which is complimentary) was a bit of a let-down. We stayed for 3 nights and the items on the buffet did not change even once. The fruits served were not up to the mark. Did not appreciate the taste of idlis, vadas and dosas. Considering ITC's tall claims about food, this came as a surprise. They definitely can learn a thing or two from The Leela group.

If one chooses to eat at places other than the in-house restaurants, please note that this place is a little far from other restaurants or eating places. It is not a very kid friendly hotel too.

Room Tip: All rooms require a lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have made note of your comments and apologise for not having an extra bed ready and regret that you did not find the buffet spread at Madras Pavilion up to your expectations. We take great pride in the culinary heritage of ITC Hotels and hope you will allow us an opportunity to make it up to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola soon.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed and attended a 3 day business meeting in this hotel. The first impression was fantastic. The grand lobby, friendly reception and the amazing room that I got with a pool view. Not to forget the state of the art technology embedded in the room with an iPad controlling almost every single electrical device in the room. Alas, the second day after getting over the first impression, I started to find out flaws within the hotel which was unacceptable to me as 5 star hotel. I spotted some of their bottled water was only few days before expiry. Some bottled water was dusty and dirt around the opening. Bed linen with stain was not changed. Flat screen TV was not mounted horizontally (about 3 to 5 degree incline to be exact). Some chairs in the restaurant that serve breakfast has some sharp screws which were not removed completely causing some scratches on my hand. These are some details that I would like the hotel to take attention on. Such details though minor but can be the deciding factor for customer delights especially when you are in the luxury category.

Room Tip: Inspect the bottled water before you consume.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKCHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your experience at ITC Grand Chola is indeed regrettable.

Our sincere apologies for the lack in our housekeeping services and the inconvenience caused to you. We have made serious note of your comments and would like to make it up to you. Please send in your details to philippe.charraudeau@itchotels.in and we will be in touch with you shortly.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,510 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,039 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Feathers A Radha Hotel
#1 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
195 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,469 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $171 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing