We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Weeks In Grand Chola”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The hotel rooms and all public areas are finished to the highest standard in a combination of marble, leather wood and cloth, they have picked out subtle details with Indian and Asian antiques placed sparingly but with impact, the scent of fresh Lilies will always remind me of the hotel as it permeates all public areas. when entering for the 1st time you are met by staff who are pleased to meet and help you during your stay, this greeting is not a one off but is repeated at every opportunity showing true interest in your wellbeing and needs.
The choice of food is amazing with all different tastes catered for, and if you don't see something you like just ask and your request will be met to your taste and specification. All staff are excellent and are to be commended the ethic of their service is hard working and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room the night time views are spectacular, and be as friendly to the staff as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian42b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that your experience was up to the mark. We take great pains to ensure all our guests are pampered and treated like royalty and are glad we succeeded with you.

From the smell of the lilies to the amazing choice of food and excellent staff, we hope to always surprise you pleasantly with the best we have to offer.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,687 - 2,693 of 2,995 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My stay at ITC Grand Chola- (Tower block ) with my wife, had been great experience of our life time. It is a mixture of technowlogy, heritage & luxury personified.
It is so hugh that it is like a zigso puzzle. However staff are so helpful, courteous & respectful that they make you feel very comfortable.
At check-in on 30th floor,, a young & energetic staff named Vaibhav was very helpfull, courteous, knowledgable & was there all the time to help you resolve all problems.
We were very satisfied in all respect.

Room Tip: Stay at Tower Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamshed3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at The Towers and our team could make your visit comfortable. Vaibhav is delighted by your comments.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau,
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the ITC Chola in April 2013 on a business trip. The hotel is simply amazing and it is not even finished yet. Service was impeccable. Every care is taken to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Menu of pillows. Choice of hard or firm mattress. Control of the room is handled through an iPad (lights, clock, alarm, TV, opening the door if someone knocks, - everything!).
I had a chance to use the spa as well. Great service there as well. Many services to choose from. Very professional.
ITC Chola had several restaurants to choose from - Italian, Asian-fusion, etc. Breakfast buffet was extensive and well laid-out. Food is excellent.
Definitely would recommend this hotel. Good things are in the future for this place, especially once they complete the next series of development. (Don't worry - I did not hear or see any construction going on as a guest of this hotel. Whatever they are doing, they are hinding it well.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make your stay comfortable. We are delighted by your kind comments on the pillow menu, the in-room iPad, Kaya Kalp- The Royal Spa and restaurants.

We hope you will visit us again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau,
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Grand Chola is really grand. Right from the external architecture to the stunning interiors. Being a relatively new property it is very well maintained. Usually most 5 star hotel food is anodyne. Not so at Chola. Really enjoyed eating at their Madras Pavilion restaurant. The executive non smoking room I had booked was not very big but adequate.

Got the impression that parts of the hotel are not occupied and thus gives a slightly gloomy impression (maybe it also had to do with the size of the hotel and the occupancy seemed to be on the lower end that too midweek when I stayed) but the operational parts are really excellent.

Would have given all 5 stars in the review except for the tad disappointing in-room dining service. Staff need to be more courteous and helpful specially after the eye popping price one pays for in-room dining. Otherwise great hotel, good location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re pleased to hear that you found the hotel architecture impressive and enjoyed dining at Madras Pavilion. We’ve made note on your comments on in-room dining and we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau,
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's a life time experience. A special mention of their CRM Renu. She goes out of her way to look into your needs and make your stay comfortable. The Gentleman at the bar was extremely pleasant and helpful. The sofas at the Residency Lounge are slightly big and uncomfortable. Too deep to give our back a rest. The windows sealing and material needs to be looked into. They can be made noise proof. The decor of the rooms was exceptional and the iPad control of the front door was the best as also the balance of the controls available on the iPad. Forgot to mention that I could hear children playing around in the swimming pool. Airport pick and drop was well managed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navdsing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Ms Renu Ramchandani and our team at Cheroot- The Malt & Cigar Lounge are delighted by your kind words of appreciation. We take great pride in our iPad controlled rooms and are glad it was up to your expectations.

We’ve made note of your comments on the sound proofing the rooms and the comfort level of the sofas at the Residents lounge and deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau,
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night on 12th March 2013 with my family of two. It was indeed a great experience to stay in this huge property. Firstly the check in was very casual and prompt. The counter staffs were very courteous and professional in their dealings. My room was situated in the Towers section. It was a room for double occupancy however, I ordered an extra bed for my daughter. The room was very large and with up to date state of the art technology. The lighting, aircon, tv etc are all controlled with an I pad. The room is fully equipped with all the necessities, such as, mini bar, coffee making facility, iron and ironing board etc. The king size bed was very comfortable and the toilet and the showering area are really of great luxury. Even the toiletries provided are also of high quality. The complimentary breakfast was fabulous. The spread was large and with varieties of dishes. My experience at the Residence Lounge was great. The drinks were complimentary for in house guests here from 6 to 8.00 pm. The waiter who attended to me by the name of Mr.Nilesh was great. His impeccable service really impressed me a lot. The service at the Cafe Mercara is good, however the food pricing is expensive. One should not miss the pastries at the Nutmeg, they are great. All the hotel staffs are very friendly in particular one Miss. Mitali at the reception counter and one Mr. Nathan the bell boy at the lobby, are worth mentioning for their friendly services. On the whole my family and I were pampered all the way during our stay in this hotel. It is indeed an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at The Towers and that we could make your check-in experience smooth and your stay comfortable for you and your family. We take great pride in our food and beverage outlets and are pleased your experience at Madras Pavilion and Residents Lounge was up to your expectations. We’ve made note of your comments about the pricing at Café Mercara Express.

Nilesh, Nathan and Mitali are delighted by your appreciation.

We sincerely hope you will visit us again and look forward to serving you again soon.


Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The new ITC Grand Chola in Chennai is definetly one of the best hotels in India today. When you visit this hotel, you get a feeling of abundance, motivation level goes up, you feel very nice when you stay here. The rooms are awesome, bathrooms are huge, excellent bed & pillows. I sleep like a baby in this hotel. The tower rooms are huge. All controls in the room (includinag opening the door can be controlled by an iPAD. The breakfast is too good. This hotel has a unique 100% Veg restaurant - Royal Vega, where you are treated like kings & we get great food. This hotel has a nice spa & a nice swimming pool as well. The people are very warm & welcome & I would like to specifically name one person - Rajesh Nath, the front office manager, who has been of great help & seems to available all the time to the Guests. This person has not changed for the past 20 years. Have interacted with him earlier in Windsor Manor Bangalore, ITC Gardenia Bangalore & Park Sheraton Chennai. It is people like him who make your stay memorable. Hats of to ITC to create such a big hotel within the city in Chennai. Great Experience.

Room Tip: Book the rooms in the towers section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSRBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re glad you were comfortable during your stay at The Towers and enjoyed Kaya Kalp- The Royal Spa and The Marina. Royal Vega is a unique offering from ITC Hotels and we’re pleased you enjoyed the royal experience there.
Mr Nath is delighted by your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Chennai.
We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,561 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,190 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,517 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,221 reviews
Feathers A Radha Hotel
#1 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $177 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing