We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

After numerous travels to chennai in business, 6 times in one year.... This is the 3rd time I have stayed in the ITC 3 times. Third time was by far the best. The service in the hotel is exceptional. I have spent 4 weeks here and the general service and experience has been outstanding. A very special mention needs to go to Hannah and the team in the cheroot whiskey bar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate your taking the time out to write a favourable review on ITC Grand Chola and we are glad your stay experience was up to the mark. Hannah and the team at Cheroot will be thrilled to know that you remembered them.
We look forward to your next visit to the hotel and to the opportunity of serving you again.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    497
    123
    45
    33
See reviews for
380
232
89
1,603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been traveling to India in the past 34 years and stayed in several 5 star and couple of 7 star hotels in several cities not only India but also in 27 other countries for my business trips. This hotel tops the chart (in India) for sure in all aspects. This Hotel was built with best marble and other finest materials in the world. Incredible Gym and best Spa and pool. Most courteous and well trained staff in all areas of the services including the restaurants. Madras (what is called Chennai for the past few years) is not a very clean city and it is always hot and humid, but when you reach this hotel at the end of the day, you almost forget the mess and heat of the city and only this hotel can provide you with that in style. The rooms are perfect and the beds are most comfortable to get best night sleep. I have also stayed in their suites (when I was upgraded) and those rooms are out of this world with all sorts of luxury and comfort. There are several restaurants and bars with excellent choices for food and drinks. While this hotel offers an amazing stay for business travelers, the leisure travelers would benefit and enjoy even more. As always, seeing is believing and therefore, one must stay in this hotel to experience this wonderful hotel. I would give this hotel more than 5 stars in rating!

Room Tip: There might be occasional construction noise in the day time as they are trying to complete the last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetravel_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to write such a favourable and positive review. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for your generosity in describing this hotel as topping the charts in the country, we strive hard to aspire to that title and are glad that you think of it as so.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It is a Great Hotel or a Palace ?, the value for the money is wow.
The best of all is the location of the Hotel and the view from the terrace it is really awesome.
The staffs are very friendly and it has very good security in case of safety and security and it was a really a great experience
The Hotel was recommended by the Whitefield Hotel Guys and really worth it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helan_grubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted that you think of our hotel as a palace. Built as a tribute to the Chola dynasty, ITC Grand Chola is definitely a royal hotel and since we strive to make guests like you feel like visiting royalty, it makes us very happy to know we succeeded with you.

Thank you for mentioning the friendly staff and good security in your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and to the opportunity of serving you again.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Other day , we , me and my wife attended a family function .
The outer perimeter resembled a real fort., with the guards performing the guidance with royal salute. A nice environment to enjoy.
Were welcomed in the entrance with checking personnel with full of warmth.
Once inside , chennai is lost and we are in jaipur with all marble and granite.
Perfection to the maximum core, but one expect a bit more than this from ITC. ( like we expect heroics from Dhoni on every outing)
The function hall was a remarkable one.
NO ECHOS inside the hall.
Food near perfect to the originality.
Service is great except for a few very young snack tenders, who are on the learning curve.
Being a resident of chennai, alas, could not stay .
Waiting for the next opportunity to visit again for business meet or any function.

One suggestion- chennai is a place where we all enjoy to eat with hand and the nature of the food is also such.
We are forced to walk all the way to the toilet for hand wash.
Think of elderly and women folk.
Hence if a portable hand wash trolley can be provided .........



A special mention about the toilet- nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinnasamianbumalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are grateful you took the time and effort to write such a positive review of our hotel. We work hard to bring a superlative experience to all our guests and are glad you found the experience of visiting our hotel to be wonderful.
We are very proud of our pillar-less banquet hall, Rajendra and we thank you for appreciating it. We are glad you enjoyed the food at the function and have made a note of your comment about the hand-wash trolley.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future and to serving you again.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Grand Chola is a brand new hotel located within half an hour of Chennai airport. It is well suited for business travellers with efficient service, good wifi connectivity and comfortable rooms. There are many restaurant options and the Indian food is particularly good (as is the case with most ITC properties).

However, as a luxury property it falls short of the mark. The lobby is large and soul-less, the furnishings ordinary and the rooms small and not very well furnished - polyester-ish wallpaper and a wierd interplay of carpet and dark wood on the floors. The bathrooms are also strangely designed with tubs placed directly in front of the wash basins.

I stayed recently at the ITC in Hyderabad which I feel is much better - a more aesthetic lobby and significantly better and larger rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sohilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you appreciated the hotel’s appeal to business travellers and found the service to be efficient and the food to be good.
However, we regret that you found the lobby, the furnishings and the bathrooms not up to your liking and have made note of your comments.

We look forward to your next visit to the hotel and to the opportunity of serving you again.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau,
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria a Monte, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

booked only for one night as fairly near to airport during recent business trip so unable to appreciate in full. however it is a hotel studied in all its details very suitable for business trips. amazing structure but also funcional. lots of sitting spaces where you can have business meetings in peace. dined at peshawri which was excellent. however saw the other restaurants and they all seemed very good. breakfast perfect. rooms are the top. spacious and functional. ipad to do all as well as entertainment. fantastic bathroom. toilet and shower seperate. night lights which are accurately placed for moving with confort. practically it is well studied even for a person who has very little time. i presume it will be even nicer when completely finished with the shops opened etc. price well in average with the smaller five star hotels. i hope they keep the service as good as now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria1059385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Reveiwer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. While you say you were unable to appreciate the hotel in full due to time constraints, we appreciate your taking the time out to write such a favourable review. We are glad you liked the structure and the various meeting spaces and that you found the food at Peshawri to be excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the property in the near future and hope to keep wowing you every time.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupati, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I first used this hotel in Nov 2012 and stayed in there Tower Room, it was also my first experience of Hospitality of ITC group.

Though we were there for 2 nights, I had to check out after first night due to some issues with the room, and the way they handled the situation was really impressive. That put in more confidence in ITC group in my heart. (Later I also stayed at ITC Gardenia, Banglore)

I again visited them in Feb 2013, and I was taken care very well, Because of my last experience the Room was inspected, my choice of toiletry was kept, and as it was my anniversary they arranged nice bottle of Champagne, Flowers, Cake and Chocolates, It was superb.

I also had a small party in the evening at there coffee shop private dining area, which was actually a big disaster. They have to improve a lot in there attitude of there staff at there restaurant's. And again there House Keeping has to improve too.

I have to mention here, I came across some of the best Front Desk personal in my life at ITC Grand Chola (Specially Mr Aditya). But that same spirit is not carried by there Resturant and house keeping personal.

Its a great hotel, Room's are superb and huge, Bathroom's are the best. And a very easy to use IPAD interface for everything from lights, AC, TV, Meal to your Bill's and yes you can see who is on your door and open it remotely by IPAD :).

Room Tip: Don't miss out on Tower Room, Indulge your self at least once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Reveiwer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted that you thought so highly of ITC’s hospitality and we thank you for your kind comments.

We are sincerely sorry for the experience at our coffee shop not being up to the mark and would like to discuss this matter with you directly. Please share with us your personal contact details on philippe.charraudeau@itchotels.in and we will get in touch with you at the earliest.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,359 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,065 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,379 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#4 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,016 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#22 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Property: ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing