We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Nearby Hotels
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$120
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Trident, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$184
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$58
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$71
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$130
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$84
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Residency(Chennai (Madras))
$55
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$135
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,228)
Filter reviews
3,228 results
Traveler rating
2,407
583
141
53
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,407
583
141
53
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadras pavilionroyal vegapan asiantower roomgrand staircaseipad controlsresidents loungecafe mercarahigh techhuge hotelroom servicebeautiful propertyspecial mentionin room diningfilter coffeeexcellent servicespecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,998 - 3,003 of 3,228 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nothing wrong with the hotel, just a series of glitches and teething problems.
Huge, at 600+ rooms, and feels in the main areas rather soul-less
2 star probably should be 3 star, but if targeting 'luxury', this is a way short

Good:
Variety of breakfast in well-lit restaurant (Madras Pavilion)
Staff: typically excellent as ITC, although still a way to go to match ITC Park Hotel and Towers in Chennai
Room specification: liked the ipad control for lights and tv. Clean. Comfortable bed
Internet speed was fast

Not so good:
Checked in: no upgrade for platinum status (my error in part, as SPG number not given in advance), and no real recognition
Bar: shut early at 11pm, just after our arrival
Cafe Mercara: had two meals: both disappointing: tomato soup (thin, no flavour - sent it back); club sandwich (OK); mulligatawny soup (good flavour, but small size); chicken tagine (limited flavour)
Quite a way from the centre of town, especially in traffic
Two lights not working in bathroom (I didnt bother to complain on this)

Irritating
Fitness centre has good equipment but will struggle with the hotel volume. 3 running machines is an insufficient number and full on one of my two visits
Mosquitoes: several in 'the Cheroot' bar. Quite a few in the corridors, so after room makeup (and door left open) normally had to kill off a few before went to sleep
Site work. Came back to room at 11.30pm and assumed the air conditioning was just very noisy. Phoned up and asked for technicians who came within 5 minutes. Solved immediately by asking the work crew to stop drilling above my room. So quick resolution but should not have been happening

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshire444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have made a note of your comments and apologise sincerely for the incovenience caused during your stay here. While we regret that your stay experience was not up to the mark, we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you again.
In order for us to get in touch with you directly please email us your contact details at philippe.charraudeau@itchotels.in.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe Charraudeau
VP & GM, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel and I would recommend it to everyone. Many 5-star hotels could learn from ITC Grand Chola hotel on how to do the things right. Room I got was large, superclean and with a decent modern deco. It was a really nice place to come back to. Also, the hotel gives you the full power over the room with a tablet - it is really a fun to play with - having an ipad as a remote control for everything in the room is a nice insight into the hotel experience of the future.
Room service was amazing - superdelicious food and delivered promptly after a phone confirmation (I obviously used ipad to order it :)
Many comments on TA are right about the quality of service - it varies; my check in and welcome experience as well as room service were fantastic; booking the cab and check out were a bit strange (the staff at the entrance didn't know how to book a taxi and check out lady spent almost the whole time on the phone while checking me out), but these are small bits and don't change my opinion that it is a fantastic hotel; I would defintiely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bozai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted with your comments on how wonderful the hotel is and that you found everything up to the mark. We endeavour to make all our guests feel special and feel especially proud that we succeeded with you. Do give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe Charraudeau
VP & GM, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Taj group buy palaces and convert them.ITC have built a palace and manned it with courteous and efficient staff worthy of working in a palace.I spend half of every year in hotels and I have never stayed ( 5 nights so not a fluke) in a hotel that was flawless in every department. We had an experience not a stay. It was like being in a working palace. Staff operating at the highest levels of friendliness,efficiency,courtesy and everything else a palace..sorry hotel..should be.
I honestly never go on about hotels like this but when you get the creme de la creme it has to be recognised....THIS HOTEL IS FOR THE BUCKET LIST.......Truly amazing.....Try it and see ...I am not going over the top....The GM here must have divine powers to get so much out of his staff.
Breakfast...you look forward to going before you go to bed . The Indian tandorry excellent. They also have an Italian which is good but needs working on...but good food

Room Tip: Just go and stay for an experience you will never forget. 3 great fitness centres.Great pool area
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEPHUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted with your comments on how wonderful the hotel is and that you found everything up to the mark. We endeavour to make all our guests feel special and feel especially proud that we succeeded with you. Do give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe Charraudeau
VP & GM, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The building is beautiful but that's about all that is great. The service was inconsistent and the noise from the construction of the rest of their hotel was very loud and disturbing. I hope that they improve on service otherwise I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at ITC Grand Chola and are sorry that your experience was not up to the mark. In order for us to get in touch with you directly, please email us your personal contact details at philippe.charraudeau@itchotels.in.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again and look forward to your next visit.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe H Charraudeau
VP & GM, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had a lot of expectations from this hotel. However, the public areas are quite underwhelming. The drive around the property before you reach the entrance is long and appears unnecessary. There is no real sense of entry for a grand hotel and the lobby is quite unimpressive.

The rooms on the other hand are fantastic. I was upgraded to something, though I believe the specs (as compared to size) are the same for the regular rooms.

My room was exceptionally well equipped and furnished. An In-room iPad controls everything: lights, aircon, tv, room service. There are small motion sensor lights that light your way to the toilet in case you have to visit in the dark! The overall impression is great! High quality everywhere, though there are small workmanship issues (screws in the toilet door frames are open and clearly visible, gap between door frame and wall!) that really should not have been there.

The glut in the Chennai hotel scene probably means that this could be an affordable hotel for a long time! I liked the rooms and would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted that you appreciate the finer details of the hotel such as the iPad and the anti-stumble light. We are glad your stay experience was enjoyable and up to the mark. We look forward to your next visit with us and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe H Charraudeau
VP & GM, ITC Grand Chola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews