We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peshawari ITC Grand chola”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Ranked #2 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Peshawari ITC Grand chola”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very good food. I liked their Dal Bukhari. Excellent service, however the seats are very uncomfortable as they do not have a back rest. They need to do something about this. Rumali roti was awesome. Overall ambience of the hotel excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hariharankrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your valuable feedback on your meal at Peshawri and are glad that your experience was as spectacular as we endeavour to make it.

Your feedback shall certainly help us in improving our product and service standards time and again.
We look forward to your continued patronage and to delighting you always.

Wishing you a good day ahead!

Thank you once again and warm regards,

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,006
    506
    123
    45
    34
See reviews for
392
237
89
1,656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This feedback is following today's incident over booking a table at 'Peshawari' at the ITC grand chola, Chennai.

On calling the desk for the reservation to be made, I was informed that I would get a call back in a few minutes to after checking to confirm, after 45 minutes and after NO call from the hotel, I call back only to hear the staff from the other end telling me that the staff in question IS IN A MEETING!

Now, this is certainly not the response anyone would expect from a 5/7 star rated hotel, not to mention from the ITC group!

This is the second time this has happened in the span of 1 week! The sheer experience of dining at the ITC brand is ruined!

If this is the training the staff attending the phones have received, one can only imagine how horrible the other services will be!

I CERTAINLY WILL NOT RECOMMEND THE PLACE TO ANYONE!

Please take a cue from the other hotels of Taj and Marriot in Chennai (my family and friends and I have had the best experiences there)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LordKrish18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We do hope our Food & Beverage Manager was able to address your concerns with regard to your reservation call to Peshawri.

We hope to enjoy your continued patronage in the future and look forward to delighting you always.

Wishing you a good day ahead!

Thank you once again and warm regards,

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had past week a corporate meeting at ITC Grand Chola in Chennai. Our experience was definitively not at level of our expectations. Service is definitively set at a high level (even sometimes too heavy but better more than less). The rooms are full of electronic gadgets - Ipad to control lots of features and functions, which some of us may find fancy but if looking in detail can become quickly troublesome - try to switch on Ipad, locate the right function amongst 20 possibilities to switch on light as you wake up at 3.00am to go to rest room - light that switches off while taking shower and end up in total darkness because you did not select the right function ... ! I agree that all this can be seen as funny when talking about it later. Less funny - One of our colleague found a rat in her room (and a rat trap as well which tells that hotel was aware that rats were sharing the room), construction noise going on in the rooms and halls until late night or even early morning, missed pickup at airport (is troublesome when reaching Chennai at 2.00am), 1/2 hour for checkin process, cleanliness and finishing of details disputable, lack of decoration and furniture which make the ambiance in the lobby especially very cold and impersonal, no alcoholic beverages, very long and troublesome process to check out and to settle the bill - I had personally major 5 mistakes on my bill which took the hotel 4 hours to sort out. To make the story short I am visiting Chennai for business very often - During my next trips I will definitively return to the hotel where I am used to stay. Sorry to appear harsh but if ITC Grand Chola wants to promote itself as a 7 stars hotel it is a must that all details have to be at that level and staff should not rely on customer feedback to improve basic things. Robert

Room Tip: Wait for some time for hotel to improve
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and it was a pleasure talking to you over the phone regarding the same.

I look forward to meeting you in the near future.

Wishing you a good day ahead!

Thank you once again and warm regards

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heartland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Business travelers need to know this property isn't fully functional. No liquor license, lots of construction (it is minimized), 2 out of 3 pools closed, only two restaurants open, semi-open spa, kind of together exercise room, no shops for incidentals and not much in the way of decoration / art.

They are offering a great introductory rate which might be fine if you knew what you were getting. After a long flight and the desire to unwind this place is unfulfilling.

Having said that, the staff are very professional and what is open is really superb. This will be a showcase property when it is 100%.

The big question is why no disclaimer on the web site? Why put your excellent staff in the position of defending someone's bad decision not to be up-front? A little honesty goes a long way. We brought a client in from the US and they checked-out early - not good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkmdk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear mkmdk90,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on ITC Grand Chola.
We have taken cognisance of your comments and remain committed to delivering a stellar experience to our esteemed guests.

We would like to draw your kind attention to the fact that a disclaimer pertaining to the ‘opening shortly’ status, is present on the website.
While there is no excuse, you have my assurance that your current experience is not indicative of the high standards that you have come to expect from us.

We pride ourselves on delivering superlative quality of guest experience and trust we would be given another opportunity to correct your perception.

We value your continue patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Grand Chola. Do share with us your contact details so that a senior representative of the hotel may get in touch with you.
Wishing you a good day ahead!

Thank you once again and warm regards,

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The best food till date in Chennai!!! The food was awesome... particularly the prawns :) They were the best.

Besides that the Ambiance, service and overall pure Luxury!

Two things that I would like to recommend /advise are:
(1) Have a live pasta corner or in the main course for buffet dinner as I felt that was missing.
(2) Also, if you could add a Rolls counter as in simple veg/egg/meat rolls. They are the best at any given time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AReehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear AReehl,

We thank you for your valuable feedback on your meal at Madras Pavilion and are glad that your experience was as spectacular as we endeavour to make it.
Your feedback shall certainly help us in improving our product and service standards time and again.
We look forward to your continued patronage and to delighting you always.
Wishing you a good day ahead!

Thank you once again and warm regards

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

One amazing place.It feels like you are getting inside a palace.Big structures, amazing architecture with perfect mix of heritage and food tastes awesome.This is one big asset to chennai.We went to a cofee shop there as nothing else was open @ 4 in the morning, hope i have a stay there soon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank balaji g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your positive feedback and are glad that your experience at ITC Grand Chola was as excellent as we endeavour to make it. We look forward to your continued patronage and hope to keep delighting you in the future as well.

Thank you once again and warm regards,

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was officially opened for business on Sept 15, 2012 and we ( myself and 3 more friends) visited this place on sept 16th to have dinner there in their Madras Pavilion which serves a huge buffet in the dinner time. The hotel car entrance was not so grand and we were asked to take one full round of the property to reach their main grand entrance. As the hotel is still not ready in many ways ( not all the restaurants are open and they are yet to get the license to operate their bar), we were told that there was no reservation for the tables in the restaurant and it would be offered first- come first served basis. As we were there by 7:10 pm, we were informed that they would open the restuarant only by 7:30 pm.

This hotel will stun you in the first look with such a movie style grand staircase paved with shining Italian marbles! But there was nothing to do at the first floor and we also joined the crowd who thronged this property to get the first look of this splendour! As the bar was not opened, we went to Le Meridien which is close by for drinks and we returned at 8:30 pm. The restaurant was full by then and the manager took some extra ordinary steps to show us a table amidst a big crowd!

The food was excellent and I could say the same as the food in ITC Gardenia in Bangalore or in their Hotel, ITC Grand Maratha in Mumbai. Maybe, the food in all the ITC hotels taste the same! After the food, it took some time to produce the bill due to some computer glitches.

Definitely, it looks like a Grand hotel and am not sure whether it is 7 star or not ( I was also told that there was nothing like 7 star ?) but worth the visit and maybe, one of the days, I will check their rooms!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Qwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at ITC Grand Chola, Chennai, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback on your experience at ITC Grand Chola. We regret that your experience was not entirely to your satisfaction and we apologise for it.
Please share with us your contact details so that a senior management representative of our hotel can connect with you directly to get a more detailed feedback.
Thank you and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,436 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
987 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,407 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Grand Chola, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Grand Chola, Chennai

Property: ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
Address: No 63 Mount Road | Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Grand Chola, Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an opulent, palatial design which pays homage to Southern India’s grand empires, the ITC Grand Chola, Chennai overlooks verdant parks and gardens. Experience understated Indian hospitality in an exquisite property with a distinct personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Grand Chola, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing