We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably good buffet dinner in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre
Ranked #27 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Reasonably good buffet dinner in this hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited their Oasis restaurant for dinner buffet.Decor of this all day dinning restaurant is good but not very great.Buffet spread is elaborate especially in salad and desert section.The starters / Kebabs were ordinary and the main courses of non-veg section were just above average.On the whole spread of the dinner buffet was large but taste wise food was just OK.So it is not worth the price.However Hotel has nice central location and the services of the restaurant staff was really great .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmotpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    288
    66
    21
    18
See reviews for
99
44
33
492
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Was here this weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are spacious, nice and clean. The taxi drivers are not aware of this one but telling 'in egmore' helps. Also this hotel is very close to the Chennai Museum. In fact the museum is walking distance from the hotel.

Room service is quick and presentation is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

New hotel , very clean.
Rooms are well stocked for tea , cofee , mini bar. The bed is comfortable.
Toilets are reasonable size though I wish they had better quality toiletries. Though not bad.

One odd thing was the iron board. One would have to sit on the bed or chair to iron as it is to low.

The breakfast was well laid out and there was a large selection.

Would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohitoswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It wasn't the best radisson blu hotel that I've stayed but generally it was more than good. The rooms was comfortable, big and clean and the service was very good. The hotel is located in the city centre (by the way Chennai City is really beautiful) and there is 15 minutes to the airport. So the hotel is great for business trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14wf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

When staying at The Radisson Blu, you expect top service. I was very much looking forward to my stay at The Radisson Blu Chennai. When I arrived, the check in process was a disaster. The agent was extremely unfriendly and gave me no details about the hotel's features and services. Not even a have a pleasant stay or a thank you. Very bad first impression.
On my second night, the light in the closet would not go off. I called the reception alerting them on it and they sent an engineer. All the engineer did was to take a piece of newspaper and turn off the sensor. How tacky! There were some more service related issues.
I filled out the Radisson guest satisfaction survey online and then received an email from the Resident Manager, which seemed a generic response for complaints. I replied to him and till this day have not heard back.
There are so many choices in Chennai. Knowing my choices, I will avoid this hotel. Avoid you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel is a good choice for business (and other) travellers. The rooms are very clean, the bathroom too (with nice, big, clean towels), the staff is professional and polite. I asked for a quiet room and I got one (my sincere thanks to the reception!). The choice of the TV channels is good with both Hindi and English options. The room desing is nice. The breakfast is good, offering a choice of Indian and European, veg and non veg options. The wifi is included and works well.
The location is ok, next door to the Gov. Museum. Considering the size of Chennai, this (Egmore area) is not bad even if you have to be in Mylapore, Triplicane or Royapettah.
The only down side was the price of a car rental, which was far higher than any 5-star hotel I stayed in (4 times the usual marked price) and the staff was utterly surprised that I wanted a car from Chennai to Bangalore anyway.
The restaurant: Indian a la carte food should be 'more Indian' sometimes. Some items (sambar) were clearly made for Western taste with almost no spice (and no flavour). Perhaps good to ask the customer for preferences before preparing food instead of assuming something? The waiter (otherwise nice) tried to convince me to have a garlic naan (which I never take and don't like) instead of a roti because 'foreigners usually like it!'. Gosh! Also - a problem in some 5 star hotels - not many Indian veg options on the menu. But ah, there are so many other places to eat in Chennai. :-)
But all in all, a good choice for a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was exceptional except that there were a lot of mosquitoes. The staff was quick in setting up a mosquito trap which was quiet effective. However, this was the least that I expected out of a hotel. I was later spoken by the executive facilities and I was told that this issue was something that is hovering around Chennai. Had some other friends staying in Taj Connemera and they had a similar complain.

I recently received an email too stating that the issue has been resolved. Will check during my next stay here. Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,651 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#18 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,220 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#19 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ramada Chennai Egmore
#34 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
864 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#16 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
287 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre
Address: #2 Ethiraj Salai C - In - C Road, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Egmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing