We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mouthwatering food and amazing hospitality..”
Review of Up North

Up North
Reserve a Table
eazydiner
Ranked #18 of 7,111 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 13, 2018

Had come for dinner with wife and daughter.It was really a great service and restaurant in chennai to have north food. And menu has wide varity of dishes. Especial thanx to Mr. Arpit singh who was taking care of our table and the way he explained the menu is amazing n recomended us for starter followed by main course murgh puran singh and garlic naan and dessert The food was really awesome . And thanx to floor manager mr pankaj suman for his kindness to arrange cake for my daughter's bday. Really the staff is very professional and helpful for their guest.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank umedy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

I finally had a chance to visit Up North. The restaurant has recently revamped its menu and the Chef, who hails from the land of Punjab, has brought recipes dishes from the kitchens of the state. I would call this one of the places where we get authentic Punjabi khana.

Ambience

If you want to escape the city life, here's where you should be. Dim lighting, Punjabi music, excellent service, fresh air and delicious food- the experience is a much needed get away from the hectic life.

Food

Drink

Lassi—The Punjabi lassi is yogurt mixed with sugar, and topped with a thin layer of cream on top of which pistachios, almonds and saffron are added.   

Soup 

Mutton da Shorba - The Shorba is a thick soup made by simmering the meat stock with spices. The history of Shorba dates back to the ancient times, especially during the period of the Persians and the Eurasians. People call it by different names-Shorba, Chorba or Shorwa in different parts. The soup is said to keep you warm.
The Shorba at the restaurant was thick and flavored with mutton stock and sices. What surprised me was the cutest presentation where a Lahori Seekh was placed on top on the soup bowl.

Starter

Jalebi Chaat—Chaat usually has chutneys (mint, chili, imli/ tamarind) that are meant to increase the appetite and this what the dish did to me. I had no idea what came to my table the minute I looked at it. I saw a jelebi mounted on a stack of small boondhis (gram flour fried in oil). The boondhis were mixed with the chutneys and tomatoes. It was a definitely a hit with the burst of flavors that you experience.

Bhel in a Canape—This dish was an interesting combination. The Bhel Puri which is made from a mix of rice puffs, tomatoes and chutneys. The bhel mix is placed in a canape and topped with thick curd. The mix of textures tease your senses and make you want to eat more.

Curd ball topped with Sago—This was a very interesting dish. You see a white ball topped ith sago pearls. The ball bursts in your mouth releasing the curd. Definitely an experience you should try. Also rolling the ball onto your spoon without breaking it is a task. ;)

Amristari Machi—The Amristari machi is a famous snack in the land of Punjab where there are many rivers which act a source of the fish in the region. The fish is marinated overnight in spices that are dry roasted. The fish is later dipped into a batter made of rice and gram four and fried twice in the oil. The fish is exceptional and is a must order dish.  

Tandoor and Robota Grill

Mahi Tikka—Huge pieces of fish are marinated in spices and this time grilled in a tandoor oven. I would say grilling a fish in the tandoor oven is an art because the grill is extremely hot and fish is a meat that cooks extremely fast and breaks or burns if you over cook it. This fish was grilled to perfection and tastes amazing.

Murgh Tikka Khandhari—Chicken tikka is everyone's famous dish, but this one uses pomegranate juice alone with spices for marinade. The tikka is topped with pomegranates and thinly sliced vegetable salad. I would advise you to take a bit with the chicken, pomegranate, salad and the chutneys.

Lahori Seekh—Seekh kebab literally means kebab on a skewer. Minced lamb meat is mixed with spices, shaped on a skewer and grilled in a tandoor. The lamb is soft, juicy and delicious.

Curry and Lentil

Moghawalli Machi Methiwalli—Tangy fish curry cooked with basa fish, dried tamarind, tomato pure, yogurt and fenugreek leaves. This is a thick and reduced curry. Tastes different from all that I have had.  

Saagwala meat—I am someone who runs away in the opposite direction if it's green leafy vegetables. But this lamb cooked with spinach, spices and fenugreek leaves is a brilliant way of eating our proteins and vitamins. Such a healthy dish with meat. Would we say no?  

Dal Mahkani—I would call this slow cooked dal, "The King of Dals". And eating it from a Punjabi Chef was even special. one of the best dal makhanis in the city. This dish invented by Kundan Lal Gujral  and became a hit after the partition. Comfort food in a bowl that melts in your mouth.

Narang pulao—First time I'm eating orange scented rice with chicken. Sounds like a weird combination right? But surprisingly this tastes nice especially with all the curries. When you take a bite, obviously the smell of orange hits your nose, then you bite into the rice with a punch from the citrus and then comes the soft boiled chicken.

Warqi Paratha—History states that Warqi paratha was a part of Awadhi Cuisines and traces back to the kitchens of Nawabs in Lucknow. The layered paratha is made with wheat flour, ghee, carom seeds and salt. Very soft and goes well with the curries or pickles.

Bharme Kulcha Amristari—This is my personal favorite. Paratha stuffed with paneer,  methi, topped with carom seeds and is cooked in a tawa with a lot of ghee. Loved it! It tasted so good that I ate it without the curries.

Desserts

Phirni—This creamy dessert is made from ground rice, milk, cardamom powder and sugar and is flavoured with saffron. This is garnished with saffron, chopped almonds and pistachios. Again a comfort food in a bowl, but this time a dessert!

Moong Dal Halwa—Halwa in found in different types in different countries. India has created a variety of Halwas throughout the country with the local ingredients. The moong dal halwa (which supposedly takes a long time to cook) is made with moong dal, sugar, ghee, cardamom and khoya. I wish I had space to eat more of this. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank nithyalakshmisundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

Amazing hospitality, loved the service. The way the staff explained the menu was amazing. Special thanks to Arpit for his kindness and special treatment. I would definitely recommend it to my friends and will be visiting again in near future.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Himankshi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

candel light dinner !!

we went to upnorth and the time in upnorth was owsm with the team n chefs . They are very kind n helpful . i njyed my dinner date special thanks to Mr.Arpit and Mr.surya thnku fr your service .the dish murg beliram was really great..thnk u again for dis awsm experience..

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Doonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Had an excellent dinneer on our wedding anniversary. Great service and the staffs are very courteous. Rooftop, candlelight, awesome service... couldn't have asked for anything better.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Nim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up North also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Up North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing