We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not there yet”
Review of Up North

Up North
Ranked #28 of 6,730 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The ambience is brilliant, on the terrace of the Rain Tree Hotel. They offer Punjabi cuisine in a lovely setting. The garden and views all around are splendid and make it an ideal setting for a lovely dinner. But, wait a minute. The food is mediocre. We ordered the Kabab Platter and except for the Prawns all else was pretty ordinary. The Nalli Mutton curry was good but the Punjabi Potato gravy and the Indian bread were below standard. The kulfi in this place was a revelation.
Service – poorly trained waiters roam around like zombies and don’t bother to check on the tables. All of them are huddled at their work station most of the time and it is difficult to catch their attention. Most of them are trainees and don’t understand and some of them spoke very little English and no Tamil. Also we picked up three kinds of music, one was the Punjabi Bangra music from the restaurant, the second was from the Bar/lounge just above the restaurant and the third was from the neighbourhood. This strange musical concoction will give anyone a head ache. Also when the guests at the Bar just above use their mobiles it can be quite irritating. To sum it all up, this place is lovely, noisy and in the hands of ill trained personnel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Up North, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Sagar,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results.

However, I was taken back by your experience at Up North. Up north is one of the best restaurant in the city and know for its best dining experiences. I shall look into this personally and assure that upon your next visit we exceed your expectations.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

In-case you feel like sharing your experience with me, please write me at fnb.annasalai@raintreehotels.com.

It will be great to hear from you.

Warm Regards

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited up north with my mate day before yesterday. The ambiance was brilliant and one could see a good view of Chennai as this is open air restaurant situated at the top of the hotel. We chose a
Good corner to sit. Immediately, we were served by a couple of people. One of them suggested we eat a veg platter that would be enough for two people. So, we asked for that and a couple of beers. The food arrived in 15 minutes. The platter not only looked yummy but Tasted delicious. The paneer and kebabs were juicy and tender. We could not eat dinner because we had to visit our friends at Madeira.
We would definitely make it to up north soon and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pritish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Up North, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!


Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are very pleased to learn that you had a generally enjoyable dining experience with us at Up North .Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Very good punjabi food in town, ambiance is very good, their roof top restaurant is nice, also they have indoor air conditioned seating. Found the food little greasy but that's fine you don't eat there every day and won't be able to afford it anyway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Up North, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results.

However I was taken back by your experience at Up North, I shall look into this personally and assure that upon your next visit we exceed your expectations.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

In-case you feel like sharing your experience, please feel free to write me @ fnb.annasalai@raintreehotels.com

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's a very good place I have been to after a while. The food is very good and so is the service. If you are lucky enough to get a table in the corner then you get the scenic view of the city aswell. The only setback would be the bar above it where the music is pretty loud which distracts you often. Must go if you love north Indian cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rishabdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Up North, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!

We appreciate & thank you for taking time to share you review with us regarding your recent dining at Up North.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed food & beverage service & apologize for the concerns you have about the loud music at Up North, which I will discuss with the team and monitor it on the personal ground. In-case you feel like sharing your experience, please do share with me. It will also help me to improve upon our services.

Once again, we appreciate the feedback which I will use to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations.


Thanks & Regards

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

it was one of my best food i had n services from the upnorth team. and its best for its ambience n place were v sat in the corner table city view one . It was my unforgettable dinning v had when i came down to chennai n in the end how can i forget about the food it was awesome food there served as well as well suggestion there gave me to order food i wish alll the team alll the best keep going on .........cheers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reddy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Up North, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Mr. Reddy,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up North also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Up North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing