We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience”
Review of Up North

Up North
Ranked #76 of 6,632 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“amazing experience”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

after travelling for 23 hours i had no energy to cook so i went to this restaurant called UP NORTH. did order signature dish (nalli wala meat) it comes with kulcha (an indian flavoured bread). the meat was so tender that i can still feel it in my mouth after a week. he reminded me the best indian flavour i have ever tasted. the owner (chef chahal) and manager jagdish both are quite attentive and manages beautifully . i was greeted and welcomed in a very royal way, asked for water and my order. within few minutes every thing was lying over my table. i enjoyed every bit of it. every corner of this restaurant is bit fascinated and staff is quite warm and friendly.

i recommend to every individual in this world and to every member of the site to visit this restaurant (if you are in india) and experience the devine flavour of india and chef chahal.

thank you so much jagdish and chef chahal again.!!!! i will see you guys during my next trip to india.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vaibhav_singh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Up North, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Vaibhav,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I love their butter chicken. They serve their nan straight out of the oven. Very attentive service from the waiters.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Up North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sunnyvale,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

“Asli Punjabi Tadka!”
UP NORTH is a gourmet's delight! The quality of food is excellent and so is the service. And yeah, the portions are very generous too and that makes it a good value for money meal. the MURGH KANDHARI starter was one of the most tender I have ever tastiest and the best part was the “BLACK DAL” full of flavours, kudos to chef chahal well presented food with good service is worth paying for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Up North, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Charles,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretentious and a bit pushy.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

While there's no doubt that the server thought that everything at this place was exceptional, I found it to be just okay, from the naan to the appetizers to the mains. Given that it's pricey, I was disappointed. While the server kept telling us that "our dishes are authentic, and people come from all over for our authentic dishes" I wasn't particularly impressed.

The restaurant is lovely, and the location with a view across Chennai is exceptional. Go for the ambience and the view.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Up North, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results.

However I was taken back by your experience at Up North, I shall look into this personally and assure that upon your next visit we exceed your expectations.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep Prasad

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb end to a superb day”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to just chill out at the end of a very successful day and decided to go here as it was a rooftop view of Chennai... We loved it. The service could not have been better.. totally flexible about what we drank as we only wanted one glass of red wine not a bottle... and we had great giant prawns.. delicious and the waiter was totally attentive. picking my bags up off the floor and asking when we might want something else... we loved it there and Punjabi music what could be better... this hotel has really got the service right...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueSpencerKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Up North, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up North also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Up North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing