We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretentious and a bit pushy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Up North

Up North
Ranked #71 of 6,613 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretentious and a bit pushy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

While there's no doubt that the server thought that everything at this place was exceptional, I found it to be just okay, from the naan to the appetizers to the mains. Given that it's pricey, I was disappointed. While the server kept telling us that "our dishes are authentic, and people come from all over for our authentic dishes" I wasn't particularly impressed.

The restaurant is lovely, and the location with a view across Chennai is exceptional. Go for the ambience and the view.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Up North, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results.

However I was taken back by your experience at Up North, I shall look into this personally and assure that upon your next visit we exceed your expectations.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep Prasad

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb end to a superb day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to just chill out at the end of a very successful day and decided to go here as it was a rooftop view of Chennai... We loved it. The service could not have been better.. totally flexible about what we drank as we only wanted one glass of red wine not a bottle... and we had great giant prawns.. delicious and the waiter was totally attentive. picking my bags up off the floor and asking when we might want something else... we loved it there and Punjabi music what could be better... this hotel has really got the service right...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueSpencerKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Up North, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
286 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Delicious punjabi cuisine and great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

In sultry Chennai, any place that is well above the street cacophony and which has a lovely breeze wins my votes! Up North is a roof top restaurant in Raintree Mount Road. We have visited it several times with friends and this last visit was with family.

The food is exceptional. Their selections are smartly limited but each dish is perfectly executed. I would highly recommend their starters. There is a Lawrence Road mutton starter which is quite amazing and my favourite.

It will cost approximately Rs 1000 per person without drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GitaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Up North, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Ma'am, Vanakkam!!! Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your Evening at UpNorth and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai. Best Regards . Piyush Tyagi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good ambiance, lovely dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had an early dinner Up North and the staff seated us promptly. The staff suggested something on the menu and we were also able to order dishes outside the menu. They are very attentive and always available. The restaurant is on the rooftop of Raintree hotel and we have the view of Chennai skyline and noise of bustling Anna Salai traffic.

The food was delicious, although I think it caters to tourist palette.
Overall, we had a pleasant experience. Go early to get a better seat and view.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnhyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
649 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good north indian food and a pleasant ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Up North is the place for if you are looking for wholesome Punjabi food. The service is efficient and ambience relaxing.

The Tandoori dishes are served straight out of the oven and would recommend their breads with kebabs and Dhal. Havent tried their desserts so unable to comment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fivestarholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up North also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Up North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing