We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not appeal to all my 5 senses”
Review of 5 Senses - CLOSED

5 Senses
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Did not appeal to all my 5 senses”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went here with a lot of expectations but I was disappointed. Thew place is big and is on the 4th floor. The food is just average at best. The service should be better for the pricing. the food comes to the table at its own sweet time. There are many restaurants just close by which will give your moneys worth.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oppraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Not as great as we were led to believe”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We heard so much about this place, which is not so close to home. When we finally went there, the experience was less than memorable. The ambiance was nothing to write home about and only two other tables were occupied at lunch time on a Sunday.

The menu is nice -- it incorporates an interesting account of travels in the areas where the food on the menu originated.

There was one Vegetarian and one Non Vegetarian Soup on the ,menu. We had the shrimp and basa, red curry avgolemono, with fresh shrimp, basa and a hint of lemon, was really good. However, the Chef's Choice Sampler" which incorporated all the non vegetarian starters was average, (only the Lamb Souvlaki was good).

Some renovation was going on and the bar was closed.

We probably will not take the trouble of driving out there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yesuthasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Avoidable”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went with great expectations... thoroughly disappointed... right from the mocktails to the main course and to top it all a big fat bill. Kryptos is a much better option

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaitriWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dining experience @ 5 Senses”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Every single dining experience at 5 senses has been unique and varied. The ambiance is great, the food is very good - well prepared and well served - and the service is pleasant.

At times delightful, at times indulging, and all-time relaxing, 5 senses is a great place to unwind, rewind, connect or catch-up.

And for the price-conscious, well, not all great things come cheap. For the deserving, the price that you pay for a dining session at 5 senses is worth spending.

For the culinary-curious, this place could well be an exciting workshop of culinary craft work. EXOTIC is the word for the subtle flavors and the delicious dishes served here.

Go pamper your taste buds at 5 senses. It truly is a sensational experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShruthiKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I usually go to 5 Senses for Sunday Brunch because it's not as busy as it usually is during afternoons/evenings on weekends.

I go here for a change of ambiance as here, I forget that I'm in Chennai. :)

Comfortable seats (for me), bread basket and mint water can already make me feel full. Their portions are so-so, you don't come here for portions but for the flavor.

As what Shankycool said, it is an explosion of exotic tastes and flavors!

I can't get enough of their seafood varieties most specially their Norwegian grilled salmon with wasabi aioli and coriander mash!

Have yet to try their weekday lunch buffet though....

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Senses also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing