We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avg accommodation near chennai airport”
Review of Mahalaya Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mahalaya Residency
Ranked #196 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    30
    11
    12
See reviews for
24
20
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ranchi, Jharkhand, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have booked Flight + Hotel for travel and stay at Chennai from 18th july to 20th july through Make My Trip. On 19th night I asked the reception about the payment. He asked me as to when I am leaving to which I said on 20th evening at 7PM as my flight was at 9.50 PM. On 20th July while I was checking out I was told to pay a day's tariff. This I feel was quite disturbing because I had already paid to Make My Trip and had paid whatever the charges they had given.

To this I raised a complaint with Make My Trip (ID No. 130720-029008). The reply from Make My Trip was " We would like to inform you that as per confirmation received from hotelier Suresh, you have checked-in at the hotel on 18th July 2013 at 9.00 AM and check-out time for your booking was supposed to be on 20th July 2013 at 9.00 AM; however, you have checked-out at 7.00 PM on 20th July 2013 so that the hotel has charged extra one day tariff from you".

Isn't it ridiculous because I have booked the flight + Hotel and as per the schedule, the flight reaches Chennai at 8.40 Hrs and leaves chennai at 23.50 hrs. Now if the check in and check out time was 12 PM where the passenger would stay before 12 PM, while going to Chennai, and after 12 PM while leaving?

Moreover how the reception desk told all paid status the earlier day even after knowing the departure schedule?

Room Tip: Avail Make My trip if you want to spoil your trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaushikkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baroda
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Its very nice hotel to stay. Its business kind of hotel staff are very co-operative. they have inhouse pub. and most important is very near to airport. they give pick and drop facility from air port.
really such nice place to stay.

Room Tip: pre booking is necessary in pick season
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shashi_hus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

this hotel is one of the most horrible places I ever stayed in my life.. 1st of all the smell of the hotel is very bad, the room is big but not much clean, the staff scary , Chennai in general is a horrible city.. I will never visit it again in my life...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muayad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Dear Friends, I would never recommend this hotel to any one.
I checked in the hotel on 4th march evening and checked out on 6th morning. I had a package deal with make my trip.
Make my trip gave me a transit room, or hotel is only having a transit room, which was not at all mentioned at the time of booking by make my trip. Even the hotel didn't intimated me at the time of check in. At the time of check out, i got stuck at the reception bacause hotel was after me to pay 1000 more because i had a transit room. I was keep telling them that it was a package deal which comes with a flight and i already paid complete amount but they didn't listed and i had to pay extra. So i will suggest not opt for such kind of hotels.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel for the amount you have to pay at the time of check out, even booking as a pack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Bobby93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kensington, md
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 2:30 a.m. Because we had read other reviews, we did not bother asking for them to pick us up and took a taxi. When we got there, they refused to honor the reservation we booked through Kayak. They stated that the price we paid was too low and that we did not book their "superior room" as Kayak stated. The desk clerk refused to call the hotel manager so we had to call the POLICE to get some help. Finally, they gave us a room at 4:30 in the morning. When we left at 8:00 a.m., the manager had still not arrived and we had a repeat of the night before. They would not let us leave the hotel unless we paid the rate that they decided for us, not Kayak. We ended up paying it just so we could leave and then called Kayak for a refund. Unfortunately, we paid much more than what the room was worth.

Another thing, if you stay in an Indian hotel, they love to use moth balls for aromatherapy. Every drawer, crevice and closet was filled with the sweet smell of moth balls.

Finally, the hotel is NOT quiet. It is located near a temple and like all temples in India, they like everyone to wake up when then wake up.

If you want to be near the airport and don't need sleep, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

For the money, this is a good option for a hotel if you want to stay close to the airport. It's very close to the airport--probably a 5 or 10 minute drive. The other hotel we stayed at, only 10km away from the airport, took us 80 minutes to get to because of he traffic. This hotel is clean, though not particularly nice. I wouldn't stay here if you're looking for a very nice hotel or planning on staying awhile and looking for a nice hotel environment. But it's not too expensive and decent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgustaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
3.6 mi away
Saibala Grand
Saibala Grand
#94 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
69 reviews
3.8 mi away
NK Grand Park Hotel
NK Grand Park Hotel
#66 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
54 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#68 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Parkway
#1 of 2 in Tambaram
4 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kalyan Hometel, Vandalur - Chennai
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mars Deluxe
Hotel Mars Deluxe
#148 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahalaya Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahalaya Residency

Property: Mahalaya Residency
Address: No 114 Mahalaya Residency Gst Road | Pallavaram, Chennai (Madras) 600043, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahalaya Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mahalaya Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing