We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but too much stress!”
Review of Mahalaya Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mahalaya Residency
Ranked #119 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Despite that we had a voucher from Cleartrip, we called to reconfirm our coming and it was fine. When we arrived, no issue during the check-in.
The dinner was a mess as many local people were there to watch tv and we couldn't have a table for a long time and service was long. SInce we had to take a early flight, we were just upset to wait. And during the check-out at 6 am, we were asked for the email confirmation of booking.
We didn't have it anymore and it created a big stress for us. We had a great peaceful tour in south india but this last night brought back all our stress! There is a poor management at the desk and also restaurant which should give priority to the guests.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Charles Henri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 100 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed there on transit on 3rd Feb .Quite near to International airport and they have complimentary pick up and drop in facility to airport.Have started this facility recently after they have hiked their tariff.Small hotel.Good neat and clean rooms with freshly laundered Linens.Bathrooms are large and clean.Serve good food but you must ask for less spicy food if you don't like spicy food.Attendants can converse in Hindi too which is quite rare.A plus point.Front desk people are helpful but they may keep you waiting if they are busy in personal phone calls which are quite frequent.Complimentary Wi-Fi is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sivaprasadTalcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

the usp of this hotel is proximity to airport... we booked through makemytrip\ and found rooms ok, clean.. if you want to explore chennai then the hotel is not good as it is very far from any thing to see.. but if you just want to stay for a night or transit then its good... staff is cooperative.. rooms are nice, washrooms are clean, food is ok... we reached at night by air and had our further flight next day morning, so location was just too good in respect to that

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hotel on expedia.com and finished with boking a transition room. At arrival at hotel we have to pay extra for staying ower night. hotel has excelent position near airport, and also hotel taksi to airport. We were leaving early in the morning and hotel driver drop us to airport. Five minutes drive. Food is ok, rooms also. Nothing special. Good for one night stay if you have early morning flight. Hotel is over-priced.

Room Tip: Good for stay overnight if you have early morning flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 178Ales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived late at night and was greeted by the hotel shuttle, which was much appreciated. They also sent us to the airport early the next morning. All in all, the charge was r 500 which is pretty expensive given how close the hotel is (takes less than10mins). Location and shuttle service are the only good things worth mentioning.

The rest is downhill. No hot water (heater was there but it didnt work even after staff tried to help) , place looks shabby, room is rundown (look at the sheets with holes and you will know), furniture is old.

Because we were only there for a short transit, it was bearable but if you got more time, find a better place. The price we paid was around 3100 which I seriously think is not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We didn't actually check-in to this hotel after an unfriendly encounter with the reception staff.

We had booked this hotel for one night through Expedia, but on arrival were told that we had only paid a transit rate and would have to pay an additional amount to stay overnight. This may have been Expedia's error.

As the staff at reception were quite abrupt and the hotel was a in a dingy location on GST road we decided not to check in and moved to another hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Amol D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
0.4 mi away
Saibala Grand
Saibala Grand
#108 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVNB Towers Hotel
AVNB Towers Hotel
#296 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
NK Grand Park Hotel
NK Grand Park Hotel
#68 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#84 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
88 reviews
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Parkway
#1 of 2 in Tambaram
6 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Tiara
Grand Tiara
#129 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahalaya Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahalaya Residency

Address: No 114 Mahalaya Residency Gst Road | Pallavaram, Chennai (Madras) 600043, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $38 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahalaya Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mahalaya Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing