We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice if you have to stay overnight for flight”
Review of Mahalaya Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mahalaya Residency
Ranked #143 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bhopal
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“good choice if you have to stay overnight for flight”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

the usp of this hotel is proximity to airport... we booked through makemytrip\ and found rooms ok, clean.. if you want to explore chennai then the hotel is not good as it is very far from any thing to see.. but if you just want to stay for a night or transit then its good... staff is cooperative.. rooms are nice, washrooms are clean, food is ok... we reached at night by air and had our further flight next day morning, so location was just too good in respect to that

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    29
    10
    12
See reviews for
23
20
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hotel on expedia.com and finished with boking a transition room. At arrival at hotel we have to pay extra for staying ower night. hotel has excelent position near airport, and also hotel taksi to airport. We were leaving early in the morning and hotel driver drop us to airport. Five minutes drive. Food is ok, rooms also. Nothing special. Good for one night stay if you have early morning flight. Hotel is over-priced.

Room Tip: Good for stay overnight if you have early morning flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 178Ales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived late at night and was greeted by the hotel shuttle, which was much appreciated. They also sent us to the airport early the next morning. All in all, the charge was r 500 which is pretty expensive given how close the hotel is (takes less than10mins). Location and shuttle service are the only good things worth mentioning.

The rest is downhill. No hot water (heater was there but it didnt work even after staff tried to help) , place looks shabby, room is rundown (look at the sheets with holes and you will know), furniture is old.

Because we were only there for a short transit, it was bearable but if you got more time, find a better place. The price we paid was around 3100 which I seriously think is not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We didn't actually check-in to this hotel after an unfriendly encounter with the reception staff.

We had booked this hotel for one night through Expedia, but on arrival were told that we had only paid a transit rate and would have to pay an additional amount to stay overnight. This may have been Expedia's error.

As the staff at reception were quite abrupt and the hotel was a in a dingy location on GST road we decided not to check in and moved to another hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel location was good and services were ok, though over-priced. I am sure you can get similar hotel around for less money. The shock came however when we were checking out. The staff said the hotel bed-sheet was stained and we had to pay for the bed-sheet. They demanded 1000 Rs (20 USD) for the bed-sheet. I think this was easily 3-4 times the actual cost of the bedsheet. I am sure they would just clean the bed-sheet and use it and pocket the money. Already late for the flight, we didn't have much time to argue. I don't know why they just jump at any chance to rip off guests. Its not a lot of money, but surely leaves you feeling cheated and bitter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Location of the Hotel is it's USP. Its very close to the Airport. The Hotel is very good for the budget. Good cooperative staff & mangement.
I dont understand why people complain about the services. We cant expect 5* service from this budget Hotel. If you want such service pls book a 5* Hotel.

The service that these guys give is above what is expected from such Budget Hotels.

Would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
3.6 mi away
Saibala Grand
Saibala Grand
#91 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#71 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mount Manor
The Mount Manor
#221 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mars Deluxe
Hotel Mars Deluxe
#249 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
3.4 mi away
Raaj Residency
Raaj Residency
#152 of 374 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahalaya Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahalaya Residency

Property: Mahalaya Residency
Address: No 114 Mahalaya Residency Gst Road | Pallavaram, Chennai (Madras) 600043, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahalaya Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mahalaya Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing