We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greek style Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kryptos Vegetarian - CLOSED

Kryptos Vegetarian
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: Greek, Indian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Greek for "Hidden", Kryptos, is a treasured jewel tucked away in the cellar of the Yafa building on Khader Nawaz Khan road. With its bright decor and sculptured stone clad walls, Kryptos is an explosion of delight where diners can sample some of the best vegetarian cuisine Chennai has to offer. The cuisine at Kryptos Vegetarian builds upon the reputation enjoyed by Kryptos, in the past, as a fully fledged Greek restaurant, to bring a change into the world of vegetarian cooking, that complements the life style and dining habits of today's discerning clients. Complementing our Greek vegetarian fare are a range of dishes drawing from the world of Indian, Mexican and Chinese foods, plus offering a range of divine desserts and cooling beverages.Kryptos Vegetarian offers the only iced salad counter in Chennai's restaurant scene and one that has justifiably earned the loyalty and love of our diners. With a selection of fresh salads, fruits, vegetables, cheese and fresh breads, the salad counter is great for a meal in itself or as an accompaniment to any of the wide range of dishes that we offer to devour. Our menu includes dishes inspired from around the world, such as Mexican vegetarian Burritos and Enchiladas, Chinese Manchurian and Crispy Tofu, Vegetarian Moussaka, Indian PaneerKofta, Hara Bara Kebabs and Channa Masala, Beetroot and Beans burger and thin crust pizzas, amongst a range of platters to share. Finish your meal with a Baklava, our renowned eggless Tiramisu, Hot Chocolate Puffs dripping in chocolate sauce, sugar-free Carrot Kheer or just ask for a Greek coffee or a steaming masala tea! Whether you are looking for a chic restaurant to take your intimate date or as a family gathering around our renowned center stone table, Kryptos Vegetarian offers something for everyone all under one happy roof. We hope to be part of your extended family where we will be honored to serve you and share the happiness that great food brings.
Kerala
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Greek style Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you feel like eating Greek in Chennai I would recomend Kryptos on Khader Navas Road. There is an excellent Chinese place on the opposite side of the road as well as quite a few other good eating places on the same road.
They serve excellent variety of salads. They are so good you could make a meal of just salads.
The food is cooked fresh so you may have to wait a bit before your order is served but they provide little tit bits to nibble and the wait is worth while because the food is tasty and well cooked.The grape leaves weren't the best but the filling was good.
The drinks were expensive but then it is in most places in Chennai. Alcohol is not served.A lunch could cost upto about Rs 1,000/- per person

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MACKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Public Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us at Kryptos. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectation and we are extremely delighted that we were able to make you happy. Thank you for your kind words about our salad bar. We are the only restaurant in Chennai with a iced salad counter.I would also recommend one of our sister restaurants, Burgundy’s, which is on MRC Nagar (an all day dining restaurant that has an extensive buffet from Wednesday- Sunday) and Tuscana (one branch on KNK road, Nungambakkam, and one on Chamiers Road, Nandanam). Thank you for taking out the time and reviewing us. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future and wishing you a wonderful day.

Warm Regards,
Maithri Palicha
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    58
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
200 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Heavy meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Was wanting to visit the place for a long time finally the time came to visit the joint. Badly laid parking area, went down the steps to the basement to a warm welcome into the well laid out restaurant.
Probably we are one week from the restaurant going all veggie, had the opportunity to enjoy the food. My frined who is a veggie, hence he couldnt help me much with the dish that i could order for the main course. Being a cheese lover placed an order for the Chicken cheese kababs and end of the meal was feeling very heavy. Quantity was perfect.
They offer free serving of salad if you order a main course, so one can feast on that too.
Service was friendly, ambiance was perfect

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Srbezawada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Public Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Kryptos. We do however apologize for the bad parking experience. The parking lot was being renovated when you dined with us and is finished and polished now. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectation and we are extremely delighted that we were able to make you happy. I too love cheese and whenever I visit Kryptos I recommend you to the cheese pastries that we serve, it is just delicious. Thank you for taking out the time and reviewing us. Hope to keep your taste buds tickling with our food. Have a great day!

Warm Regards
Maithri Palicha
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Was referred by a friend, and was not disappointed, though having lived in the Mediterranean region for over a decade it is natural that I can't give it a full thumbs up on the food. Spread was good, the cooking near authentic, and service fab. If they can get a license it would augur better, for this food goes with liquor. Will I visit again - 'Yes'.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krishnan Iyer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Public Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your time here at Kryptos. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectation and we are extremely delighted that we were able to make you happy. We will definitely take in your advice into consideration and do our best to work on it. We do however still have some of the Greek non-vegetarian options available at our sister restaurants, Burgundy’s which is on MRC Nagar (an all day dining restaurant that has an extensive buffet from Wednesday- Sunday) and Tuscana (one branch on KNK road, Nungambakkam, and one on Chamiers Road, Nandanam). Thank you for taking out the time and reviewing us. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future and wishing you a wonderful day.

Warm Regards
Maithri Palicha
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great salad buffet lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

if you would like to try Mediterranean food...this is the place...the buffet isnt too expensive. they serve great salads with generous portions of hummus(my fav)...if you ever go there a must try is their moussaka....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rohinikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Public Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at Kryptos. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectation and we are extremely delighted that we were able to make you happy. Being a foodie I too love Hummus, it is my comfort food. Thank you for your kind words about our salad bar. We are the only restaurant in Chennai with an iced salad counter I recommend that you try one of our sister restaurants Burgundy’s, which is on MRC Nagar (an all day dining restaurant that has an extensive buffet from Wednesday- Sunday) and Tuscana (one branch on KNK road, Nungambakkam, and one on Chamiers Road, Nandanam). Thank you for taking out the time and reviewing us. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future and wishing you a wonderful day.

Warm Regards
Maithri Palicha
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, ambiance and amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We've been going to Kryptos ever since it opened in 2010 and continue to go till today! The best Greek food in town. A definite must-try restaurant. This week, we ordered a chicken kabab, lamb in grape leaves and an awesome moist cake with chocolate sauce. Always best served by the Host Mr.Vignesh! Great service by him continues till today. Good ambiance and impressive interiors :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hbo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Public Relations Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us at Kryptos. We strive to exceed our diner’s expectation and we are extremely delighted that we were able to make you happy. Recently Kryptos was converted to a global cuisine Vegetarian restaurant, but we still retain our Greek influence with our heavily Mediterranean menu. We do however still have some of the Greek non-vegetarian options available at our sister restaurants, Burgundy’s which is on MRC Nagar (an all day dining restaurant that has an extensive buffet from Wednesday- Sunday) and Tuscana (one branch on KNK road, Nungambakkam, and one on Chamiers Road, Nandanam). Thank you for taking out the time and reviewing us. Hope to serve you again soon. Have a great day!

Warm Regards,
Maithri Palicha
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kryptos Vegetarian also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing