We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best salad bar in town!”
Review of Kryptos Vegetarian - CLOSED

Kryptos Vegetarian
Price range: $7 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Greek for "Hidden", Kryptos, is a treasured jewel tucked away in the cellar of the Yafa building on Khader Nawaz Khan road. With its bright decor and sculptured stone clad walls, Kryptos is an explosion of delight where diners can sample some of the best vegetarian cuisine Chennai has to offer. The cuisine at Kryptos Vegetarian builds upon the reputation enjoyed by Kryptos, in the past, as a fully fledged Greek restaurant, to bring a change into the world of vegetarian cooking, that complements the life style and dining habits of today's discerning clients. Complementing our Greek vegetarian fare are a range of dishes drawing from the world of Indian, Mexican and Chinese foods, plus offering a range of divine desserts and cooling beverages.Kryptos Vegetarian offers the only iced salad counter in Chennai's restaurant scene and one that has justifiably earned the loyalty and love of our diners. With a selection of fresh salads, fruits, vegetables, cheese and fresh breads, the salad counter is great for a meal in itself or as an accompaniment to any of the wide range of dishes that we offer to devour. Our menu includes dishes inspired from around the world, such as Mexican vegetarian Burritos and Enchiladas, Chinese Manchurian and Crispy Tofu, Vegetarian Moussaka, Indian PaneerKofta, Hara Bara Kebabs and Channa Masala, Beetroot and Beans burger and thin crust pizzas, amongst a range of platters to share. Finish your meal with a Baklava, our renowned eggless Tiramisu, Hot Chocolate Puffs dripping in chocolate sauce, sugar-free Carrot Kheer or just ask for a Greek coffee or a steaming masala tea! Whether you are looking for a chic restaurant to take your intimate date or as a family gathering around our renowned center stone table, Kryptos Vegetarian offers something for everyone all under one happy roof. We hope to be part of your extended family where we will be honored to serve you and share the happiness that great food brings.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best salad bar in town!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

For those who love their salads, this is the best place to visit in town. Fresh, delicious and a wide variety of salads. They also have a mini mains buffet now which complements the salads very nicely. Nice place to go a quick working lunch during weekdays.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SaimaHalima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Owner at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings
Best Salad Bar in Town!!! WOW
Thank you very much for taking time to write such an amazing review about Kryptos by Willi.
We have finally achieved what we hoped for, thank you for appreciating us.
Looking forward to having you back with us soon.
Warm Regards
Priyanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    58
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent service and authentic food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I love this place as the service there is great. The waiters help you with the menu and make excellent choices to suit your palate. The food is great and very authentic greek, served and presented well. You will not feel disappointed for the money you pay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kandravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Owner at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings Kandravi
Thank you for taking time to write such a great review about Kryptos by Willi. Its appreciation like this that keep us motivated to strive and serve better. Yes our staff is our biggest strength, they are warm and courteous and well trained.
Hope to see you soon again with your friends and family.
Warm Regards
Priyanka (Marcomm)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greek experience”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent food - Must visit for all gourmet food lovers
Authentic Greek style cooking - They really guide you well while taking order - As we were just 2 persons, they politely said that what we ordered was enough for two and anything else could be a waste. And, they were right!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank danielvictor422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Owner at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Daniel Victor
Thank you very much for taking time to review Kryptos by Willi. Yes our staff is well trained about Greek Food as it is rare and they play a major role in serving and educating our beloved guests so they have the best experience with us.
Please do visit us again with your friends and family.
warm regards
Priyanka (Marcom )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“salads and more”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

not sure when i went there. Well, being a vegetarian i opted for the buffet and found surprisingly calorie conscious foods . Its worth a try. By looking at the buffet one might think ok this may not be filling, unless they start eating. We ordered cheese balls for starters and they were more in qty :) :). Price... pinchy

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Owner at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Aishwarya, thank you for dining with us at Kryptos by Willi. We are really happy that you enjoyed the all vegetarian salad spread, it is truely healthy and filling. It is very popular among our regular guests as well, we hope the next time you visit us you should try the vegetarian moussakka or the panneer souvlaki we are sure you would love it, and our signature dessert Baklava :) we really look forward to your visit soon. Thank you for your business and support.
Cheers
Team Kryptos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“You can just keep going and going and going...”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I can't remember the first time I went to Kryptos. And I have been there so many times that I can't remember when I wasn't pleased.

If there is a good example of a place where you can healthily binge, this has to be the place. The extremely well stocked salad bar isn't your bland assortment which makes you feel that you are eating to be fit. Its the kind that makes you want to come back. The food also definitely is made with some care since it doesn't sit heavily on your stomach after a meal and there always seems to be space for dessert, which one shouldn't miss at all.

The staff are well informed as to what is being served. They take care to make sure that the guests get what they want. And they aren't afraid to suggest changes in the manner of the preparation of the dishes as well. My friend is lactose intolerant and wanted something which was in the menu made with white sauce. The staff were nice enough to make it with red sauce and he was pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TKPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear TKPB, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really happy that you and your friend enjoyed the food we served, we believe in good food, in a great ambiance with excellent service and great value for money. We are really happy we could deliver all the above to you every time you visit us. Thank you for appreciating the service, it means a lot to us. It is guests like you who motivate and encourage us to always do our best. We also do recommend you do try the Gluten Free pizzas at Tuscana, its a very healthy pizza option as well. We are sure you will like that too. Do try it and tell us how you like it. We thank you for your business and support extended to us. Hope to see you soon.
Thanks
Team Kryptos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kryptos Vegetarian also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing