We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can just keep going and going and going...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kryptos Vegetarian - CLOSED

Kryptos Vegetarian
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: Greek, Indian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Greek for "Hidden", Kryptos, is a treasured jewel tucked away in the cellar of the Yafa building on Khader Nawaz Khan road. With its bright decor and sculptured stone clad walls, Kryptos is an explosion of delight where diners can sample some of the best vegetarian cuisine Chennai has to offer. The cuisine at Kryptos Vegetarian builds upon the reputation enjoyed by Kryptos, in the past, as a fully fledged Greek restaurant, to bring a change into the world of vegetarian cooking, that complements the life style and dining habits of today's discerning clients. Complementing our Greek vegetarian fare are a range of dishes drawing from the world of Indian, Mexican and Chinese foods, plus offering a range of divine desserts and cooling beverages.Kryptos Vegetarian offers the only iced salad counter in Chennai's restaurant scene and one that has justifiably earned the loyalty and love of our diners. With a selection of fresh salads, fruits, vegetables, cheese and fresh breads, the salad counter is great for a meal in itself or as an accompaniment to any of the wide range of dishes that we offer to devour. Our menu includes dishes inspired from around the world, such as Mexican vegetarian Burritos and Enchiladas, Chinese Manchurian and Crispy Tofu, Vegetarian Moussaka, Indian PaneerKofta, Hara Bara Kebabs and Channa Masala, Beetroot and Beans burger and thin crust pizzas, amongst a range of platters to share. Finish your meal with a Baklava, our renowned eggless Tiramisu, Hot Chocolate Puffs dripping in chocolate sauce, sugar-free Carrot Kheer or just ask for a Greek coffee or a steaming masala tea! Whether you are looking for a chic restaurant to take your intimate date or as a family gathering around our renowned center stone table, Kryptos Vegetarian offers something for everyone all under one happy roof. We hope to be part of your extended family where we will be honored to serve you and share the happiness that great food brings.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
214 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“You can just keep going and going and going...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I can't remember the first time I went to Kryptos. And I have been there so many times that I can't remember when I wasn't pleased.

If there is a good example of a place where you can healthily binge, this has to be the place. The extremely well stocked salad bar isn't your bland assortment which makes you feel that you are eating to be fit. Its the kind that makes you want to come back. The food also definitely is made with some care since it doesn't sit heavily on your stomach after a meal and there always seems to be space for dessert, which one shouldn't miss at all.

The staff are well informed as to what is being served. They take care to make sure that the guests get what they want. And they aren't afraid to suggest changes in the manner of the preparation of the dishes as well. My friend is lactose intolerant and wanted something which was in the menu made with white sauce. The staff were nice enough to make it with red sauce and he was pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TKPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear TKPB, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really happy that you and your friend enjoyed the food we served, we believe in good food, in a great ambiance with excellent service and great value for money. We are really happy we could deliver all the above to you every time you visit us. Thank you for appreciating the service, it means a lot to us. It is guests like you who motivate and encourage us to always do our best. We also do recommend you do try the Gluten Free pizzas at Tuscana, its a very healthy pizza option as well. We are sure you will like that too. Do try it and tell us how you like it. We thank you for your business and support extended to us. Hope to see you soon.
Thanks
Team Kryptos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    58
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quite a let down ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and went over for lunch last week (on a week day) with some friends. Was looking forward to some really nice Greek/Mediterranean cuisine. Unfortunately, they were doing only a buffet, hence we had confine ourselves to what was on offer.

The spread consisted of soup, appetizers (chicken nugget, lamb puff and some humus and pita bread), all of which was quite average. The lunch was an extensive spread of salads (nice - guess it'd be difficult to go wrong on this one), and then the main course (chicken pie, grilled fish, beef cutlets and some pasta). This was a real let down. Firstly, it didn't taste fresh. Then, the fish and the sauce were like two separate entities and absolutely dry and tasteless. The chicken pie was leaving an after taste which left you wondering how old the dish could've been ... By this time, we'd kind of lost our zeal and appetite and hence gave up on the rest and decided to give the deserts a last parting shot.

These too were fairly average. Mostly a selection of cakes, fruits and a pudding. Nothing which really left an impression of it being a unique / signature dish, or great on the buds.

Coincidentally, we were also the only people there for lunch during the entire while - wonder if that says something.

Net net, I'd definitely not be going back here or recommending to friends and colleagues. Guess they need to relook at how they're running this place, else the word of mouth would go horribly wrong.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikas80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback, we understand that you have not enjoyed the food in your last visit.We work very hard to delight our guest in both food and service. However, we have failed to meet your expectations with the main courseon the buffet that day. We are extremely sorry for this. We at Kryptos always strive on one thing to make Positive Human connection and our guest satisfaction is most important. We hope you do give us another opportunity to serve you better, hope you treat this experience as a one off. Please do call and ask for the Manager on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for your business and support. Thanks Sheeba (Restaurant Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
1 review
“Kryptos - superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went with 5 friends for dinner last week. Ambience is good and the service, very pleasant. Kryptos has a good spread of food starting from fresh starters to desserts. Non-veg food was excellent. Would surely come back again with friends very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mala V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mala, hank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really happy that you enjoyed the food we served, we believe in good food, in a great ambiance with excellent service and great value for money. We are really happy we could deliver all the above to you. We do recommend you do try the Gluten Free pizzas at Tuscana, its a very healthy pizza option. We are sure you will like that too. Do try it and tell us how you like it. We thank you for your business and support extended to us. Hope to see you soon.
Thanks
Sheeba ( Restaurant Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puducherry
1 review
“Amazing Service and Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

one of the best place for hangout with family and friends.service was Amazing, the food was excellent. suggestions given by the staff was awesome. Staffs are well trained & have a good Knowledge about the foods ,Very good hospitality.I LOVED the food here it was nice and well cooked. value for money. You can enjoy a nice meal in this restaurant. This restaurant needs no introduction as its known for its excellence in the city.Specially the Kebabs and Gyros a lovely Chilled Meze buffet table (Vegetarian) includes Cypriot yoghurt with mint, crisp sliced cucumber and various olives.The dishes we had were something we choose from their extensive menu – Moussaka – Ground lamb layered with eggplant, potato, and cheese then baked.Chicken breast with spinach and cheese in red pepper marinate.

Dessert menu was also great with my all time favorite Baklava, and some of us also had their famous Tiramisu – definitely one of the best I have ever had. Overall it was a great unique experience and we all enjoyed it very much and would most certainly recommend to all, if you are looking to enjoy a nice dining in Chennai.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Babu-Gobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Babu_Gobu, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really happy that you enjoyed the food we served, we believe in good food, in a great ambiance with excellent service and great value for money. We are really happy we could deliver all the above to you. The Baklava is our all time favourite as well, the next time you do visit us you should try the yoghurt panna cotta it is delicious. We are sure you will love it. We do recommend you do try the Gluten Free pizzas at Tuscana, its a very healthy pizza option. Do try it and tell us how you like it. We thank you for your business and support extended to us. Hope to see you soon.
Thanks
Sheeba ( Restaurant Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Greek experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant for my husbands birthday with some reservations, since we are vegetarians. But it turned out to be wonderful experience! The food was delicious and we enjoyed the wine leaf stuffed with Greek rice specialties! They had quite a few options for vegetarians too.!
Mridula Narasimhan

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mridula_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VipinSachdev, Manager at Kryptos Vegetarian, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mridula, thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking out time in writing about us. We are really happy that you enjoyed the food we served, we believe in good food, in a great ambiance with excellent service and great value for money. We are glad that we could deliver all the above. Good to know being vegetarian, you and your husband did take a chance and come over, we would like to let you know across all our restaurants our menus are 50% vegetarian and 50% non-vegetarian, we believe our vegetarian guests are more important to us. In fact at Tuscana we also have no onion and no garlic tomato sauce that goes in the pizza, we also have gluten free pizzas and pasta in Tuscana. Having said that we ensure all our guests enjoy and are well taken of expecially if they have special dietry needs. We do recommend you try the Gluten Free pizzas, we are sure you will love it too. Looking forward to your visit soon.
Cheers
Sheeba (Restaurant Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kryptos Vegetarian also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing