We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Ranked #67 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, modern room”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

As a western single woman, I appreciated that the staff looked out for me. My room was right next to the elevator, away from the loud boisterous male crowd up all night in the hallways. They also made sure I did nor overpay for a cab/tuktuk, and even helped me with getting a sim card for my phone. The air conditioning "white noise" hid any rumble from the trains and there were plently of English channels on the LCD TV. Although the neighborhood is near Central Railway, it is not the best, but the hotel is like a refuge. My only gripe is having to pay by the hour for an unreliable internet. This should be free, as is standard in almost all hotels.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Onaquest73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to have your valuable feedback.

To ensure Guests experience Comfortableness with Wi-Fi, we have upgraded Wi-Fi for better speed and bandwidth.

With Warm regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    68
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
26
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

we stayed at the bell hotel 27 dec 2013 till the 1 jan 2014 the hotel was very good .all the staff were very friendly. very clean room all in good working order/ food first class . we enjoyed our stay there / would like to stay again

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris and Sylv F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are motivated with your response and eagerly waiting for your next visit with us.

With Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is one hotel where in the customers are asked to leave just because they have some other bookings in place. It is terrible to be in such a situation where in the management has nothing to offer rather asking their regular customer to leave the hotel because of some bulk bookings.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RagulN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Explanation Note:

Warm smiles and friendly service is our policy everyday for every guest. Our staff truly cares about all their travel needs making their visit comfortable and memorable.

On 22nd January 2014 morning, the Guest arrived to our Hotel for single day stay. We have informed the Guest about Group Arrival and provided you an option of stay extension till 24th January 2014 evening. The Guest has agreed to our suggestion and checked-in our Hotel.

On 24th January 2014, we have contacted the Guest for confirming check-out timings, as we need to make ready the room for allotting the room for Group. We received a rude reply from Guest end for our suggestion of alternate Hotel arrangement for your stay. During 19:00 hrs, Guest has checked out.

We categorize a Guest as "Regular Guest", only when the Guest frequently visits us (i.e., 3 to 4 visits per month or more than 08 visits quarterly). For second visit, we do not categorize as Regular Guest.

Sincerely,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Ideal for business travellers arriving by train or intending to take a flight from Chennai(take train to airport from park station). Hotel is cleanly maintainer, staff have an eye for detail and food at restaurant quite decent too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amarnath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, ACCOMMODATION OFFICER at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you whole heartedly for sharing a motivating review with us.

Hope to receive you soon at Bell Hotel - Chennai.

With Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel is at an excellent location with just a 10 minutes drive from both the stations. The food is outstanding and the service excellent. The room was comfortable and cosy. The staff was helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish_Swarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to respond to our review request. Your responses will shape the future of our service, standards and our overall way of doing business.

We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.

Sincerely,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Well, what to say about this hotel, if i say something about it then it would be very very less, this hotel is very excellent place to stay when in chennai, with very helpful and friendly staff, well appointed room, will every appliances up to date, well maintained restaurant, with very very tasty food. And the main choice is that it is a Budget hotel, It is located walk able distance from Chennai Central railway station. Nearest Mall is Spencer & EA mall.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and you will get good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alammehtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing a positive response towards our service. Your response has motivated us to run extra mile.

With Warm Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Oficer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dear All Business Travelers
This si an excellent hotel, central so you can travel anywhere in chennai, further the rooms maybe small but extremely comfortable. They provide excellent care in terms of hospitality and food. Prices are economical and would not hurt the pocket. All in all i would not change my hotel anymore.
NIRAJ MURARKA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Niraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We whole-heartedly thank you for writing a positive review which is motivating us to strive the performance.

With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
2.5 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pandian
Hotel Pandian
#85 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#206 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orion Residency
Orion Residency
#84 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
23 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pearl International
Hotel Pearl International
#96 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Property: Bell Hotel - Chennai
Address: 21 Old Door No | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 51 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing