We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little noisy, near train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Ranked #67 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is located between a road and a railway track. If the window to your room faces the railway track, you will be able to hear the blaring of horns from the regular trains that pass by the track. But it was not something that affected me so much to the point that I could not sleep as most of the time, I just heard the trains go by, without blaring of horns. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room for the price I paid - firm bed, air-conditioned, plesant bathroom.

The bed-sheets however had some tiny dots and a bigger patch under the blanket (blood-stains?). I was afraid of bed-bugs due to the tiny stains (tell-tale sign of squashed bed-bugs, from my past experience), but I was too tired to change the room as I had arrived very late at night. I lay on the bed and tested out gingerly at first, waiting for the first bite. Finally, no bed-bugs in the end. A huge relief!

Breakfast - no good choices. Just a few dishes had food, the rest were empty. I wouldn't totally recommend it, but overall, I have not much complaints as I was only staying one night after a late flight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aycanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to linen and limited breakfast buffet spread.

During December 2012, we faced a shortage of fresh linen as we did not receive the dispatched new linen on time. As a learning practice, we are now ensuring that Purchase Order placed are received in prompt time by making continuous follow-ups tracking activities, etc….

As a measure of comfort check, we carry out periodical bed bug treatments, other House Keeping control measures, the chances of bed bug / insects availability is null.

We have modified our Menu by including more dish varieties. In your next visit with us, we will serve you personalized dish.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us.


Yours in service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Bell Hotel - Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for about 6-8 times now. It is really a nice place. Rooms are neat, although small. I have liked this hotel, but of late, i see that the management is not taking care of the hotel much. The towels are really old and torn. The bedsheets are also old and torn.

I request the management to take care of these aspects.

Also, earlier, they used to have good spread of items for breakfast. Now it is kind of simplified.

Hence, I am looking for other hotels in Chennai now.

Room Tip: There are two rows of rooms. One row is next to a railway track and you get the sound and vibrations...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank BizTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to towels and limited breakfast buffet spread.

At Bell Hotel, Chennai, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation, we narrowed the cause to key staff changes, delayed new towel dispatch.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again by creating Unit wide training sessions, hiring staffs for back-up support, ensuring that Purchase Order placed are received in prompt time by making continuous follow-ups tracking activities, etc….


We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us.


Yours in service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

You rarely get very neat and clean hotel nearby a major railway station, but Hotel Bell Central is real exception.
Rooms are well lit with fluorescent lamps, even good sunlight throughout day. Front desk is courteous. Complimentary breakfast is good. But for dinner their restaurant has limited options and you will have to wait for 15-20 min for some dishes which I consider is normal as long you get freshly prepared food. But there are lot of other options of small restaurants nearby the hotel. And all this at walking distance from Chennai Central railway station. Its definitely far away from airport.
Only drawback I found about hotel is, it is adjacent to railway track so be prepared to listen a subdued noise (rooms being AC) of Local trains passing by at certain intervals.

Room Tip: almost all rooms have same location as the building is long and all rooms are on one side only.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai thank you for your appreciation of your experiences in our Hotel.

We shall strive hard to live up to your assessment in the years to come.

We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Apart from all the filthy hotels and cheap hotels which serve sambar only..I had a good variety of choices to choose from and the serving was with great gratitude...The food quality was good and delicious..Must visit hotel and a nice place to checkin rooms..everything here is neat and it's just beside the Central place easy to access from the station..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dileep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai.

We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

With Warm Regards,
Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Bell Hotel Chennai Is very clean, neat and comfortable. We have been travelling to India for the past ten years and have been staying at the Bell Chennai since its inception. The train station is within walking distance, to take you to T Nagar and only costs about 50 rupees. We have been staying at Bell Sivakasi for the last ten years.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mala710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing feedback to us, in the middle of your busy schedule.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.


We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted somewhere close to the cricket stadium, that was reasonably priced and had a restaurant. The Bell Hotel fitted the bill. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room quiet and the restaurant was clean and served a variety of traditional food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trotts5057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing feedback to us, in the middle of your middle schedule.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.


We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at Bell Hotels - Chennai on Apr 23/24th 2013 . unlike other hotels near central railway station , Bell Hotels(0.5Km from Central Railway Station) turned out to be a refreshingly different and pleasant experience when compared to my other hotel stays, the hotel is beautifully designed and offers a quiet and private stay even though you are near the Central Railway Station and Busy Chennai Roads . Though The Railway Tracks behind the hotel may cause u slight disturbance , u can enjoy the rhythm of the tracks burning while sleeping . Housekeeping / Reception / Checkin-Checkout are excellent . Though Restaurant is Slightly Overpriced , Definitely worthy of it . Breakfast buffet is limited but good.one Can Expect fast check-in in midnight too . Will definitely return!!
Suggestion : Can Arrange Pickup/Drop from/to Central Railway Station

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prabu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai, thank you for providing us your valuable feedback.

We have noted your suggestion and will work on it.


With Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
New Woodlands Hotel
#59 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
353 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#95 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
182 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#58 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#89 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
108 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#13 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
345 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#222 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Address: 21 Old Door No | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 51 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing