We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Experience in Chennai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Ranked #66 of 414 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Apart from all the filthy hotels and cheap hotels which serve sambar only..I had a good variety of choices to choose from and the serving was with great gratitude...The food quality was good and delicious..Must visit hotel and a nice place to checkin rooms..everything here is neat and it's just beside the Central place easy to access from the station..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dileep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai.

We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

With Warm Regards,
Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Bell Hotel Chennai Is very clean, neat and comfortable. We have been travelling to India for the past ten years and have been staying at the Bell Chennai since its inception. The train station is within walking distance, to take you to T Nagar and only costs about 50 rupees. We have been staying at Bell Sivakasi for the last ten years.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mala710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing feedback to us, in the middle of your busy schedule.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.


We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted somewhere close to the cricket stadium, that was reasonably priced and had a restaurant. The Bell Hotel fitted the bill. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room quiet and the restaurant was clean and served a variety of traditional food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trotts5057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing feedback to us, in the middle of your middle schedule.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.


We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at Bell Hotels - Chennai on Apr 23/24th 2013 . unlike other hotels near central railway station , Bell Hotels(0.5Km from Central Railway Station) turned out to be a refreshingly different and pleasant experience when compared to my other hotel stays, the hotel is beautifully designed and offers a quiet and private stay even though you are near the Central Railway Station and Busy Chennai Roads . Though The Railway Tracks behind the hotel may cause u slight disturbance , u can enjoy the rhythm of the tracks burning while sleeping . Housekeeping / Reception / Checkin-Checkout are excellent . Though Restaurant is Slightly Overpriced , Definitely worthy of it . Breakfast buffet is limited but good.one Can Expect fast check-in in midnight too . Will definitely return!!
Suggestion : Can Arrange Pickup/Drop from/to Central Railway Station

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prabu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai, thank you for providing us your valuable feedback.

We have noted your suggestion and will work on it.


With Regards,

Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had stayed at this hotel between 23-25th May 2013 and was not happy with the kind of experience I had. The size of the rooms, food taste (below average) and slow response from staff may disappoint you. Proximity of this hotel to central actually makes it a preferred place to stay. But try to avoid, if you have a stay exceeding 1 night.

Room Tip: Avoid Room No.101, this is where I stayed during my visit because of no other room available, a matc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agarwal405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Owner at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to get accommodated in an Executive Single Room, which you felt like a match box sized room.

At the time of check-in, when guests feel uncomfortable regarding Room size and keep us informed regarding the same, we assist them and make them satisfactory.

At Bell Hotel, Chennai, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation, we narrowed the cause to key staff changes.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again by creating Unit wide training sessions, hiring staffs for back-up support, etc….

Because of this serious oversight, we are going to host you with us for one Night stay.

We deeply value your relationship with Bell Hotels and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us.


Yours in service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Bell Hotel. In fact, I stayed there twice, for a total of 7 nights.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The hotel has a good restaurant - with plenty of different curries, reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet is much the same every day: curry, idli, omelettes, etc. and enough to sustain one for a few hours.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. They're decorated in a pleasant, simple, modern style. My rooms both had kettles. Very useful! The flatscreen TVs have a wide range of channels, including BBC & CNN. And the wonderful sockets mean that you do not need your international adaptor. I wish more hotels had these clever sockets.

On the first time I faced the railway line, and found the noise a bit of a nuisance. For my second visit I faced the road, and had no problems with noise/vibration.

The internet is a little expensive. Guests need to pay by the hour.

The location is particularly convenient for those arriving from of departing on a train journey. The hotel is very close to Central Station - and not too far from Egmore Station. It is easy to find a tuk-tuk to other parts of the city.

Overall, good value for money.

Room Tip: My advice: try to get a room facing the road not the train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Owner at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bell Hotel for your recent stay in Chennai. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.


With Warm Regards,


Bagya Lakshmi Samraj
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had been to bell central in April 13.The rooms were small but comfortable and reasonably priced.
As i had driven down,they had parking near by which was very safe.The hotel is located near the local train station and the Chennai central railway station and Egmore railway station.
Buffet breakfast was limited but taste was good.The service staff and managers were friendly.I even got to meet the Vice President of the company !!!
The toilets were neat and clean,the only suggestion to Bell central is they can provide a latch in the toilet.The amenities were also good.Ideal for business travel or leisure travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are less noisier..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagya Lakshmi S, Accommodation Officer at Bell Hotel - Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We at Bell Hotel - Chennai thank you for your appreciation of your experiences in our Hotel.

We shall strive hard to live up to your assessment in the years to come.

We look forward to your next visit to Chennai.

Please contact us for any future requirement.


Yours in Service,

Bagya Lakshmi S
Accommodation Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#268 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
Mylapore
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#58 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
359 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#99 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
185 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#100 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
183 reviews
Hotel Pearl International
#101 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Hotel - Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel - Chennai

Address: 21 Old Door No | Poonamallee High Road, Periamet, Chennai (Madras) 600003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 414 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $21 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel - Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELL HOTEL - CHENNAI is a building which has heritage that goes back to 1930's. The restored theme reflects of the culture, heritage and the life of what the city was called then "Madras". The hotel has a 50 cover multi-cuisine restaurant "Bell Restaurant". With a total of 51 rooms, we have furnished all the rooms in contemporary style. The rooms are equipped with LCD Televisions with satellite connection and Wi-Fi for internet access, and other essential services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bell Hotel - Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing