We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madras

Madras
Ranked #240 of 6,589 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Madras is your pick for sumptuous South Indian cuisine. Sample specialty dishes from Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Andhra. The mouthwatering flavors of Southern India come to life in a colorfully tantalizing display that is sure to inspire and satiate. Enjoy local specialties like crispy lentil crackers, spiced dried curry and lentils, and shallow fried vegetables paired with rice and laid out on a fresh banana leaf. Aromatic filter coffee is perfect any time of the day.
india
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Truely authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Had an idea of southern cuisine... wanted to try that in chennai... what we understood was that authentic cuisines are even tastier, as it was in this eatery... wide variety... excellent

Helpful?
Thank insan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Madras. Feedback like yours will keep the team motivated & surely help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

I am glad to share with you; Madras has been awarded in the category of Chettinadu Restaurant by Times Food Award and currently featuring on 05th position out of 1,921 restaurants in Chennai City.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Affordable and excellent restaurant in 5 star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Madras Raintree hotel is an unique joint in Chennai in an 5 star hotel gving the best at an affordable rate. The south indian specialities served are a delight .They have also north indian dishes which goes with the like of young teenergers . Non vegetarian is also served , but I cooment on the same as I am a vegetarian. The start of the service with Rasam and Papadam are relieshing and mouth watering . Just a tip , please carry your Amex card along and you will be benfitted by 15% . As this is in Raintree hotel people feel it will be costly , but Madras cafe is for one and all. Kindly visit during your next Madras city visit this is my recommendation .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RamanNarayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Madras. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

Just to share with you, Madras has been awarded in the category of Chettinadu Restaurant by Times Food Award.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic south indian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Extremely good food. I had the prawns and fish starters. Chicken for the main course. Staff is very polite and friendly.

Recommend going to this restaurant for crisp service and mouthwatering food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P_RaO_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Madras, our South Indian Signature Restaurant awarded for best Chettinadu Cuisine for the year of 2014.

Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An excellent way to celebrate my fiancé' birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I decided to celebrate my fiancé birthday with dinner. I made a reservation and asked them to make it special.
We ordered the non veg and seafood thali (Rs 800 and Rs 950) amazing spread. Loved he parata, appam and the other dishes.
Also there was a 3 person band with a flute, ghatam and mridangam playing a lot of new film songs and old ones like chinna chinna aasai :) at the end of dinner they brought a cake with a sparkling candle. And they played happy birthday Indian style ;) this was definitely a first!

The total bill came up to Rs 2500. It was definitely a memorable evening! Easily one of the top restaurants in the city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Rohini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We were very pleased to learn that you had a generally enjoyable experience with us at Madras, Which is one of the premium restaurants in the city and currently featuring on second position on Tripadvisor.


We appreciate you taking the time and post your review online. Your feedback will assist us in monitoring and improving our service levels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai in the near future.

Warm regards

Jaideep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panjim goa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

very busy city chennai extra large population but in side enter the resturant very cool relax food was good large quantity good dining staff is very good local launguage tamil is mother launguage
menu itemes is good resenable price i will recomented have regular food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank atul646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Atul,

Vanakkam from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We were very pleased to learn that you had a generally enjoyable experience with us at Madras.

We appreciate you taking the time and post your review online. Your feedback will assist us in monitoring and improving our service levels.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai in the near future.

Warm regards

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Madras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing