We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PLACE FOR - food and service”
Review of Madras

Madras
Ranked #153 of 6,640 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Madras is your pick for sumptuous South Indian cuisine. Sample specialty dishes from Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Andhra. The mouthwatering flavors of Southern India come to life in a colorfully tantalizing display that is sure to inspire and satiate. Enjoy local specialties like crispy lentil crackers, spiced dried curry and lentils, and shallow fried vegetables paired with rice and laid out on a fresh banana leaf. Aromatic filter coffee is perfect any time of the day.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“THE PLACE FOR - food and service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

if its one place then its madras. the food was good . service was good. suggestions given by the staff was awesome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanghvi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Prasad, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“right place for authentic south indian food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

awesome food and great ambeince...liked everything about it.the service was excellent and our time spent was worth it..


Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank geetasapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Geeta,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best South Indian Fine Dine in Chennai”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Everything about the restaurant gets you:
- Starting from a well-informed and uber-courteous staff who will pretty much ensure a personalized experience (seating, changes to the standard preparation, et all)
- The ambiance is signature Raintree, very classy, very comfortable and just the right lumens of lighting. The restaurant shares a wall with 'Madera' (pub) which adds that extra dash of character with a muted purple backdrop. Add to this classically proficient percussion and flute coming from live musicians, who will again on request tread the fusion path if requested - and you complete the Fine Dine ambiance check box
- The food is the Hero as they'd say in 'Masterchef' and I for one was certainly not disappointed. Being the carnivore that I am, even their vegetarian dishes appealed to me. Again, depending on your Spice Tolerance, the chef will be happy to customize and suggest alternatives.

Just loved and I know Price isn't usually an attribute associated with a Fine Dien, but when you get all of the above for approx INR 600-750 per pax, well we just have a Winner don't we.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Soumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Soumik,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve higher results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simple excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really enjoyed the meal at THE MADRAS @ The Raintree. Wonderful. Keep the spirit and keep going . The ambience as well as the food really deserves.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paarti_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Paarti,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
“Exceed Expectations.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I LOVED the food here it was nice and well cooked. The staff was extremely courteous and value for money. You can enjoy a nice meal in this restaurant.

This restaurant needs no introduction as its known for its excellence in many cities in India. Superb food ... the food was excellent and the service was flawless!

The experience in total was excellent. keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakshmipathi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K Uday K, Manager at Madras, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam from The Raintree Hotels, Anna Salai!!

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Feedback like yours, will keep the team motivated & surly help us to achieve high results. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Thank you

Jaideep

Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Madras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing