We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but pathetic service”

Isha Life Fitness - Shambhavi restaurant
Ranked #1,599 of 6,640 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but pathetic service”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Went with a group of 5. We directed to a table that could seat only 4 while 6 seaters were available.
Ordered starters which was served without side plates. By the time side plates arrived, starters were cold.
Ordered thali; the appetiser drink was never served. The thali platter was served but they never bothered to ask for refills (unlimited thali). When we requested refills, they served them in cups without spoons preventing us from sharing and they became cold by the time they gave us spoons. They served us Akki roti when we wanted Ragi roti. The pickle my wife requested never came. The Vazhaipoo vada my in laws requested never came too. At least the manager packed it for us before we left. The dessert, carrot halwa, was served as an after thought. It was cold! The Manager offered us coffee on the house as an appeasement. By the way, the appetiser drink was served as a "good bye" drink.
If good but cold food and bad service is acceptable, Mahamudra is worth visiting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ks170869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wholesome vegetarian Thali!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This Ishalife set-up in mylapore area has a spa, gift shop and a restaurant. The spa is called Shambhavi and the restaurant is called Mahamudra. The restaurant is very clean and charming. It definitely has the vibes of the Isha foundation and thus has a soul of its own. The food is very tasty and the thali is put together very intelligently. They offer a wheat thali and a rice thali. All the dishes including the sweet-dish is made of wheat in the wheat thali and in the rice thali everything has rice. My favourite is the rice thali with a divine payasam made of red rice. I have decided that I am going to eat at this place at least once on my each trip to Chennai. They also offer fresh juices and other items a la carte. Service can be a bit slow but food is well worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KayMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tasty authentic cuisine”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Though it was priced slightly high, food was good. The drawback being lots of mosquitoes. The vadas and sandwiches were good. Dosas were very average. Good when going out with family. esp old aged people. Definitely not a place to hang out with friends.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zerobrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Looks are absolutely deceptive”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Was greatly surprised when I got a table for 6 at 8.30 pm on a Saturday evening.
Only after we placed our order and started tasting the food, we realized why the table was available so easily.
The soups were just average. The dosas were the worst - not a single drop of oil, so dry and spicy. And since they were made of wheat, the taste was not normal and tasty.
The sambar, chutneys were not adequate and when we requested for more - and by the time they arrived, the dosas became more dry.
My kids vowed that they will not return here again ...but I promised to return here with some of my worst enemies ;)
The pricing for the food was atrocious for the taste of the food.
The only good thing about this place is the ambience - it was very neat and aesthetic.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MArasu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't believe health food could taste this good!”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Excellent ambience and food. For a vegetarian, health food restaurant, I was surprised at how full the place was. Once I tasted the food, the reason was apparent.

Do book in advance to make sure you don't have to wait to long for a table.

Service was a bit of an issue - we had to ask a few times to get glasses, water, or missing items from thali meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank padmapartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isha Life Fitness - Shambhavi restaurant also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Isha Life Fitness - Shambhavi restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing