We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Good Hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Metroplace Hotels
Ranked #46 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
colombo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a Good Hotel..”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed in this HOTEL.from 11th to 15th FEB.

Although the room rate per night is little above the average low price.
food is expensive for IN-ROOM Dinning, A one plate of Spaghetti, Pasta or a simple food like a sandwich is almost equal to the price you pay for the Dinner Buffet or Lunch Buffet( Incl Taxes).

Dinner Buffet is INR.700( Incl Taxes), A Spaghetti Carbonara is INR.520 Inc.Taxes. So you see whats wrong with this hotel. A bottle of 1Ltr mineral water is INR.120( Incl Taxes)-this product is not Premium quality water like Perier, its just the Average stuff the same kinda bottle water is available in the food court for INR.24 - 1Ltr/ bottle.

And NO BIRIYANI, NO FRIED RICE, NO FRIED NOODLES, The In-Room Dinning Menu gives you a very limited choice of foods, in other words IF your stay is longer and IF you have to buy at least TWO MEALS a day, this limited Choice for In-Room dinning leaves you with No-Choice, than either to eat from the Buffet, or pay an Unreasonable amount of money for a meal which you are probably having it for the Second time.

In other words, this hotel is concerned about Maximum profit and it is very unreasonable.

Rooms are fully sealed type, NO Fresh Air, you cannot open any windows or the fresh air intake is ZERO. So, when you wake up every morning you feel like you are already exhausted.

Although the Room is very clean, Bathroom/toilet is clean, Toilet Ventilation is ZERO, "Bathroom/Toilet odors just don't go away when you use it"

Bath/Shower unit is a "Skin Stripper" it is designed and Maintained to Rip-off your hair and your skin, Water pressure is too much, and the tiny holes in the shower unit is just blowing your head off!. Shower cubicle/ partition is too small you cannot even half stretch your hands( I'm just 5Ft+).

And the worst thing is, you have to keep on adjusting the tap to maintain Hot/cold water mixture, either the temperature keeps getting hot, or it gets colder by seconds.

Wifi - Although WiFi is free, you cannot use your MS.OUTLOOK with global settings. you need to get it configured from the Hotel, which I didn't let them do it. Because, your outlook emails will go through the hotel's server and to the web/ mail.- Why you wanna do that??
And IF you are using two devices on WiFi, like your Laptop and your Phone at the same time, ( One gets disconnected from WiFi), So, you never know which one is Disconnected.

Hotel Lift/Elevator - Although it's new and fast, It doesn't sound right. it sounds crrrr... trrr and sometimes you have to think whether the bottom is going to crack and you go down with it all the way to ground.

Location - This hotel, is located inside a IT park, like a free trade zone. IF you wanna get a cab/taxi, you will have to use what the hotel is offering you at their price rate, which is almost 50% more expensive and not good value for money. And Distance from Chennai Airport is Actually more than 14Km.

So, IF you wanna spend more and get less.... go to this Hotel. choice is yours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshwinVijay, General Manager at The Metroplace Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Asiana Place!

First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback!I would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused during your stay .
We always maintain very competitive rates for the class of the hotel and the facilities provided have always been complemented as good value for money .
Regarding the In room dining menu rates, the prices compared to a buffet is usually higher, so as to encourage the guests to take maximum advantage of the spread and choice of the buffet. And the menus in the in room dining is kept at the minimal, as it is an all-day dining menu.
The Location of the Hotel as mentioned by you is situated inside Ascendas IT park for the convenience of the business travelers visiting the vicinity .And as part of safe and secure building, the windows are sealed thus is not openable. Thanks for complementing on our cleanliness in which we always ensure to maintain a very high standard. The shower cubicle is designed as per the Hotel norms and is in par with the standards prescribed worldwide. The water pressure & the temperature can be easily controlled with the user friendly adjustable shower diverters.
With regards to the Wi-Fi settings, the MS outlook cannot be configured unless authorized by your system settings /firewall is removed which is not advised by any organization and I am sure ,that as an extensive business traveler you would be aware of such policies.

Last but not the least, our goal is to provide with genuine hospitality for all our guests with a strong value for money and is evident from other guest comments on Trip Advisor.

Thank you once again for staying with us and looking forward to have you staying with us again.

Thanks & Warm Regards
Ashwin V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    59
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
14
6
10
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A very clean hotel, new decor, rooms are the right size. Very good fixtures in the toilets, though you have to call house keeping for tooth brush etc.
A good place to stay especially if you have work on the IT corridor. Ascendas food court is good ofcourse , there are cafes, shops and large lawns so you can go there too.
Overall a satisfying experience

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshwinVijay, General Manager at The Metroplace Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Greetings from Asiana Place!

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the rooms.We always strive to provide the best of hospitality and feedback such as yours gives us the motivation to continue the same.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Asiana Place in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We chose the hotel as it was midway between the airport and the central train station.

Our room was comfortable enough but a bit damp and mouldy, possibly from a leaky roof as it was on the top floor. There was some noise from a building site nearby at the American School. The hotel is in the middle of an office complex which is a bit soulless.

On the plus side: breakfast was good; free wifi; modern and clean design; close to the suburban railway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CbgTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshwinVijay, General Manager at The Metroplace Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Asiana Place!

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and taking time to provide your valuable feedback.

I am happy to know that you liked our rooms and it was comfortable.As mentioned by you we have addressed the dampness which had formed in few rooms,and the work has already been completed.
The hotel is situated in the Ascendas IT park for the convenience of the business travelers visiting the offices in the vicinity and since it is surrounded by lot of trees and greenery ,there is a quiet and calm feel to it.We though have a nice lounge bar for guests who would like to unwind.

Thank you once again for staying with us and complimenting our services ,as feedback such as yours motivates us to maintain the same.
Looking forward to have you staying with us in the future.

Warm Regards
Ashwin V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Funny, most of the channels like Times Now, CNN IBN, Headlines Today, BBC not subscribed to. Only English news channel is NDTV. And in entertainment, no subscription taken for Sony, Colours, SAB TV, Zoom !. So, only Star TV. Same is the case with sports channel. So, if you wish to relax, better would be to carry your movies etc on your iPad. VERY DISAPPOINTED with this aspect. Why have a 42" TV, which doesn't serve entertainment when a busy corporate executive needs that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We felt welcomed and were well looked after. Some wifi issues to start with - perhaps other rooms have a better signal - I ended up with a LAN cable which was ok. The staff supported all this readily and politely. Lovely young woman on reception chatted and gave us tips, helped us hire a driver etc. It's out of town (as other reviewers stated) but near our workplace. Beds comfy, pillows synthetic but good (not the foam type referred to in an earlier review). Breakfast fine. The main drawback is the ground floor nightclub that I could hear and feel when in bed on 5th floor - only faintly but I hate that sort of beat. But middle-aged ears plus earplugs made sleep fine. We liked the fast food court as a way of not spending too much time in the ony restuarant - which was fine but over a number of days we don't want to spend every meal there. (I had their spiced fish on the carte one evening though and it was perhaps the best fish I have tasted over the past few years.). A shame there's no local shopping/eating area apart from the modern food court. But I would choose it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshwinVijay, General Manager at The Metroplace Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Greetings from Asiana Place!

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the rooms.We always strive to provide the best of hospitality and feedback such as yours gives us the motivation to continue the same.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Asiana Place in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2012

After going through almost all the hotels in the vicinity there, Asiana Place stood out of the crowd. Though it is quite far from the city, it is a very nice quiet place, the place you would want to be after a day at work. Very clean n comfy rooms. Friendly staff who would go the extra mile to give you the best service. Very good choice of menus for the buffet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going in that region.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziyaad1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshwinVijay, General Manager at The Metroplace Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Greetings from Asiana Place!

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the rooms.We always strive to provide the best of hospitality and feedback such as yours gives us the motivation to continue the same.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Asiana Place in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield,WI
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We booked the hotel thinking it is a 4 star at a good price. Big mistake. At best it is a 3 star. It is too far from the airport within a IT Park. Very difficult to find and nothing close by. The room rates are high to make you think it is a 4 star. Dont bother to book this hotel unless you have business being in the IT Park.

Room Tip: High Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N.SURESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Keys Hotel Katti Ma, Chennai
#57 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
217 reviews
Ginger Chennai
#81 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
188 reviews
Turyaa Chennai
#36 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Velachery
Design Hotel Chennai by juSTa
Design Hotel Chennai by juSTa
#25 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
145 reviews
Le Park Inn
#78 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
81 reviews
Kohinoor Asiana Hotel
#68 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metroplace Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metroplace Hotels

Property: The Metroplace Hotels
Address: CSIR Road | Phase 3, Zenith Building, Ascendas IT Park, Chennai (Madras) 600113, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metroplace Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metroplace Hotels is strategically located at Ascendas IT Park, Taramani, in the IT Corridor. The hotel is a 14 km drive from the airport and a 20km drive from the central railway station. It is well connected to the other parts of the city through an efficient network of roads and offers easy access to the main business, shopping and entertainment centers of Chennai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metroplace Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing