We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best south indian food joint ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarvana Bhavan

Sarvana Bhavan
Ranked #22 of 6,589 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best south indian food joint ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Aah...the Saravana Bhavan thali is a gastronomical delight. With its mouthwatering south indian sambars, curries, subzis, dals, and other stuff...I go crazy. Try not to use a spoon...and dig in with ur hands.....ull n licking them at the end... The small elaichi banana and paan...just add to the wonderful experience

JET Privilege NO: 120761561

Helpful?
Thank kenn_etix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    137
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very Famous South Indian Restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had heard a lot about this place, but did not get a chance to ever visit the place on my trips to Chennai. This time around I made it a points to visit it. I visited the Specncer's Plaza outlet. Nothing to say about the ambience, but the food and the service was very good. the variety of Dosa's are huge and I had to take the help of the manager to understand the fillings. All I can say is that I was not disappointed. SImple but good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vidit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best veg restaurant in chennai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to this hotel for more than 20 years,the taste and quality of food has not been compromised though quantity has been.

It has excellent food quality in the context of Indian hotels since after eating at other hotels I have felt uneasy and had burning sensation in my throat.it has never happened with this hotel.It gives the feeling of a tasty home cooked food.always tasty and safe to eat.

Though if you have a big appetite,one dish may not be sufficient .its almost like any US chain restaurant you might find in USA where you might safely indulge while travelling.

There are lots of branches all over chennai and people visiting The city should surely try it out for once to experience Tamil food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RNKavitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
143 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great South Indian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Sarvana Bhavan chain in Chennai boasts some excellent South Indian fare, especially some very good tiny idly's and Ghee roasts. The restaurants are a a little noisy and crowded but the food quality makes up for it. The service is fast and waiters polite.
There are other options, which many locals seem to prefer like North Indian, Chinese and even a Gujarati thali but I would recommend the South Indian anyday.
You can also pick up a few authentic South Indian snacks on your way out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Docsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GOOD QUALITY FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Expensive but the food they are providing is of very good taste.The Quality is very rich but the quantity is very less.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GOPI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarvana Bhavan also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Sarvana Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing