We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to Marina Beach”
Review of Tri Sea Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tri Sea Residency
Ranked #269 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Near to Marina Beach”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is located about a kilometer from main Marina Beach. It is ahead of Chepauk Cricket stadium nd not opposite to MLA hostel. Staff is very nice. Veg restaurant is o k nd serve good south Indian Thali at a economical cost. Rooms are small nd slightly darkish. They hv a non veg restaurant also. The darban at the front door was a smiling person nd guided us to Mapileshwar temple on Maha Shivratri day.
Travel desk person a nice fellow nd gave us a good taxi for city tour. The taxi driver a Muslim fellow took us to Parthasathi temple with great zeal nd enthusiasm. On enroute to railway station took us to a restaurant packing south Indian tiffin. God bless him nd our Salam.
Hotel manager did not allow us a late check out despite many rooms lying vacant. Very professional people. The waiter who took us to the room was very nice nd looked after us very nicely. The G M a very nice gentleman who gave us discount but it got absorbed in taxes

Room Tip: Rooms towards adjoing building housing flats
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 281Icj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
9
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are resonabaly priced, but not realy clean and have old towels and bedsheets. Entrance and facade looks good but rooms need renovation. Restaurant is good with nice indian food. No WiFi in rooms available.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel is very close to the cricket stadium. The marina beach is also 15 min walk from this place. But the road around the hotel and the rooms were not clean. There were cockroaches in one of our rooms. The bed sheets had stains and the house keeping didn’t change it. I told them repeatedly but no result. The staffs were helpful. We had an issue with our booking and they helped us to clear it out. No internet connection in the room. Foods in the restaurant were very testy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Z_Rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secunderabad
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in Chennai for two days. Its location near to Marina beach, not far (only , 2km from the central rly station) and easy access to any part of the city makes the hotel good to stay for any purpose. This could be a very nice hotel, if the staff were a little better and the place a little cleaner and quieter. As we can't have the cake and eat it too, we had to satisfy with the good aspects alone.

Fortunately the food is available at the ground floor restaurant. The typical Chennai South Indian meals and snacks are good but for the waiting time.

Rooms are not posh but just ok to stay, as lot of renovation work was going on at different floors, noise was one thing we had to tell them to stop twice. Bath rooms are notverygood but tolerable, may be due to incoplete upgradation.

This management has taken a daring step to operationailze the hotel with a lot of pending renovation works.

Though we were ok in this hotel there was a billing problem I noticed after we reached Hyderabad. While checking in I was told that the two kids will not be charged as we are taking a 3 beded room, extra bed charges with surcharges and taxes were collected, which we noticed only they rang up to me at Hyderabad asking for some balance(from their view) payments. I had to discuss with the General Manager to relook into the bill and send me back the excess amount collected. However the amount due to me was not returned asper the original charging rates told by the billing counter staff. Whatever the reason I felt bad when I was told that it was a mistake from the staff . Even the G M has simply talked some sweet words but evaded paying anything back.

It is unfortunate that the GM failed to understand the genuine mistake of his staff cannot be the reason for not refunding the excess collected, and didnot realise the loss to the hotel by a dissatisfied customer in the long run. If he had responded positively and refunded the amount to me He would have up held the image of the hotel and this review would have highlighted their respect for genuine customer over money.

Room Tip: IT is safer to check personally before entering a room for stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madabushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived on 29 December , Check in was shift and house-keeping staff was helpful. Our room was on 3rd floor and offered a nice view of Chepauk stadium and nearby areas. Room were clean and tidy. Television was ok as some channels were distorted.

We ordered food couple of times and room-service was prompt and helpful.

Overall a great experience, will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanmay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in Chennai for five days. Locations near to Marina beach and not far from other landmarks is good. The hotel should be cleaner and the staff is not very competent.

The restaurant is mixed. We had one oustanding meal and the rest were quite bad. Maybe they have changing kitchen staff.

First night they give us a room that smelled awefully of smoke. We complained and a staff came with a spray can of air refreshener. Laughing at this Jugaad solution we pressed for a clean nonsmoking room and got one without hustle. But the same night there were renovation works, keeping us awake until 3 am. My complaints didnt really do anything and I really had to push the next morning so that they would give us yet another room that would be clean and relatively quiet.

The wifi which only works in the restaurants and lobby area, not in the rooms, is very expensive in comparison. 100 rb / day.

The rest of the stay was without problems. So from our experiences, it is hard to give a recommendation. This could be a very nice hotel, if the staff was a little better and the place a little cleaner and quieter. But Chennai seems to be a little more on the expensive side, so go for it if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

not a good stay if you are looking for a peaceful stay, not clean and staff is not supportive, but restaurant has some good authentic chennai dishes.... staff should pay more attention to cleanliness and customer support, the rooms are full of dust and hot water, and air conditioning is not working properly.....if basic things that customers are expecting was there could have rated as average.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GAYANPERERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Mount Residency
#87 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
44 reviews
The Lotus Hotel Sameera
#90 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
13 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Belstead
The Belstead
#71 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mount City
#126 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
4 reviews
Hotel Comfort
#219 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
38 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri Sea Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri Sea Residency

Property: Tri Sea Residency
Address: 34 Tri Sea Residency Wallajah Road | near Chepauk Stadium, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tri Sea Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tri Sea Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tri Sea Residency Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing