We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Ginger Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ginger Chennai
Ranked #98 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again!”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Hotel Ginger staff was unvilling to book my night taxi from Chennai airport to the hotel. Notwithstanding that I called several times to the hotel reception desk before my departure from Pune and after my arrival in Chennai, they sold a booked room of mine to others. The hotel staff do not really care for their quests' needs, they only pretend their interest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    63
    22
    35
See reviews for
28
8
22
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I accompanied a friend who was visiting the US consulate in chennai. I opted for Ginger because of the brand name and expected it to be at least average. While the rooms are decent itself, the location of the hotel is a BIG negative, combined with the fact that it is still under construction (the building which houses this); and when I say building which houses the hotel, it implies the IITM research park, and ginger is on the 11th floor of this building. There is no restaurant, and the dinner is outsourced from a vendor, which ensures that it is mostly cold by the time it reaches your room.
The rooms are clean enough, although it may feel like you are miles away from any habitation as this is in a very secluded part of the city.
The hotel might be good if you are visiting IIT Chennai or nearby areas for a few days, but otherwise Ginger doesn't suit well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hashpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

i went on business tour and this hotel was located near to my office that is tidel park, good clean rooms and good food. value for money. located near to mgr film city. but it is far from airport and shopping area like mount road.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelguru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Ginger is a good chain of business hotels. Has all the essentials that are needed. I stayed in couple of ginger hotels before and hence booked this one since it appeared to be nearer to IIT-M.

Good points: This hotel is on 11th floor of IIT-M research park. There is a food court on ground floor with good food options. Stay was good. Had good comfortable sleep. They have a good travel desk. Staff is friendly.

Bad points: Rooms are small (like all Ginger hotels). I had to change my room since toilet flush was non-functional. They dont have a functional kitchen. Food court closes out early in the evening (~ 8 pm). I had to hitch hike to IIT (since cabs dont come here and address is not known to many!).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anandusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I was on a Business Trip in Sept. 2010. Ginger was pretty new in Chennai.
Being new, we struggled a bit to find the location.
Reception was good with quick registration.
Rooms were elegant and clean with all the amenities required for a Business trip.
Location is typically not good for a Hotel. However it should not matter for a Business trip. Amenities required for a Business trip are available.
Rooms were elegant, clean and the srvice was good.
Food is outsourced, hence we can look for alternative options

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manish38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYderbad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Am a regular visitor to Ginger,Hyderabad. Thought the chennai Ginger will be similar , but i was totally disappointed. very unprofessional staff.untidy surroundings...in one word, its a 'MESS'. its going to be my first and last stay in this place...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HyderabadFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Agra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The moment you reach Ginger you will feel something is different about the place. They will check all your IDs etc and escort you to the room. The room is amazing, bit small but great to stay. You have all facilities of a top hotel inside the room. You can go to the reception and have food in Café coffee day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumit297683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ginger Hotel Chennai
#108 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
112 reviews
Keys Hotel Katti Ma, Chennai
#53 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
211 reviews
The Metroplace Hotels
#47 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adyar
Esthell Continental Hotel
Esthell Continental Hotel
#294 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
61 reviews
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#74 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
57 reviews
Velachery
Design Hotel Chennai by juSTa
Design Hotel Chennai by juSTa
#24 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Chennai

Property: Ginger Chennai
Address: IITM Research Park | Tharamani, Chennai (Madras), India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Chennai 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ginger Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing