We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat like an insiders' tip in Chennai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
“Somewhat like an insiders' tip in Chennai”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

These residences were recommended by a Chennai friend of mine. (I am from Western Europe.) I spent there two nights in January 2014. As a residence, the location and the rooms were very good. Rooms are large and equipped with everything one needs. Service is excellent and available 24/7. Breakfast was prepared individually according to my wishes. Tariffs are fair. If one is looking not for a hotel but for a nice and quiet residence stay in Chennai, to me these Residences are a very good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainerLeisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hanu Reddy Residences.

Nirupama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    115
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
116
48
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed both in wallace garden and poes garden property of hanu reddy. While the wallace garden location is superior (heart of the city) the customer service is extremely poor. The rooms are old but decently maintained. There are lot of help boys milling around - mostly gossiping among themselves and least helpful to guests. The food options are almost non-existent and breakfast service is terrible. I would like to detail the terrible experience on the breakfast service. Breakfast time is from 7.30 - 10.30 am .When I went in at 7.50 am, there was no one at either the reception or in the dining area. I waited for more than 15 minutes and then a help boy (name - Amar) walked and gave a casual reply that no breakfast is available !! It will be ready only after 8.30 am.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suave_Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept my apologies for the lapse in service by our staff. They have been generally very friendly and accommodating to all the needs of our guests. I regret that you had to have a bad experience. Please rest assured that the issue has been taken up with the concerned staff and steps have been taken to correct the situation.

I invite you to come and stay with us again and assure you that your stay will be memorable.

Nirupama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this place. It is located quite close to the railway station - about half an hour away. Great for Chennai where traffic is bad. The manager and most of the staff are Oriya and very helpful. The breakfast is good but could be more sumptuous. Although they do ask for more helpings, the variety of dishes is limited to one or two. Coffee was good- filter coffee.
The rooms are very spacious, well equipped and in true European style furnished with fridge, a kitchenette with pans and plates etc. A hot plate and microwave also. Although we didnt cook as we were busy it would have been relaxing to do so.
The area around is very chique. There are a lot of high end boutiques - Killol, Toni and Guys and the likes. A Greek restaurant is just round the corner with great food - pita bread, humus and lots of salads.
The Apollo hospital is within walking distance and one can comfortably have a checkup or stay a few days if needed while taking care of health needs.
There are some more similar hotels nearby but not as good as this one.

Room Tip: The rooms on top floor have a little sit out with cane chairs. Cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ookalkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our facility. Your comments on the breakfast have been noted and i will take suitable action on the same.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Set in the exclusive residential district of Poes Gardens, this is a secluded, quiet and safe area of Chennai. The Chief Minister's private residence is close by, so the area is awash with police.

Nice leafy environment but nowhere really to sit out.

The rooms are huge, well appointed, with aircon, wifi and lovely bathrooms. Decor is basic but everywhere is spotlessly clean.

Very friendly staff. Home cooked meals if requested. It is more of a guest house than a hotel, with no bar or formal restaurant.

If you stay here, try the excellent Entekeralam restaurant which is nearby.

We paid 4000 Rs for a large double and at that price in central Chennai I think it rates 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recommendation.

You have stayed at our Poes Garden location but endorsed us on our Wallace garden property.
We assure our guests of the same experience at both locations.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deventer
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our taxidriver had quite some difficulties in finding this place. Rooms were OK though nothing special. Same holds for the breakfast. The plus point was the quiet location and the nice veranda with easy chairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandermede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to have you with us again

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed in HRR, Wallace Garden for 5 nights. I found this property after extensive research and looking at reviews. Most reviews echo my sentiments. The property is located in a perfect, quiet, central area. The room, while spacious, was nothing great. The sheets and pillowcases as well as pillows need to be upgraded. The bathroom shower was not cleaned properly but the staff rectified it right away. Furnishings could also be upgraded. They are a bit tacky. I had issues with the safe which was also resolved right away. That being said, overall the stay was fantastic. This brings me to the service which was excellent! Ramesh, Senthil, Amar, Manoj, Chef Niranjan and others made the stay lovely. They always had a smile and went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and safe.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room # 7 at #24 Wallace Garden Road. Spacious, quiet and clean but not up to the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaya366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

I am happy that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff. I will convey your appreciation to them. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and assure you a better experience in your next visit.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

After spending 4 days here I would highly recommend this place. The service is great and the place is clean and nice. Definitely a good value for the cost of the stay.

Morning breakfast at the nice gardening are quite nice and Nirupama Reddy made this place feel like home :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tareq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
New Woodlands Hotel
#58 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
345 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
874 reviews
Red Sun Serviced Apartments
#231 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Woods Hotel
#13 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
325 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,140 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden

Property: Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden
Address: No. 6A/24, Wallace Garden, 3rd Street, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 390 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hanu Reddy Residences. Hanu Reddy Residences is a unit of Hanu Reddy Realty. Our service apartment division has only one primary focus, you! We are not a conventional service apartment. We offer you an experience unlike any other. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and provide you a home away from home! Just sit back, relax and breathe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing