We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding experience at HR Residences, Wallace Garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience at HR Residences, Wallace Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family of 4 had a great experience at Hanu Reddy Residence, Wallace Garden. We're from San Jose, California and this property is comparable to any high quality hotel or timeshare property we've stayed at in the US. We stayed at the Presidential Suite for 3 nights and were extremely satisfied with the amenities and professionalism of the support staff. The executive Admin, S. Ramesh Babu, went out of his way to ensure we had a great stay. All other support staff were also very helpful with Amar deserving special recognition. We had the breakfast every day and they changed the menu daily to provide more variety. Overall, a memorable stay and this will be our place to stay each time we return to Chennai!

Suman Bhattacharjee, San Jose, California, USA.

Room Tip: The presidential suite is very spacious and ideal for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sumankbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRResidences, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

I thank you for your kind words. I am happy that you found Hanu Reddy Residences on par with hotels in the US. It is indeed a feather in our cap. We assure you that we will continue to maintain and improve our standards to give our guests a memorable stay in Chennai.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    109
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
110
47
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am an NRI who stayed at Hanu Reddy Residences (Wallace Garden, Chennai) in June 2013. Having grown up in Chennai in a large bungalow myself, it felt like coming home. Once a private residence, the building has been converted into a B&B boasting 12 rooms with attached baths. The staff - right from Mr. Ramesh Babu, to the Oriya cook/servers/bellhops, and the elderly security guard - were gracious, helpful, and efficient. The room was very spacious (15 * 15 at least), as was its bathroom (10 * 10) that was cheerful, well outfitted and clean at all times. Among the complimentary services are - a delicious breakfast, bottled water and WiFi - a boon to the thirsty and tech-savvy traveler. The location cannot be beat - in the heart of Chennai, near the Taj/Landmark/the US embassy/2 major churches of historical interest/Pizza Corner/Ispahani Center/Spencers/Cane and Bamboo/Kalpa Druma/CakeWalk/Apollo Hospital, etc. The pricing and product were perfect. I hear that the Poes Garden branch is even better. I highly recommend the HR Residences to all segments of travellers! The establishment rates high with regard to security, dependable and pleasant staff, and tastefully designed surroundings.
- Mrs. Ahmed, Wisconsin, U.S.A.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amina_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanuReddy, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Your words are very encouraging and will inspire us to continue providing excellent service to our guests.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had to make a two day trip to Chennai for an appointment at the Apollo hospital at Greams road. Our requirement was a neat decent place, as close as possible to the hospital and yet reasonably priced (the last being relative). Based on our web search and review we came upon Hanu residences and it seemed to fit the bill. This place walking distance from the hospital.
We booked over the net and rang it to confirm an early check in, which was readily agreed upon.
First impressions have been lasting ...
1. The stay is a converted residence and thus provides a homely atmosphere.
2. The rooms are neat and clean (which was must)
3. We asked for an extra bed and we were provided with a fold-able cot as well.
4. The bathrooms are neat, big and often this is a deciding factor and we were very much happy with it.
5. Apart from the exhaust fan, there was also a wall mounted fan - must be for the Chennai heat :-) - we however did not have to use it!
6. To be noted is that the hot water in the bathroom comes from tap on the right (I ended having a bath in the hot water (luckily not that hot) assuming it to be the Chennai heat :-)
7. We have ordered breakfast and lunch at the hotel room and the food is very homely and quite good. The dining room is in another building and since I was working, we ordered room service. We would however suggest having the breakfast at the dining room, since some of the south India food is best when had hot.
8. The locality is very hep and there are quite a few upmarket restaurants in the near vicinity. The room also has menu cards of most of these restaurants for home delivery. Some hotels though add and extra delivery charge as well. You will need to pay them in cash as these wont be billed to your room.
9. The staff is quite service centered and we always had the best of service.
10. We never had an issue with the AC across our stay.
11. They have electricity back up which kicks in as soon as the electricity goes off.
12. The Wifi connection is very stable and gets quite a good speed as well.

Our booking was for two nights, however under short notice we had to extend our visit by three more nights. This was easily accommodated by the manager Mr. Ramesh at a preferential rate as well. We were also allowed to have a late check out by 4 PM.

Our stay has been very pleasant and the location has been very central so as to meet our needs.
We would definitely recommend this place for anyone with similar requirements.

Please note that the review is for an home stay and it will not be fair to compare this with the hotels that you might want to opt. Like a a Taj or a Radisson.

(please note that there is no swimming pool that I was aware off. I by mistake clicked the option below and do not know how to undo it.

Room Tip: we chose the deluxe to accommodate 3 adults. Please note that this is a home stay and not a luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UdayVarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanuReddy, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. I am happy that Hanu Reddy Residences provided the convenience and comfort that you were looking for. Being close to Apollo Hospital, we have been able to provide the much needed comfort of a home to many patients and attenders who come from all over the world for medical treatment. Hope to have you with us again.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Words may not be sufficient to express our pleasure on comfort while staying here.

We all never felt that we are staying at Hotel. This is as similar & as good as our Home -stay not because of comforts but by loving approach of the entire staff members who are at our services.

What indeed impressed is the Cordial approach of the staff members, prompt services , cheerfulness, willingness to part the information and rendering whatever help as a new comer in this city needs.

More importantly, the entire service is relentless, not as an Employees of the Hotel but as their own Hotel.

Good ambiance, cleanliness , comforts & facilities are praiseworthy. Specially front desk attendants./ reception - Mr. S. Ramesh Babu & Senthil & support staff Mr. Amar & others are
rendering the best services to the Guests. The cook is also highly impressive by accepting the suggestions from the Guests besides preparing delicious dishes.

No matter who so ever comes to this city from our group or known person/s , it will be recommended strongly for staying in Hanu Reddy.

Wishing the Best & expecting to maintain the standard ever to grow further.


Mahesh Desai & Vasant Desai
Room Nos.- 2 & 5
Stay duration - 07.06.13 to 11.06.13

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHANKERDESAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanuReddy, Chief Operating Officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review and am very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality. We are encouraged by your words of appreciation and shall strive to maintain our high quality of service at all times. Looking forward to having you with us again.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in the Wallace garden place.

Good people good service. Old room. Clean enough. I did not like the huge tiled old fashioned bathroom. There was a kinda vent window there which let some mosquitos in. Location prime location to other things. but streets outside very dirty and full of garbage. Mosquitoes. Place is Just livable. No luxurious feeling. Many Apollo hospital visitors. I did not like hospital feeling. I had to stay a lot in Apollo in the past when my dad was sick that I am so averse to it now. I won't stay in this Wallace Garden place again. But again to repeat the people working there and food was good. I expected better looking rooms after seeing the pics on their website. I was disappointed by the reality. They don't have a two room suite too. What they call suite is a long stupid looking kitchen and another room. Food was made to order and very wholesome and home made. In India in both the service apartments I stayed the breakfast was never at the the time they promise. So we have to go late for it. It is always difficult when I go to India with the late breakfast and dinner timings. Especially with the jet lag i am most of the time dying for a good cup of chai / food etc.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanuReddy, at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you did not find the rooms to your liking. I will definitely take steps to ensure that there are no mosquitoes in the rooms. Being close to Apollo Hospital has benefitted many of our guests who have come from all over the world to get their loved ones treated in one of the finest hospitals in the country. We have been able to provide them a comfortable place to stay while going through stressful times. i am happy that you liked our service and the food.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a bit of a mess with our arrival, the staff has been very friendly and helpful. They've been a big help in learning how to get around, book cabs, etc, and always smiling. We have a really nice stay, the house has large clean rooms and we felt at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle_Comment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanuReddy, Chief Operating officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. I apologise for the mix up when you arrived. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

great location, good ambience, decent & courteous staff and value for money ! gives very homely atmosphere. the breakfast is complimentary. sincerely recommending to people who intend staying for a longer duration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krish_HMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanuReddy, Chief Operating officer at Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to having you back again.

Nirupama Reddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
La Woods Hotel
#18 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#51 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#54 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#11 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#64 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden

Property: Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden
Address: No. 6A/24, Wallace Garden, 3rd Street, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hanu Reddy Residences. Hanu Reddy Residences is a unit of Hanu Reddy Realty. Our service apartment division has only one primary focus, you! We are not a conventional service apartment. We offer you an experience unlike any other. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and provide you a home away from home! Just sit back, relax and breathe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing