We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Hyatt anyway !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Ranked #28 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's a Hyatt anyway !”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

good location, prime areas nearby. impressive interior decor but changing elevators to get to upper floors is a hassle. nice restaurants. very hospitable staffs. room were modern and the view of the city outside was impressive, but the housekeeping department was a bit slow and had to be reminded for things. breakfast was one of the best parts of the stay, extensive with staffs always ready to help you around just a little slow though, but since ours was a leisurely trip so we didn't mind waiting a little. there was a mall next door which was decent enough. overall good stay if you are ready to splurge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingfeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai

Thank you for your kind feedback and we are happy to know about your pleasant stay with us. It is our constant endeavor to exceed your expectations during each stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to Hyatt Regency Chennai. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    408
    142
    72
    40
See reviews for
180
89
50
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Sorry guys to have to write this bad review.

Arrived here this January with great expectations and let me explain why I didn't like this hotel one bit.

Firstly when you arrive at the hotel you have to enter the hotel on the ground floor level and then enter hotel up through the lift to I think 4 the floor.
On arrival we could hear music blasting from lobby bar at around 17:00 hours , ok no problem just checking in.
Upgraded to club level and check in very smooth, from here all went down hill.

Rooms , very modern and we liked a lot BUT very damp feeling to rooms.

Bar area
Very nice and modern with good service , outside smoking area TERRIBLE , scruffy and flooring looks unfinished not a nice area to sit out hardly any lighting.
Decided to go for a drink in here Sunday afternoon , oh my god, we all waked in around 15:00 and there was rave music pounding out from the speakers and DJ in there , asked the DJ could you please turn it down , his reply was sorry but this us the theme for Saturday and Sunday 14:00 till 20:00!!!! I said are you joking there is no one in and it sounds like I am in a night Club in Ibiza and this is Sunday afternoon, yes sorry have to leave it on.
Obviously this isn't done for hotel customers but to attract young outside customers into the bar , can understand say Friday or Saturday night but Sunday afternoon NO.

Pool
Have to go up one level through Gym and back down again , feels like not part of the hotel

Biggest problem
There are Mosquitos all over the hotel , got bit loads which is a massive put off.

Club lounge
Best place in the hotel and great staff and service.

Staff
All great in the hotel and didn't have any issues on this side.

Breakfast
Great spread of food but service bad , waited for eggs twice for 20 mins or didn't get at all.

Sorry guys for the bad comments but all staff were great

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai. Many thanks for the detailed feedback that shall help us serve you better on your ext stay with us. We regret the inconveniences caused during your stay with us and shall ensure your future stays with us are memorable and delightful. Once again thank you for your appreciation of our people, it is highly encouraging for all of us. Thanks you. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Excellent hotel - liked it's honeycomb theme - something different. Staff well trained, helpful. As I said in the headline...exclusive, exceptional...expensive! Somewhat painful to navigate the road with the metro work cluttering the route...and impacting business timelines!!

Room Tip: Pay higher and take the room with the breakfast rates built in...but if you make the mistake to go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwini5419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai

Thank you for sharing your experience with the community. We are delighted to hear about your pleasant stay and look forward to offering you our authentic hospitality again soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel is at the prime location in Chennai. The staffs are very helpful & courteous. All the restaurants are very good with high quality food. I really enjoyed my stay in Hyatt & would recommend visitors to stay in Hyatt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakshit0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very grateful for your kind patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

i was in Chennai on Business a few weeks ago and i could not have chosen a better hotel to stay at.

Top class rooms, top class service great value for money.

This is a great choice for anyone.

'Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShubhamChandra, Director - Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai. Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with the community. It is very encouraging to receive feedback from our guests and we thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Location, service, facilities, people all great..really enjoyed staying here....was really impressed with the bar & food....Also the spa was fantastic.....If u really want a peaceful and better view room, request for a pool facing

Room Tip: take the pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShubhamChandra, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is always most encouraging to receive feedback from our guests as it helps us understand your expectations better and ensure you have a delightful experience on each visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Hyatt branding is literally you seen here, way of decoration, grooming, people attitude, countries bench marking etc...

In meanwhile the food is awesome in the Spice restaurant.

Pool, Spa which is amazing.

Room Tip: Top & Road Side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmuralihr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShubhamChandra, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your valuable feedback and appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you to Hyatt Regency Chennai again soon.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
961 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,109 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#21 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,166 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,127 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chennai

Property: Hyatt Regency Chennai
Address: 365 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai., Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Chennai, located on the iconic Anna Salai in the heart of Chennai is the perfect destination for authentic hospitality. From multiple F&B offerings - Indian, Italian, Sichuan Chinese, 24 hour dining, Buffet restaurant, Cafe, Gourmet Shop, lounge bar and more to the luxurious Siddh Spa and Fitness Centre - it is a complete destination for business as well as leisure. The multiple banquet and meeting spaces make it a perfect meeting destination. The hotel offers 327 rooms and suites, Siddh Spa and fitness centre, Spice Haat, Stix, Focaccia, 365 AS, Biscotti, Lobby Lounge and banquet spaces. Also signature food specials - Italian Pranzo - Saturday Brunch at Focaccia; Sichuan Sunday brunch at Stix; Perfect Sunday brunch at Spice Haat; Double Happy Hours at 365 AS and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing