We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Ranked #28 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Standard bedroom was like a superior, extrememely comfortable bed and modern and neat design.
Perfect temperature, all areas are airconditioned but you don't freeze.
Elegant but friedly atmosphere.
Service is impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierpaolo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency C, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind appreciation. We are delighted to hear your feedback and shall definitely share it with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards
Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    408
    142
    72
    40
See reviews for
180
89
50
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I came expecting the best but the delivery is not great.

Arrived to find the area around the reception being cleaned with water, no one apologised.

I was shown the room, which was impressive, but no sense that I would find the control panel, which others have found bewildering, bewildering.

Breakfast had a bewildering array of servers but no one apparently in charge.
Cold milk arrived in a large mug (not sure why).

Went down for evening meal at 6.20 but Italian food not served till 7 so went back to room. Key didn't work, so went downstairs and was given two. Went back to room but neither worked. Cleaner confirmed keys didn't work and let me into room.

Went down to dinner and was waiting for 7 o'clock. Unasked for snacks arrived immediately but in an empty bar simple order of a beer hadn't arrived after 10 minutes
and had the blandest risotto ever! Really tasteless. Risotto and tyme?
Someone should look at the Italian food menu.

BTW crossiant is spelt croissant and it would be nice to have some decent bread as have found in less starred hotels in India?

Everyone is trying very hard wearing elegant beige suits but where are the chiefs and hwre's the delivery?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

We would like take this opportunity to thank you for your detailed feedback and apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We have made a note of all your feedback which included check in experience, service delivery at bar, food quality at our Italian restaurant and on breads being served. Please be rest assured we are taking all measures and should be able to give you a true Hyatt experience on your next stay.

We hope you treat this incidence in isolation and let us have another chance to welcome you.

Please do not hesitate to let me know for further assistance.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
E: shubham.chandra@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We chose Hyatt Regency for our Business stay in Chennai in April 2013. Good service & superb food - at the Spice Haat and the Asian cuisine - Stix and also the Lobby Lounge.
Helpful & enthusiastic staff - they managed to get our flights changed at the last minute. Rooms are very spacious. We had a good stay. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurnimaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback and patronization and sharing the same with the community.

We are delighted to know that you liked all our restaurants, cuisine, services, staff members and our guest rooms, which are indeed one of the largest in the city.

We look forward to welcome you back and I would be happy to be of any assistance you may seek from us.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
E: shubham.chandra@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had stayed here for a night, and had also arranged for 10 rooms when I had guests coming. The staff was amazingly co-operative, the room is wonderful, absolute modern, and the staff at the reception are very warm and helpful. In all, a great stay, for me and my guests.

Room Tip: Try the pool view, I liked that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and patronization.

We are delighted to know that you liked our product specially rooms, our services and most important our staff members. We are humbled with your feedback.

We look forward to welcome you and your guests back and kindly let us know of any upcoming opportunity to do so. I can be reached at shubham.chandra@hyatt.com and would be happy to assist.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
E: shubham.chandra@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for one night..nice stay..the room interiors are quite nice...the view is quite okay types..The breakfast was superb just excellent with lots of varieties...the location is not that great although..overall a nice stay..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_freak_nm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

We would like take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and sharing the same with TripAdvisor community.

We are happy to know that you liked our rooms, breakfast spread and the over all services. We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back and do let us know for any assistance you may seek from us.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
E: shubham.chandra@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for over the course of several weeks, and after staying and hearing about other places in the area, this fell far below expectations.

- The rooms are dark, cold and damp.

- Mosquitos are a problem. We were there during Jan-Feb and I had to use bug spray on my pillow at night. I would have multiple bites after just 30 min, unless I was completely covered from head to toe.

- Mosquitos are present in the common areas and restaurants as well, which makes dining unpleasant when you're swatting at mosquitos through out the meal.

- The food is decent, but a suggestion regarding the buffets: for the foreigners who are not familiar with traditional Indian food, having a brief explanation below the name of the dish would be very helpful. The Asiana does this as do other hotels.

- Exceptional workout area, but again, there's an issue with climate control. Keep the A/C on and at an acceptable temperature.

- The best part of the hotel were the people. They were always friendly.

Overall, I'm not sure if I'd recommend this hotel to anyone based on my experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for talking out time and letting us know about your feedback post your stay earlier this year.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not good and you had to face challenges with mosquitoes and the room was not up to your liking. We have taken corrective measures on both the issues and we can assure you that this problem has been eradicated. We have also made a note of your feedback on menu and are in a process for doing the detailing where the same is needed.

We thank you as you appreciated our people, service and Siddh Spa along with the Gymnasium.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused and request you to treat the last incidence in isolation and give us another chance to show case true Hyatt hospitality.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
E: shubham.chandra@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency, Chennai, for about 10 days on a business trip.
There are many good things about the hotel. The staff, for one, are very welcoming, always ready and eager to help and look genuinely concerned about your care. The room was very well appointed, though that had its own problems, to which I will come a little later.
The hotel has a number of restaurants, I tried the Indian buffet at night: the spread is as lavish as you can expect in a hotel of this category; the morning breakfast is also pretty varied, though the station cooking eggs to order can really do with speedier help; with no queues, it takes too long for an office goer to be served with his selection.
The hotel can do with a lot of process improvements.
Till almost the last day of my stay I was struggling to figure out which switch worked which light; it would help if the person who shows you the room went over the various controls. Similarly the shower has its own set of controls that need explanation; a colleague was trying it out and wet her dress all over. I could not set the temperature of the air-conditioning till the last day of my stay of 10 days. It was attended to by their technicians several times; ultimately I just gave up.
There were several other goof-ups; however, what they could not provide on ground, they tried to make up by personal visits and apologies.
One last point: I wish the room service menu had more options for a vegetarian. And the cost of alcohol bore some resemblance to reasonableness. How can one peg of alcohol cost more than that of a whole bottle available outside?
Having said all this, I would still go back and stay here, if only for the familiarity, the well appointed gym and the friendly attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motumotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and sharing your detailed feedback with us and the community.

We would like to thank you for appreciating our staff members, services and the product.
We have also noted your feedback about our dinner and buffet breakfast spread and shall ensure our delivery becomes seamless, which we agree is extremely important. In room orientation as a process should have been done and we sincerely apologize as we missed the same in your case causing you inconvenience. We have also noted your comments on the air conditioning.

Your feedback gives us an opportunity to improve our soft skills and also ensure proper maintenance of rooms. We assure we are reacting on them as I write to you.

We look forward to welcome you back and please do let me know if I could be of any assistance to you.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hyatt Regency Chennai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
961 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#18 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,109 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#21 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,166 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,127 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chennai

Property: Hyatt Regency Chennai
Address: 365 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai., Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Chennai, located on the iconic Anna Salai in the heart of Chennai is the perfect destination for authentic hospitality. From multiple F&B offerings - Indian, Italian, Sichuan Chinese, 24 hour dining, Buffet restaurant, Cafe, Gourmet Shop, lounge bar and more to the luxurious Siddh Spa and Fitness Centre - it is a complete destination for business as well as leisure. The multiple banquet and meeting spaces make it a perfect meeting destination. The hotel offers 327 rooms and suites, Siddh Spa and fitness centre, Spice Haat, Stix, Focaccia, 365 AS, Biscotti, Lobby Lounge and banquet spaces. Also signature food specials - Italian Pranzo - Saturday Brunch at Focaccia; Sichuan Sunday brunch at Stix; Perfect Sunday brunch at Spice Haat; Double Happy Hours at 365 AS and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing