We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one shines throughout... appearance, rooms, service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Ranked #31 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wow...after really long time i have seen big brand hotel which comes close to what they promote in their advertisements (and hence justify the traffic structure)

hotel...newly built property and if it is not then definitely it looks like...open lounge welcomes you with a great deal of courtesy by staff...check in was smooth...

Room...contemporary feel...beautifully set up room, innovative architecture to give real modern feel...A class amenities...so far i think this room is among the best ones i stayed in among Indian hotels...

Room service...excellent...food was fantastic and service quick...

Dining...opted for buffet in lunch and had a huge choice to pick from...enjoyed...

Check out...i wish i could remember the name of staff who did my account settlement...hardly see anyone like that sincere and caring for guests nowadays ...thanks to his advise about booking cab to airport, it all went smooth otherwise i would hv definitely had some issues later on...

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukhjinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

It is indeed wonderful to receive such a fabulous feedback from you, thank you very much to take time out and share this with the community as well.

We opened in August 2011 and thanks to patrons like yours we have settled well. Our rooms as rightly mentioned by you are one of the largest in the city and a lot of emphasis was on design which we are happy to know, is working out well.

We are glad that you noticed our Marketing endeavors and are happy to share that Hyatt Regency Chennai won the Best Hotel International Marketing Award as well in a prestigious ceremony at London in November 2012.

We really appreciate you remembering the service and product and have shared your feedback with the team as well. They are very happy to know about the same.

We look forward to welcome you back and please do let us know in case of any assistance.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

spend 3 days end of feb. Nise decor. Lobby on 2 floor.break fast good.
Room a trfile small. Smell of cig smoke in the room.
Sleep conf good.
Gym spa pool excelent.
Dinner was worth it. Service in the dinning was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axxTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you taking out time and giving us your feedback on your stay with us.

We have noted your comments on rooms and the smell, next time we will ensure you get a non smoking room, please always ask that as a preference while making a reservation as we have non smoking floors as well. Thank you for appreciating our Gym, Spa and pool services and enjoying your meal with us.

We look forward to welcome you back. Please do let us know if we could be off any assistance to you.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I travelled to Chennai and stayed in this hotel for three days. The rooms were very good with an excellent work desk for a business traveller. My room on 7th floor had a sitting place besides the full length window from where one could enjoy a commanding view of the city around. The bath area was stylish. The buffet breakfast and buffet dinner was too too good, as was their hospitality. On the whole, it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harpreetsinghdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback and sharing the same with the community.

We are very excited to know that you liked our products and services, specially the rooms and restaurants, we have one of the largest rooms to offer and due to the building height the view from all the rooms is magnificent.

We also try to deliver authentic hospitality and are happy to know that we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Amazing experience! If you are like me and "green" in India, you will have a warm and inviting place to call home. The hotel is modern, beautifully decorated (bee and honey theme) super clean and the staff goes ABOVE AND BEYOND to serve you! The room service, laundry and restaraunts are all top notch. They even have a Dr who makes house calls! My hotel room was extra large and had all the amenities of a top notch hotel in NYC. I also enjoyed the breakfast and cocktail hours, where you can enjoy a fantastic view while eating a hot breakfast or sipping wine to close your day.
I have so many beautiful memories of India, thanks to the Hyatt Regency. Please trust me....this is the best hotel!

Room Tip: 8th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for time and sharing your wonderful feedback with the community.

We are extremely delighted to know that you liked our product specially rooms and restaurants and services and most importantly our people.

Our art work in the hotel is based on Honey Bees and we have around 55 installations created by 40 internationally and nationally acclaimed artists. We would take pleasure to show all of them to you on your next visit.

Once again thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

stayed at this property from 8 to 12 February and it was much more than I expected. The hotel has excellent views as it is an atrium style building. The views from the roo are also spectacular where the Bay of Begal can be seen.
Staff are very professional, kind, attentive and communicate professionally. Rooms are large, very comfortable but do request for a change of pillows from the pillow menu as the ones in the room are too large and thin. Not very condusive for sleep. Facilities and amenities in the room are good, as expected of a Hyatt property.
Although the constuction of the Metro is on going in front of the hotel, one can hardly hear it. Transport is easliy available form the Hotel or the auto rickshaws are plenty.
Food was awesome and service great. My one comment would be to have a bit of variety in the Breakfast buffet and a couple more Indian items would suffice.
The Executive Club Lounge is very nice but only serves a Continental spread for Breakfast. Cocktails in the evening are nice.
It is the tallest building in chennai and definately worth a visit and stay. Will return.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the main road as well as the BAy. Request for a Bay room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and sharing the same with TripAdvisor community.

We are really excited to know that you liked the product, offerings, rooms,food, location and our people.
We have noted your comment about the pillows and breakfast and shall assure upon your next visit, we deliver the ones you like. We also want to share with you that the first phase of metro project in front of the hotel is over and that is good news. Currently no work is happening.

We look forward to welcome you back and please do let us know if we could be of any assistance.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was impressed by the room design and hotel general architecture in general. I had plent of space in the room, very good internet connection and I particulary liked the wardrobe. :) As a special touch, I was really impressed about the cake I found in my room in the evening, considering it was my birthday. This means attention to details and interest for customers, and I congratulate the hotel management and staff for this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your valuable time and feedback. We really appreciate this at our end.

We are really excited to know that you liked our hotel , design , room and services. It is our continuous endeavor to provide our patrons with the best services and comments like yours motivate us to do so. Thank you for that.

We look forward to welcome you back and would be happy to assist.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tried the Dinner buffet - veg at Spice Market in Hyatt and cant say that I was satisfied. The soup was just stock and appetizers bland. I did not try the south Indian items on the menu excepting curd rice and pickles with were exceptional but tried the north Indian and salad bar items, breads, Greek food and chaats. I was disappointed as none of it had any distinct flavour. Though my friends said that the Non veg items were better, I must say that I have eaten far better tasting food around the city at 1/4th the price. The only saving grace were the desserts. They were truly yum. Visit only for great ambiance and and tempting desserts.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Divya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for taking time out and giving us your feedback on the Spice Haat. We are sorry to hear that we were not up to your expectations and you did not enjoy the vegetarian spread.
We have shared the feed back with our culinary team and assure you that as a team we are working on continuously improving ourselves. I request you to treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to change your impression.

We are glad that you liked the desserts spread and cannot agree more that yes indeed it is big and tasty.

We stand at your service and do look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#9 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,125 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#11 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,585 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#16 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,234 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,224 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chennai

Address: 365 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai., Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $108 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Chennai, located on the iconic Anna Salai in the heart of Chennai is the perfect destination for authentic hospitality. From multiple F&B offerings - Indian, Italian, Sichuan Chinese, 24 hour dining, Buffet restaurant, Cafe, Gourmet Shop, lounge bar and more to the luxurious Siddh Spa and Fitness Centre - it is a complete destination for business as well as leisure. The multiple banquet and meeting spaces make it a perfect meeting destination. The hotel offers 327 rooms and suites, Siddh Spa and fitness centre, Spice Haat, Stix, Focaccia, 365 AS, Biscotti, Lobby Lounge and banquet spaces. Also signature food specials - Italian Pranzo - Saturday Brunch at Focaccia; Sichuan Sunday brunch at Stix; Perfect Sunday brunch at Spice Haat; Double Happy Hours at 365 AS and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing