We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Ranked #28 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I travelled to Chennai and stayed in this hotel for three days. The rooms were very good with an excellent work desk for a business traveller. My room on 7th floor had a sitting place besides the full length window from where one could enjoy a commanding view of the city around. The bath area was stylish. The buffet breakfast and buffet dinner was too too good, as was their hospitality. On the whole, it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harpreetsinghdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback and sharing the same with the community.

We are very excited to know that you liked our products and services, specially the rooms and restaurants, we have one of the largest rooms to offer and due to the building height the view from all the rooms is magnificent.

We also try to deliver authentic hospitality and are happy to know that we met your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    415
    149
    74
    43
See reviews for
184
90
52
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Amazing experience! If you are like me and "green" in India, you will have a warm and inviting place to call home. The hotel is modern, beautifully decorated (bee and honey theme) super clean and the staff goes ABOVE AND BEYOND to serve you! The room service, laundry and restaraunts are all top notch. They even have a Dr who makes house calls! My hotel room was extra large and had all the amenities of a top notch hotel in NYC. I also enjoyed the breakfast and cocktail hours, where you can enjoy a fantastic view while eating a hot breakfast or sipping wine to close your day.
I have so many beautiful memories of India, thanks to the Hyatt Regency. Please trust me....this is the best hotel!

Room Tip: 8th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for time and sharing your wonderful feedback with the community.

We are extremely delighted to know that you liked our product specially rooms and restaurants and services and most importantly our people.

Our art work in the hotel is based on Honey Bees and we have around 55 installations created by 40 internationally and nationally acclaimed artists. We would take pleasure to show all of them to you on your next visit.

Once again thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

stayed at this property from 8 to 12 February and it was much more than I expected. The hotel has excellent views as it is an atrium style building. The views from the roo are also spectacular where the Bay of Begal can be seen.
Staff are very professional, kind, attentive and communicate professionally. Rooms are large, very comfortable but do request for a change of pillows from the pillow menu as the ones in the room are too large and thin. Not very condusive for sleep. Facilities and amenities in the room are good, as expected of a Hyatt property.
Although the constuction of the Metro is on going in front of the hotel, one can hardly hear it. Transport is easliy available form the Hotel or the auto rickshaws are plenty.
Food was awesome and service great. My one comment would be to have a bit of variety in the Breakfast buffet and a couple more Indian items would suffice.
The Executive Club Lounge is very nice but only serves a Continental spread for Breakfast. Cocktails in the evening are nice.
It is the tallest building in chennai and definately worth a visit and stay. Will return.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the main road as well as the BAy. Request for a Bay room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and sharing the same with TripAdvisor community.

We are really excited to know that you liked the product, offerings, rooms,food, location and our people.
We have noted your comment about the pillows and breakfast and shall assure upon your next visit, we deliver the ones you like. We also want to share with you that the first phase of metro project in front of the hotel is over and that is good news. Currently no work is happening.

We look forward to welcome you back and please do let us know if we could be of any assistance.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was impressed by the room design and hotel general architecture in general. I had plent of space in the room, very good internet connection and I particulary liked the wardrobe. :) As a special touch, I was really impressed about the cake I found in my room in the evening, considering it was my birthday. This means attention to details and interest for customers, and I congratulate the hotel management and staff for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your valuable time and feedback. We really appreciate this at our end.

We are really excited to know that you liked our hotel , design , room and services. It is our continuous endeavor to provide our patrons with the best services and comments like yours motivate us to do so. Thank you for that.

We look forward to welcome you back and would be happy to assist.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tried the Dinner buffet - veg at Spice Market in Hyatt and cant say that I was satisfied. The soup was just stock and appetizers bland. I did not try the south Indian items on the menu excepting curd rice and pickles with were exceptional but tried the north Indian and salad bar items, breads, Greek food and chaats. I was disappointed as none of it had any distinct flavour. Though my friends said that the Non veg items were better, I must say that I have eaten far better tasting food around the city at 1/4th the price. The only saving grace were the desserts. They were truly yum. Visit only for great ambiance and and tempting desserts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for taking time out and giving us your feedback on the Spice Haat. We are sorry to hear that we were not up to your expectations and you did not enjoy the vegetarian spread.
We have shared the feed back with our culinary team and assure you that as a team we are working on continuously improving ourselves. I request you to treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to change your impression.

We are glad that you liked the desserts spread and cannot agree more that yes indeed it is big and tasty.

We stand at your service and do look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very much welcomed addition to hotels in Chennai.
Staff very friendly, good size rooms, nice mix of restaurants, late checkout is very much accepted. Nice decoration, good size reception.
Above all; being sort of new compared to other 4, 5 stars hotels brings freshness to the nose (normally you smell typical Indian sent/herbs wherever you go).

Room Tip: Being new, it still doesn't have the typical smell you can have everywhere. higher floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halaby49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback and community sharing.

We are delighted to know that you loved our services, ambiance, rooms and restaurants.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and do let us know for any assistance you may seek from us.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not much to say. Comfortable, room OK, air con a bit 'damp feeling', service OK, restaurant OK. But felt it could all be a bit better with insufficient attention to detail in room finish and staff training.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback to us on our product, services and training.

We believe that their is always scope for improvement and we shall strive consistently to better our selves to provide you with a much better experience next time.

Kindly do let me know about your future trips at shubham.chandra@hyatt.com, I look forward to meet with you.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
997 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#18 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,220 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#19 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,152 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,150 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chennai

Property: Hyatt Regency Chennai
Address: 365 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai., Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Chennai, located on the iconic Anna Salai in the heart of Chennai is the perfect destination for authentic hospitality. From multiple F&B offerings - Indian, Italian, Sichuan Chinese, 24 hour dining, Buffet restaurant, Cafe, Gourmet Shop, lounge bar and more to the luxurious Siddh Spa and Fitness Centre - it is a complete destination for business as well as leisure. The multiple banquet and meeting spaces make it a perfect meeting destination. The hotel offers 327 rooms and suites, Siddh Spa and fitness centre, Spice Haat, Stix, Focaccia, 365 AS, Biscotti, Lobby Lounge and banquet spaces. Also signature food specials - Italian Pranzo - Saturday Brunch at Focaccia; Sichuan Sunday brunch at Stix; Perfect Sunday brunch at Spice Haat; Double Happy Hours at 365 AS and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing